We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food in a nice setting”
Review of Lindenhofkeller

Lindenhofkeller
Ranked #38 of 1,955 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Swiss
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Zug, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a nice setting”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Invited to a business lunch, we had one of their specialities, the medium rare saddle of veal slowly cooked at 40 degrees in the oven. I must admit I have never eaten a more tender piece of veal!
The service was very attentive, the setting in a historic house a few steps away from the Lindenhof where you can enjoy a nice view on the old town of Zurich.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swisscheck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    71
    14
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An absolute Zurich highlight”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This restaurant is a definite must if your looking for top quality food, atmosphere and service. You have to pay more than your average restaurant but this is so much better than your average restuarant. No brainer in my view. Put Lindenhofkeller at the top of your list for Zurich dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adliswil
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Expensive but good”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I have been invited there for my birthday and it was good (apart from the service). The food was solid.

My starter was a soup with truffles. I could not taste the truffles which shows of the poor quality of them (unfortunately). My husband had the foie gras and that was absolutely excellent.

For the main I had a steak with pistachio and cranberry crust. That was also good but nothing that would maybe wow you. But solid. My husband had the steak with truffle risotto. That was ok but simply because of the truffle issue as described before.

As a desert I had the fruit salad with sorbet. I think I was soo full that I could not really enjoy it that much. It was not spectacular but light after such a heavy dinner. My husband had a cheese platter. They have a good collection of cheeses and they let you choose.

The service was not good at all. Rarely we do not give tip but this time we did not. For every single thing we had to "fight" for the waiter's attention after waiting patiently over and over again hoping the waiter would notice himself (but no). We were never asked if we want to have something to drink. After the food, the table did not get cleaned and the collection of empty glasses grew as we ordered more drinks and were on our table until we left. We had to even ask for the dessert menu and waited 10 minutes to be allowed to order. The restaurant was not full and there were 3 other waiters around so we did not understand this. But hey, maybe the waiter did not like us?

Nevertheless, for a gault millau restaurant in that price range good service should be key. I would still give it a second shot as maybe the waiter had a bad day or something.

Room for improvement: Service needs to be enhanced and more attentive to ALL tables equally. And please put some background music.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BasmaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Delicious food and lovely atmosphere”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We had a business dinner at this restaurant. Since we were a party of 12, we had a set menu which was possibly the best I have had. We started with a small dish of veal and lentils, followed by tartare of salmon with avocado, lentil soup, roast veal and ended with a warm chocolate pudding with ice cream. Every dish was exceptionally well presented and cooked to perfection. The location of the restaurant right in the centre of the old city with its cobblestone streets was perfect and the inside of the restaurant was very intimate and cosy - so much nicer than the modern 'cold' restaurants which are appearing everywhere. It is not cheap, but for a special dinner, I would certainly say you could not do better than this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank carolina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Everything was excellent”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

What a treat, after a long flight and tiring day, to enjoy an evening at Lindenhofkeller. Service, food, ambience --- all were superb. It was elegant but not stuffy. Highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michigangal19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lindenhofkeller also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Lindenhofkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing