We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Zurich prices (i.e. expensive) but good food”

Cantinetta Antinori
Ranked #12 of 1,896 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $54
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Cantinetta Antinori is one of the most typical Italians on a high level thanks to its location on Zurich's Bahnhofstrasse, the world-famous family brand Antinori, the charm of the old town house, the simple cuisine of Tuscany and the rich wine range of Marchesi Antinori.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Zurich prices (i.e. expensive) but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Cannot complain too much (I hardly ever eat Italian outside my house but there are exceptions, such as in this case), staff was nice and fairly alert, choice is good (portions not enormous), good wine list and Zurich prices.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The English C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    260
    73
    21
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wilmington,nc
Level Contributor
201 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great Food off Bahnhofstrasse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

After a day of shopping on the Zurich city this is a wonderful place for a good meal. Excellent choice of Italian food set in a quaint upstairs location for groups the staff is friendly. Nice wine selection to support the menu. Very limited beers only two bottle choices.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank kenasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Disappointed by the service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I sat outside with a business associate to enjoy a lovely Zurich spring evening. I ordered the veal and it was very good and my colleague had the mixed fish and was very pleased with his choice. The service was simply adequate and we on more than one occasion to get something we had already requested and the restaurant was not busy. It was an expensive dinner, but that is not surprising given how expensive Zurich is generally.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BBtraveler57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
422 reviews
341 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Standards have slipped....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Two visits last year were most enjoyable, so returning to this well-appointed high-end Italian restaurant with impeccable connections & finding sloppy kitchen work certainly has us considering never returning.
A large table of seven people was easily catered for in the elegant upstairs dining room. Like so many restaurants in Zurich, this one isn't air-conditioned either, But if like us you were not prepared to risk second-hand smoke outdoors (whenever will will Switzerland ban smoking outdoors in defined spaces?!) where it's obviously cooler...upstairs is good because they open the little windows > & there's a gentle cross breeze to cool you! Inside, downstairs, is stifling in Summer..do not eat there!
Friendly professional service is still in place , but poorly executed food spoiled nearly everyone's experience. MY starter of fried squids with salad was well judged..so naturally I anticipated that my order for a RARE Tuna steak with risotto would be fine--even fabulous! The risotto was disgusting ....like boiled rice with tomato sauce (!) it was immediately sent straight back to be replaced with a salad at my insistance...the expensive tuna was thin-cut & therefore virtually IMPOSSIBLE to cook rare..& indeed the chef had failed. It was barely medium. Others told me their lack lustre offerings were no different. In other words at best ordinary & certainly NOT worth the money. Shame on Bindellla, the famed group behind this operation.. We will not be risking our wallets again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Restaurant in the heart of Zurich”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is located just off the Bahnhofstrasse, which I usually avoid because it's laden with tourists and shoppers. This Italian place is a little oasis among Zurich's usual overpriced and salty fair. The menu is solidly Italian, with great daily special and truffles menus. The wine list is good and reasonably priced (Zurich reasonable). I had a Vitello tonnato and the marinated filet sliced, coupled with a nice deep red from Puglia. Staff was good and friendly. I don't ask for more in this part of Zurich where staff tend to be uncaring. We'll definitely will be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank micha_roch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cantinetta Antinori also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Cantinetta Antinori? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing