We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful surprise in Zurich”
Review of Caduff's Wine Loft

Caduff's Wine Loft
Ranked #195 of 1,946 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Langstrasse
australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise in Zurich”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

A recommendation from a wine nutter friend in Vienna and we took it on. A few minutes cab ride and then a rather stark interior that warmed as it unfolded and related to the themes of game and wine and friendship. We met the boss in his fabulous wine cellar as we hunted a Suisse Pinot of repute. We admired his grouse hanging in the cool room and his Mugnier and DRC collection? The staff were young and terrific and the meal superbly cooked. Not fussy or ornate just beautifully balanced. His Aussie collection needs help ideally a Wirra or Yalumba red blend. Heartily recommended. Good wines by the glass a plus.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wyndham29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    56
    35
    22
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Prepare to yell”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed a business dinner here. The wine cellar is of course impressive and the advise given by the staff was most helpful. There is always something special about picking your own bottle. The food was excellent and the staff very friendly. The problem is that the "loft" is so noisy that we had to yell over the table - which did spoil the atmosphere and to some extent prevented casual conversation within our group.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilefu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wild, wild”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

IN addition to wine, "Wild" (German for venison) appears to be a true passion of the owner, Beat Caduff, who reportedly goes hunting some of it by himself. October is of course THE month of the year to stop in for a venison menu at this restaurant. We were there to eat out with our two teenage sons, and truly enjoyed the evening. The restaurant is a bit hard to find, which has its advantages, though: the patrons are people who really want to eat there, not just tourists who happen to walk by. After some excellent soups to start with, the two outstanding dishes we had were "Moorhuhn" and "Wildtaubenbrust" both prepared from wild fowl. The porcini risotto that came with it was absolutely delicious, as was the panna cotta dessert and the homemade blueberry icecream. And the wile list, it goes without saying, is extensive and very good, although on the pricy side.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renato Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Zurich”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

This is a wine cellar with food on the side. But what a wine cellar and what food! The cellar is an Aladin's cave of exceptional and some rare wines. The food was second to none. This all added up to a superb meal and experience. The waitress was attentive, helpful and down to earth. 5 star all round.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeanpierrea567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in Zurich”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We always eat here when we come to Zurich, now about 5 or 6 times. The food is very good. This time I had a mozzarella, tomato, arugula salad that was the best I have ever had. I'll never forget the first time we ate there. When we asked for the wine list, they took us downstairs to the cellar. What fun!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julestrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caduff's Wine Loft also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Caduff's Wine Loft? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing