We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food by the gram!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haus Hiltl

Haus Hiltl
Ranked #11 of 1,872 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Swiss, European, Mediterranean, Asian, Thai, Middle Eastern, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: According to "Guinness World Records" Hiltl is the first vegetarian restaurant in the world. The company was founded in 1898 by Ambrosius Hiltl and is now run by the fourth generation of the Hiltl family. It offers around 500 dishes and includes, in addition to the a la carte restaurant and Hiltl buffet, self-service and takeaway, a bar-lounge, a club, a cooking studio and a shop...
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Food by the gram!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Awesome selection and lovely preparation. I enjoyed the food especially since thee is a curry aroma. Never bought dinner by weight before and felt it was more than a little over priced.

It is worth visiting but perhaps the menu is cheaper for lunch.

Helpful?
Thank 6009interactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear 6009interactive

Thank you for your review and the kind compliments.

Our prices depend on the service, we deliver. We offer four kinds of price-levels:

1. Take Away (for lunch or dinner), the fastest and reasonably priced type
2. Self-Service (for lunch or dinner), also a fast and inexpensive type
3. Lunch in the served area (you can also help yourself at the buffet), the comfortable and more expensive lunch type
4. Dinner in the served area (you can also help yourself at the buffet), the most comfortable and "costlier" dinner type

This system is appreciated by our guests and matches every wallet.

Best,
the Hiltl-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,420
    947
    248
    78
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“OMG - truly wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

We went to Hiltl in Zürich for Valentine's Day with my wife and two teenage daughters. We arrived early which was a problem and the stand was a bit uncomfortable. After about 15 min, we were seated and enjoyed a wonderful meal which spawned terrific conversation. A really nice time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DPattersonInCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear DPattersonInCH

We are sorry for the waiting time at the beginning. But it's so nice to hear that afterwards everything went perfect and you could enjoy a great evening with you family.

Thank you for the review and we hope to welcome you soon again at Hiltl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A must for any lover of good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Lovely relaxed atmosphere, great friendly staff. The chocolate mouse was a winner. No gelatin! A relief from the disgusting meat smells that dominate many of Zurich other restaurants.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LindaAnna77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
:) Thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful surprise ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

I am totally not into vegetarian food but this place was a big surprise. Even if you love meet you should try it. Tartar stake is amazing.

Helpful?
Thank Leon2015CH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Always a pleasure to surprise our meat-loving guests! Hopefully see you soon at Hiltl! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A meat lovers reprieve.....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

We dined here with a few friends recently, and though an admitted meat lover, this restaurant made me a true believer in that vegetarian food can not only be delicious, but filling as well. Our waitress was professional and personable. The tables are situated to afford adequate room when dining here too. I would recommend the buffet as you get to sample the many choices of meatless delight. The vibe here was great as well. For an incredible dining experience (vegetarian or not) don't miss out on dining at Hiltl.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ciscospudd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you very much!!! :) :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haus Hiltl also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Haus Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing