We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing friendly staff”
Review of Haus Hiltl

Haus Hiltl
Ranked #14 of 1,988 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $58
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: According to "Guinness World Records" Hiltl is the first vegetarian restaurant in the world. The company was founded in 1898 by Ambrosius Hiltl and is now run by the fourth generation of the Hiltl family. It offers around 500 dishes and includes, in addition to the a la carte restaurant and Hiltl buffet, self-service and takeaway, a bar-lounge, a club, a cooking studio and a shop...
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent veggie restaurant where for 5.50 Swiss francs per 100g you can choose what you like. Go for the paneer and Aubergine curries. It's quite expensive but I think for Zurich it's the norm. Best beer is either the weisse bier on tap or Zurich own gold sprint.

Thank Jonny901london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you for the very good feedback!
CHF 5.50 is the evening-price. If you visit us over lunch time it will cost you less. :)

Happy Holidays and hopefully see you soon in Zurich!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,186 of 2,995 reviews

Reviewed December 19, 2013

Fantastic range of vegetarian food, hot and cold, mains and desserts. There was so much that was appealing that I forgot that there wasn't any meat or fish in it. Good idea to weigh the plates though better if I hadn't had my very hungry daughter with me! Curries are excellent.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Averil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

:)

Great review, thank you very much and hopefully next time you don't have to share your meal! :)

Merry Christmas!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It's very excellent! I will go to this place again, It's a wonderful journey thanks for the minimum, good!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jefferson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Thank you very much for the great review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A Very trendy place with very nice design, and lotsssss of people...!
the food sadly was just ok, it felt a bit like food from an aircraft.
oh and the place is way over priced.

Thank Dudu_np
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Dudu_np

Thank you for the review.

We are sorry that you did not like our food and that in your opinion the prices are to high.

We stay tuned and hope you will give us a second chance to show you that our food tastes very good.

Best regards and Happy Holidays

The Hiltl-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

As a vegetarian from South Africa, I read about Hiltl being the world's first all-vegetarian restaurant and decided it was worth a visit. The range of foods was amazing. The restaurant is a bit chaotic: We were told that there were both seated and buffet areas - we chose the seated area but still ended up selecting food from the buffet. It might have been a language issue but it seems the way it works was that you can either order a 'special' from the menu, or just use the buffet - regardless of where you sit. So - don't go here if you are looking for a romantic evening out - it is busy, crowded and quite noisy, but if you want to experience something quite unique and a range of excellent vegetarian food - then this is the place to go.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank brett_jhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear Brett_jhb

Thank you for your very good review! :)

We are sorry that the restaurant-staff did not explain you the concept very clear. In fact it's not that complicated: We have a self-service area,where guests just help themselves at the buffet and get the beverages at the bar where they also pay for everything.
Then we have a served area where guests have the choice whether they go to the buffet or order an "à la Carte"-meal. A waiter takes the order, brings the beverages, etc.

If you like to have a romantic dinner at our place we recommend to make a reservation about one week in advance, so we can prepare a beatiful table near the window in a silent corner of the restaurant. :)

We hope to welcome you soon again and wish you wonderful christmas and all the best for the new year.

Best regards,

Nadine & the Hiltl-Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haus Hiltl also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Haus Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing