We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unpretentious yet authentic Japanese food in Wiedikon”
Review of Samurai Sushi - CLOSED

Samurai Sushi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $36
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unpretentious yet authentic Japanese food in Wiedikon”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nestling in the eclectic Kreis-3-district, the Samurai offers very good Japanese cuisine. Not as elaborate (and expensive) as the Sala of Tokyo, but the cooks and waiters/waitresses are all from Japan which makes it an ever nice experience. Great food, very attentive service and relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hani77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    45
    6
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite sushi in Switzerland - one of my favorite restaurants too!”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This has long been a favorite of my friends and my family and my visitors - we take everyone who likes sushi! Part of its charm (for us) is the fact that it's off the beaten track - helpful, as I've never once been able to get in without a reservation, nor seen an empty table. Their inside out rolls are incredible creations (I can highly recommend the soft-shell crab variation). And the atmosphere is laid back and friendly. For Zürich standards the prices are still reasonable. Definitely recommendable!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebrasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Not fancy but this is real Japanese restaurant!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

As a Japanese, this restaurant is not too bad.
There are some fancy and trendy Japanese or sushi restaurants in Zurich.
But I must say that those restaurants are fake for me.
The owner and staff are Japanese in this restaurant.

-Location
Not too bad.
Close to paradeplatz. Take tram No 2 or 3.

-Price
I went to there for tuna fish cutting event.
100 CHF per person as much as you can eat fresh tun fish by sashimi, sushi or negitoro
including 1 drink and 1 sushi roll.
This event was okay once to go but not anymore...
(I am not a big fun of fish and actually I can not eat only tun fish.)
I will try to go there again for lunch or dinner.
It's not so expensive in Zurich.

-Atmosphere
The restaurant is defenitely not fancy but this is the real Japanese.

The owner is very friendly and tries to speak in German with swiss customers
which is very nice.
He told me that he has been living in Switzerland already over 30 years...

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronneli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“ZERO Courtesy Service”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

zero service, no courtesy. I couldn't finish to drink my tea at h 22.25, they had to close. after 200 chf bill they refused to serve tap water. they want me to pay 5 chf. No way to give them another chance

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank annacave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best sushi in Zurich”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Samurai offers the best sushi in Zurich at a very honest price. Service is good and you will have to book a table in advance because it is usually full and there are not that many tables.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superstereo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samurai Sushi also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing