We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very bad service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bauschaenzli Biergarten & Restaurant

Bauschaenzli Biergarten & Restaurant
Ranked #367 of 1,872 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Old Town
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
“very bad service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

A black woman was in front of the restroom and asked me to pay chf 1.- for using the restroom. Usually the guests at the restaurant don’t have to pay. She didn’t even ask me if I am a guest at the restaurant. She just commanded me to pay. She was very arrogant and rude. I will never go there.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Meier319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    56
    37
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baden, Switzerland
Level Contributor
262 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good food and great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This place is not all about the food. Located at the bottom of the Limmat river, just about where the river meets the lake, it is hard to find a restaurant with a better view. At first glance, this restaurant has the feel of a cafeteria style restaurant, but as you make it further back, there is a sit down restaurant. Being alone on this visit, I chose the self service option. The food offering were basic grill stuff, various brats, chicken, and beef. You can also get a half roasted chicken or a wienerschnitzel (breaded veal). I chose the roasted chicken. It was served with a huge piece of bread and fries. There is also a salad bar for those watching their waistline! The beverage selection ranges from sodas, various juices and water, as well as beer. You can either select beer in a bottle, or go towards the back and get a draft. Of course, they have various size, from a small, medium to the full liter.
The sitting area is very informal, green metal tables and chairs, and it's a sit yourself type thing. They have an employee who clears the trays and wipes the tables when customers leave.
Overall, a pretty fun, beer-hall type atmosphere, with decent food and drinks, and a great view. I will definitely try the sit-down option next time. Enjoy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chefsprive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
755 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,402 helpful votes
“I agree it's all about the view and atmosphere.......”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The other reviews were spot on target. I didn't read any of the reviews until after I went to the restaurant. We like to aimlessly walk around and then go eat at any places that look interesting.

As the others mentioned, there are two sections to this place. If you keep walking as far back as you can after entering, you will see the more formal sit down restaurant with menus and waitresses. But before that is a type of cafeteria type set up.

I agree with the other poster. Nothing too special and just the normal Swiss food type stuff. I ate a Bratwurst with Potato salad and some fries and pretzel. My wife had a salad that you can combine and put together yourself. They just charge by 3 sizes. Small/medium and large. The food was nothing at all to write home about.

The view however was spectacular! You can pick amongst tons of outdoor seating and the best views are the ones right on the railing towards the water. Some seats are shaded by the trees. You will see beautiful white swans swimming in the water.

And true to what others mentioned, when you leave and look on the right hand side there is a female pool club. Yesterday it was hot so it was totally packed. I didn't realize it was a clothing optional place until I looked over and sure enough many of the females were topless. I was just coming from the French Riviera so I had my fair share of that but I just didn't expect to see that in Zurich... :)

Come for the view and atmosphere...not the food... The food was nothing special. On the food part I rank it average but the view and atmosphere I rank it excellent.

The prices for the food wasn't too bad for Zurich standards. Here everything is expensive compared to other places. Heck, I just spent a month in Paris and 3 weeks in the French Riviera including Monte Carlo and previous to coming to Zurich they felt expensive at the time and now they feel cheap! LOL.

If you're on a budget probably best to bring your own drinks. A small bottled water was almost 7 CHF. The city is full of fountains all over that you can fill up your own water.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Guys, It's ALL About the View!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

From the street this place looks like a self-service cafe - don't be fooled. Walk through the cafe area and at the back by the river is a table service resto that's really great. The view is wonderful (you are on the river just as it flows into the lake). More than that, you are (if you sit in the right place) right opposite the ladies only swimming pool. This is (in the summer) a huge bonus. Not only is the food good, but the view is sublime. If you think my comments are inapropriate, too bad. Best outdoor terrace in Europe! Oh yes, there is also a band playing, and nice old ladies and distinguished gents get up and dance all afternoon long.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
336 reviews
268 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Best Location for Chilling - Great Beers - Canteen Food...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Bauschänzli has, in my opinion, the best location in Zürich. It is located right by the Limmat (lake) in between both sides of the city. If the weather is good and they are open for business, this is the place to enjoy beers while watching the people of Zürich rush by, yet from a distance. It's not far from Bürkliplatz and accross the Limmat from Bellevue.

They have 2 restaurants: a self service canteen style restaurant where you go pick up your drinks and food and return to your seating, very much like a canteen or cafeteria. And they also have a full service restaurant which offers an extensive menu of beef tartar, smoked salmon, meats, lobster and fish dishes, which of course is far more expensive. I have only ever gone to the self service as I find it more flexible and you can spend the whole afternoon drinking beers at your own leisure.

The self service is structured and run very much in the fashion of a German biergarten. They have lots of beers, great variety, and also serve their beers 'Mass', which is a 1 litre German beer mug. Great fun. Mind you, in summer with warm temperatures the litre beer gets warm pretty quickly so I suggest you stick to a pint glass.

The food is typical Swiss German, meaning you'll get the usual boring fair that you would get at any Zürich café or local restaurant. You'll get grilled chicken, bratwursts, cervelats, chicken nuggets, hot dogs, schnitzels and fries amongst other things like salads. I don't go there for the food, I got there for the location first and the beers second.

If you're in Zürich and the weather is nice, and they're open, make sure you go for a few pints.

p.s. it's located right beside the women only bathing spot, clothing optional :).
But you won't see anything if you don't look as it's on the other side of the seating.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Smoke_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bauschaenzli Biergarten & Restaurant also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Bauschaenzli Biergarten & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing