We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely lunch on the banks of the Limmat.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rotisserie

Rotisserie
Ranked #104 of 1,872 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Old Town
Boston
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch on the banks of the Limmat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

A delicious meal in a beautiful room with a painted ceiling, carved wooden beams, and elegant arched windows looking out over the Limmat river. I especially enjoyed a beautiful fresh salad of pears and local autumn greens. Lovely wines by the glass, the best Valser mineral water, supports sustainable farming, excellent service. It was like being in a lovely country inn -- right in the heart of Zurich's Old Town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mmedesevigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    60
    24
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Central location, good service, great balcony, okay food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

Nothing to write home about, but okay food at a decent price (not cheap though). The balcony over the river is quite pleasant in the summer and even on a sunny autumn day it was alright. Location wise, it's great and it provides a quiet break from tourist and business crowds.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NashR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“The view was better than the food.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was our second meal at this superbly positioned restaurant.The balcony of the Rotisserie is suspended above the river Limmat. you will have splendid views of Old Town, the Town Hall and all the activity on the river. The service is friendly and efficient. The menu is very good with a goiod variety of choices. Our meals this time were very disappointing. They took a long time to come and the fish was cold. I didn't want to cause a fuss so I ate it without complaint. I should have said something because the meal was expensive. The wine list is extensive but expensive. For the experience to be considered good value everything needs to be right and it wasn't this time. This time I rated the experience average. The time before I thought it was very good..

  • Visited June 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
461 reviews
317 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
“Fab view of Old Town from Storchen balconied terrace”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

My friends and I were lucky enough to find a table for lunch on a beautiful sunny day on Rotisserie's fabulous balcony without having booked (a rarity) even though the place was packed inside and out yet service was attentive and they really made an effort to put us in the sun as we asked. The balcony of the Rotisserie is suspended above the river Limmat and sports splendid views of Old Town, and the Town Hall suspended over the water, with lovely boats sailing past, the main Zurich Munster (Cathedral) towering in your sights... If you are visiting as a tourist but cannot do too much walking, I would highly recommend this lovely restaurant for not only its spectacular location and views, but also the food. Some of us had fish of the day, which was cooked to perfection, as was traditional Zurich speciality of veal escalopes with mushroom sauce.

If you are visiting on a Saturday, there is a cosy little farmers market right next door on the medieval bridge leading you to Storchen Hotel and the Rotisserie, from early morning till noon(ish). Fruit veg, Italian small goods, flowers, bread markets and other Swiss specialities squeeze in with a Merry-Go-Round. If you do not have time for lunch, do try splendid coffee and croissant on your morning wanderings in the little cafe underneath the balcony of Rotisserie. Tram No.4 in the direction of Altstetten, stops right in front of the aforementioned bridge with the market, so if you buy any goodies you can hop on the tram without having to lug it around. The best stop to get off is Rathaus. I had a drink also at Storchen Bar, but it is not my favorite (Weidder has more ambience in my view).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l-globetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hollywood, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The food never disappoints”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

always great food..great terrace with view of Grossmünster and lake

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iFlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotisserie also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Rotisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing