We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply delicious” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Haus Hiltl

Haus Hiltl
Ranked #11 of 1,872 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Swiss, European, Mediterranean, Asian, Thai, Middle Eastern, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: According to "Guinness World Records" Hiltl is the first vegetarian restaurant in the world. The company was founded in 1898 by Ambrosius Hiltl and is now run by the fourth generation of the Hiltl family. It offers around 500 dishes and includes, in addition to the a la carte restaurant and Hiltl buffet, self-service and takeaway, a bar-lounge, a club, a cooking studio and a shop...
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
200 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Simply delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Order à la carte or take the buffet here - you can't go wrong. The food is fantastic and varied, desserts are decadent, great choice of alcoholic and non-alcoholic drinks, and you don't have to put up with your vegetarian friends whinging about a lack of options. Everyone wins.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LausMac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you very much for the flattering review! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,420
    947
    248
    78
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
718 reviews
513 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“Go for the buffet and the nonalcoholic drinks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

A vegetarian place that has existed for 100 years must be good. Hiltl does not disappoint. I have been a regular at Hiltl for many years and quality has only increased. The restaurant has grown and offers many different options: You can order from the menu, or you can get instant gratification at the very extensive two-story buffet. I prefer the latter, simply because I love salads and the variety is intoxicating.

Hiltl offers vegetarian food only. If you have dietary restrictions, every meal has labels that describes the key ingredients and contents. As such, it is a safe eat for many. Multiple dished have a slight indian touch. Desserts are excellent, especially the traditional Cremeschnitte and the mousse au chocolat.

The food is always excellent and fresh (likely due to the large turnaround). The drinks offered are amazing. I recommend highly the iced teas and lemonades, as well as the fruit juices.

Reserve a table ahead of time because the place can be very busy, especially in the evening and on weekends. The online reservation system is very efficient and easy to use. Note that after 10PM the place turns into a dance club.

My only gripe lies with the service: While some servers are very attentive, others suck big time. I guess this is also a reason why I prefer the buffet, because no direct staff interaction is necessary. As someone who eats there 2 - 3 times per week when in Zurich, I think I have had a fair sampling. It amazes me that such a successful place does not spend a little more in staff training. However, when the management is informed, they always make up for it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank icanhazdesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed review and the numerous compliments to our restaurant. It is very important to us to provide a good service and to have friendly and attentive waiters. Positive and negative feedback are immediately discussed with each of our staff and we want to improve steadily. Please check the private message I just sent you therefor.

We hope to keep you as a regular guest and really want to prove you, that our waiters are the best in Town. :)

See you soon and have a wonderful time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great for any occasion , Vegetarian restaurant, chic mood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is nice in ambient. and got great food.
situated walking distance from central station.
They have buffet style casual lounge/ restaurant and sit down more formal type of restaurant.
buffet is fresh and tasty. if you want to sit down it is much more expensive than buffet.
nice lighting and hip/chic type of place perfect just to get a drink there too since ambience is nice.
food was delicious. definitely would recommend this restaurant.

ビュッフェスタイル

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rurina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for the nice review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Sunday brunch in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Hiltl offers a fantastic Sunday brunch. Even though it is a vegetarian restaurant, meat-eaters will find plenty of things to keep them happy. There is so much choice that you will struggle to eat everything that you like. Absolutely one of my favorite restaurants in Zurich.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Philipp G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thanks a lot for the great review and the compliments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food in the center of ZURICH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

In the search of Veggie Indian food we reached HILTL and to our surprise we found a variety of delicious Indian cuisine. They had a sumptuous buffet and it was truly a different and mouth watering experience . Would love to be there again on our next trip to Zurich

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rahulphysio04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you very much! We are looking forward to you next visit in Zurich!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haus Hiltl also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Haus Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing