We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice ambiente in central zuerich”
Review of Rive Gauche

Rive Gauche
Ranked #65 of 1,918 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $48 - $96
Cuisines: European, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: The Rive Gauche will be closed from July 18th to August 14th. We will be happy to welcome you on our Terrasse during those hot summer days. «Fine casual dining» in the Rive Gauche restaurant: A sparkling blend of chic restaurant and bar, the Rive Gauche gives straight onto the city center – the ideal place for hotel guests to mingle with Zurich’s youthful, engaging society. Olivier Rais and his kitchen team apply themselves with typical creativity and devotion to delivering both exquisite meat and fish dishes and accommodating the rising trend toward vegetarian and vegan diets – in keeping with the motto «Meat our Veggies».
schweiz
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nice ambiente in central zuerich”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

its a place you want to go for a relaxed dinner with your friends.
in my eyes one of the top places in zuerich. food is well prepared, prices like everywhere in zürich expensive- but never mind. the nice atmosphere, the friendly service, the cool area around the bar and the people hanging out there make it worth while.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R-pP B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear R-pP B

Thank you for your kind notes about our restaurant. We are very happy that we could meet your expectations and are looking forward to welcome you back for another relaxed evening at the Rive Gauche.

Yours sincerely
The Rive Gauche Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    62
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Küsnacht, Schweiz
Level Contributor
85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Nice place for a good dinner”
Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

It is a nice restaurant in the very center of Zürich! Prices and quality of good really match each other. If you ll ever go there would recommend you to try " Paradise lost" from the desert menu.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lapochkajj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Lapochkajj

Thank you very much for your nice comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you had a nice time at our restaurant. We are looking forward to welcome you and your guests back at the Rive Gauche.

Yours sincerely
The Rive Gauche Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve Dinner @ Rive Gauche”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My girlfriend and I went to the Rive Gauche for our Christmas Eve dinner, as we both didn't feel like cooking. It turned out the restaurant was almost empty, but that didn't take away anything from the nice atmosphere. The food & wine were both excellent and our waiter very attentive.

The only reason I am not giving the Rive Gauche the maximum number of points is because we felt like there was something missing. For a restaurant of that class and price range you would expect to be served an amuse bouche. The gentleman's cut was also a little too small.

The Rive Gauche has a beautiful setting, great atmosphere, perfect location and very high prices. So if you are looking for something higher class with good food and a nice atmosphere then this is the place for you!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Mr. Brian W.

Thank you very much for your positive Feedback.

When we created the Rive Gauche concept, we thought of a restaurant which is cosy, relaxed with a hint of young style, meaning no ties for the staff, background music and the scene set with candles.

The “young style” applies to the creation of our menu. In carrying out this concept, we made the decision not to serve an amuse bouche, since we felt it would give the feeling of a fine dining restaurant, rather than a young casual fine dining restaurant.

We are very happy that you took the time to give us your feedback and will consider it in our planning for the next menu. We wish you and your family a great and healthy New Year and are looking forward to welcome you again at the Rive Gauche.

Best regards
Your Rive Gauche Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
315 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Very classy business dinner”
Reviewed November 10, 2012

So, this is not going to be cheap but if you want relaxed but classy, go to Rive Gauche at Baur au Lac. Take off the tie and make sure you ask for a Truffle starter (they have fresh white truffles they shave in front of you). Very, very delicious but also sold by the gram. I had the jugged deer and it was sublime with cabbage and spaetzli.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winterson66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear winterson66

Thank you very much for your kind words on TripAdvisor. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a good time at our restaurant and that you could enjoy our dishes. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at the Rive Gauche in the near future.

With kind regards

Jens Jeppesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
101 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

I go often to this restaurant not only because of the really good food but also the friendly atmosphere. It is not easy to find a high profile restaurant where you feel like having fun. Wine selection is one of the best in Zurich.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Rive Gauche, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Elena S

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. It is nice to hear that you did enjoy the dishes and the atmosphere at our restaurant. Rest assured that we will share your kind words with our entire team.

Please do not hesitate to come and say hello the next time you visit the Rive Gauche. We are looking forward to welcoming you again.

With kind regards

Jens Jeppesen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rive Gauche also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Rive Gauche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing