We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegi King in Zurich (Europe) at CHF 45 per KG”
Review of Haus Hiltl

Haus Hiltl
Ranked #11 of 2,026 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: According to "Guinness World Records" Hiltl is the first vegetarian restaurant in the world. The company was founded in 1898 by Ambrosius Hiltl and is now run by the fourth generation of the Hiltl family. It offers around 500 dishes and includes, in addition to the a la carte restaurant and Hiltl buffet, self-service and takeaway, a bar-lounge, a club, a cooking studio and a shop...
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Though I have been to Zurich many times, and a foodie, I have been to Hiltl for the first time. I did not need convincing (as being the oldest Vegi Restaurant, possibly in Europe) still many of my work colleagues have recommended this place.

I had buffet option, and seated on the ground floor (I also recommend this).

In general I would give the 5 star to this place. Primarily, I have not seen so many vegetarian varieties in any European outlet. The price is decent for the place, location, atmosphere and quality. It is expensive for Europe, but at par with any decent Swiss restaurant. So its expensive for self-service, but it does indeed make up for quality and varieties. (At CHF 45 per KG, without drinks, tap water is free).

This place have something for all types of taste-buds. Will definitely visit again, to taste some more.

The only down side I would say, that there is no one to guide to the first time visitors, and the staff who served us at the till was rude.
The gravy of okara could be improved. The names of samosa and kachori dishes are misleading, and should be labelled as pasty (Not pastry)!

Later found out that there is also loyalty/membership scheme, which could be promoted better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Yash A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear YashAgarwal

Thank you very much for your detailed review and the numerous compliments!

We are sorry that you felt left alone at the buffet. Our staff is always available to help, you just have to ask someone (buffet-, bar- or reception-staff) and they will guide you trough.

Concering the rude waiter you mentioned I just sent you a private message. We are very sorry for that and I am sure that we will do better when you visit us the next time.

We hope to see you soon and wish you a nice weekend.

Best,
the Hiltl-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,090)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,183 - 1,187 of 3,091 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

If you are vegetarian, like myself, it's very nice to have so many choices and not just one or two options, as with most other places. Furthermore they offer a traditional service, not just the help-yourself buffet style, which keeps me away from Tibbits. As a plus they have dishes inspired by local meat specialities, e.g. the famous Züri Geschnetzeltes. Both quality and quantity served are very good, maybe even a bit too much, as we were too full to pick one of the very tasty sounding desserts after our lunch. Reservation is very easy via their webpage.
Average because the place is rather noisy and you have to go through the crowds at the buffet to reach the waited area on the 1st floor, and then there is again a buffet, keeping the noise level high. Willing to pay the premium prices for an all-vegetarian-menu, it'd expect a calmer setting (e.g. only do the buffet downstairs).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aferret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2014

Dear Aferret

Thank you for the nice compliments and the honest review, which we appreciate very much.

If you like to sit in the served area, you can use the restaurant entrance, so you don't have to walk through the buffet zone.

The second buffet upstairs is only in use during lunch time. In the evenings we only use the one on the groundfloor.

If you like to sit in a calm area you can just ask at the reception desk and we will look for a quiet table.

We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you a great weekend.

Best,
the Hiltl-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Awesome selection and lovely preparation. I enjoyed the food especially since thee is a curry aroma. Never bought dinner by weight before and felt it was more than a little over priced.

It is worth visiting but perhaps the menu is cheaper for lunch.

Thank 6009interactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear 6009interactive

Thank you for your review and the kind compliments.

Our prices depend on the service, we deliver. We offer four kinds of price-levels:

1. Take Away (for lunch or dinner), the fastest and reasonably priced type
2. Self-Service (for lunch or dinner), also a fast and inexpensive type
3. Lunch in the served area (you can also help yourself at the buffet), the comfortable and more expensive lunch type
4. Dinner in the served area (you can also help yourself at the buffet), the most comfortable and "costlier" dinner type

This system is appreciated by our guests and matches every wallet.

Best,
the Hiltl-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We went to Hiltl in Zürich for Valentine's Day with my wife and two teenage daughters. We arrived early which was a problem and the stand was a bit uncomfortable. After about 15 min, we were seated and enjoyed a wonderful meal which spawned terrific conversation. A really nice time.

Thank DPattersonInCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Dear DPattersonInCH

We are sorry for the waiting time at the beginning. But it's so nice to hear that afterwards everything went perfect and you could enjoy a great evening with you family.

Thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you soon again at Hiltl.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lovely relaxed atmosphere, great friendly staff. The chocolate mouse was a winner. No gelatin! A relief from the disgusting meat smells that dominate many of Zurich other restaurants.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LindaAnna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

:) Thank you very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haus Hiltl also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Haus Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing