We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rip-off”

Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten
Ranked #57 of 1,918 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $87
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“rip-off”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

very typical Zurich-restaurant, confortable, clean. Expensive traditional food which was good, but don't expect too much. You will get lots of potatoes on your plate in order to feed you, though the meat will be like "the icing on the cake" = very small. And we asked for a little bit more meat, but this was not possible... Maybe too expensive ? So they gave us more potatoes ... embarrassing; cheese paring

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilka M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    122
    41
    14
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxed lunch overlooking the river”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We were strolling around Zurich on a rainy day and came across this restaurant overlooking the river. We were pleasantly surprised with the beautiful dining room and fantastic views. Although we were somewhat late (after 1pm) we were warmly welcomed. The three of us wanted to chat and catch up and the staff could not have been nicer. When all the other diners were gone there was no pressure for us to leave. We had an excellent light lunch and a few glasses of wine. All in all a very pleasant and rewarding experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTraveller3823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Friendy service and good Swiss food”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We had a quick lunch here and the food was traditional Swiss-food. The service was okay and the food was nice.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank SanderCools
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“There's an indoors?”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

This place finally made one of my long held (and sad) little dreams come true... a real, full on chief cooked Swiss cheese fondue!

It was in the middle of December, so NOT warm in Zurich, but under the front of the building there are some torch-lit arches with tables & a surprising amount of people eating outdoors despite the snow on the ground...

We are welcomed by a large gentleman not as tourists or outsiders, but like lost family friends! He kissed my hand (not in a sleazy way) and practically bear hugged my boyfriend! We asked to sit outside & this made him even happier... apparently only the locals have the nerve for it in that weather! but as we sat we were told the big sheepskin type rugs over the chairs were to wrap ourselves in! so we are wrapped up, surprisingly warm and being plied with copious amounts of beer I am handed the specials menu and there it is... the fondue!

Our very long evening here was well spent. Great food (the fondue lived up to all expectations!) and fantastic company. I'll say nothing of the service as it felt more like eating with friends than being served... it was really that good.

Needless to say, we did return later in the week!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA State
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well worth the cost”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Everything's overpriced in Zurich, making meal cost here very much in line with typical local upper-tier restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff served terrific food - not memorable but close to five-star.

However, the hidden bonus is that the restaurant is housed in a medieval guild house first acquired in the mid-1400s, and rebuilt in 1708 after a fire. Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten translates literally to "Guildhouse of Carpenters." In those times, journeyman carpenters were true artists, and the remaining original interior wood was truly beautiful with inlay, carving, etc. - they demonstrated remarkable skill in its construction.

In the early times there were no sophisticated banks as we know them, and members of the various guilds secured their personal wealth in their Zunfthauses, often in gold or silver tableware which they used daily, and kept in a well-guarded, large, built-in safe with multiple key locks requiring a large ring of original huge iron keys to open all the latches. At the time of my visit, we befriended the owner, and he made the very rare late-evening gesture of offering to open the early-17th century safe for us. Its contents were gorgeous and valuable samples of the special tableware.

Excellent food, good company, fine service, new friends, and the 300-600 year old decorations and valuables made a standout of the evening itself.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Poppatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Zunfthaus zur Zimmerleuten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing