We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Big Meals in a fun atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Zeughauskeller

Zeughauskeller
Ranked #19 of 1,892 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: German, Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Old Town
Level Contributor
160 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Big Meals in a fun atmosphere”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I think you need to book this restaurant in advance, we did and luckily. There were queues at both entrances. The staff were super friendly and had good english, The atmosphere is fun definitely not romantic, more like a beer hall decorated with ancient armoury. The food was good and very plentiful but certainly not refined. Well worn a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lazylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,190
    1,594
    429
    73
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weiningen
Level Contributor
90 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“By all means to be recomended”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was our first family lunch of this year. We went with the whole family of nine to the historic, ancient arsenal "Zeughauskeller" located few steps from the "Paradeplatz", next to the Bahnhofstreet.
The place is opened from 11h30 to 23h00 and it is recommended to make reservation due time.
Already the first impression was great. The dining hall could easily be one of the traditional college halls of Cambridge or Oxford.
The reception was very friendly and we were quickly placed at a large round table at the window.
Our smallest grand children ordered from large selection of children menu their favourite Chicken nuggets with chips; according to them the very best they ever eaten. The older ones ordered Viennese Schnitzel also with fried chips and could hardly eat all of it.
The others of us have chosen some traditional Swiss-German meals such as:
• Whole pork shank with potatoes salad
• Kalbsgeschnetzeltes nach Zürcher Art (panfried sliced weal and mushrooms)
• Marinated perch fillets with vegetables
• Grilled fish fillets
All the meal was excellently prepared and all of it was served at the same time. We have experienced great and very friendly service.
The kitchen prepares, as we were told, between 2000 to 2500 meals daily. Well done!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Josef B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
112 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great Swiss atmosphere”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Busy and load, you sit in benches and devour the most well known Swiss everyday food. We had sauerkraut with Wiener schnitzel and rosti, and beer to match. A great fun experience

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Aviade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Massana, Andorra
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Sausage, potato rosti & beer, what more can you ask for?”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Good honest Swiss-German food. Nice fresh bread. Good selection of beers.

The building used to be the town armoury and is decorated accordingly.

They usually sit you on a communal table, especially if you are alone which can make for some interesting conversations depending who you find yourself next to.

Not cheap for what it is but nothing is in Zurich.

Certainly worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TiredOldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Deep fried Wiener schnitzel, no.....”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

It looked very promising hard to get a table and a lot of tabled reserved.
The waiters were very nice. We had not reserved but because we were only the 2 of us they could created a table but only we had to leave before 19.30 . No problem for us. We asked for zürcher geschnetzeltes and wiener schnitzel. The geschnetzeltes were fine a bit to much salt but the schnitzel was really a disappointment because it was deep fried, not the way you should cook a schnitzel, and the taste was like a fryer.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zeughauskeller also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Zeughauskeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing