We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Even Non-Vegetarians can get a great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haus Hiltl

Haus Hiltl
Ranked #11 of 1,892 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Indian, Swiss, European, Mediterranean, Asian, Thai, Middle Eastern, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: According to "Guinness World Records" Hiltl is the first vegetarian restaurant in the world. The company was founded in 1898 by Ambrosius Hiltl and is now run by the fourth generation of the Hiltl family. It offers around 500 dishes and includes, in addition to the a la carte restaurant and Hiltl buffet, self-service and takeaway, a bar-lounge, a club, a cooking studio and a shop...
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Even Non-Vegetarians can get a great meal”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hiltl has either table service where you order off the menu, or you can take from the buffet where you pay for your food depending on its weight. I'm not a vegetarian, but truly enjoy eating there. Sunday mornings are great there where often they've had live performers and a delicious breakfast buffet. On weekend evenings, part of the restaurant turns in to a club.

It is a little pricey though where I've never really had a buffet meal with drink for less than CHF29.00.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Global_Nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Hi Mark_Khalife

Thank you for the very positive review!

There is just one thing I would like to correct: At the moment we don't have live music during the brunch on sundays. Unfortunately we don't have enough space for a live-band at the restaurant. But the Hiltl-Sounds, our very own playlists,compiled by local DJs, are enjoyable too. :)

We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you a wonderful evening.

Best,

Haus Hiltl
Nadine Koller & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,440
    963
    252
    81
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Depends on what you're used to”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my mum after seeing all the good reviews, and got different impressions.

We took the dinner buffet, by weight (5.5chf per 100grams or 57chf for all you can eat). I thought the food was ok albeit expensive for what it is, but my mum really didn't like it (she's used to healthy home-cooked food without sauces etc).

Atmosphere and decor were great. Service soso but I think that's normal for Germany and Switzerland.

Definitely overpriced considering it's all vegetarian, but you do get a lot of choice. I think I might go there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dyien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Dyien

Thank you for your visit and the review.

We are sorry that your mother didn't like our food. Some of our dishes are quite "special" and we use spices and ingredients that not everyone likes (especially for the indian dishes). But most of our guests love the buffet and we hope you'll become one of them. :)

Our prices depend on the service we deliver. We offer four kinds of price-levels:

1. Take Away (for lunch or dinner), the fastest and reasonably priced type
2. Self-Service (for lunch or dinner), also a fast and inexpensive type
3. Served lunch, the comfortable and more expensive lunch type
4. Served dinner, the most comfortable and "costlier" dinner type

This system is appreciated by our guests and matches every wallet. As I understand your feedback you have chosen price-level 4, maybe you're gonna try another one the next time?

We would appreciate to welcome you soon again and wish you a great day.

Best regards,

Nadine Koller & the Hiltl-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Level Contributor
110 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must for anyone staying in Zurich”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I am not sure how I heard about this but it is worth a visit. It is the oldest vegetarian restaurant in Europe apparently. It is a cult within itself. Apart from the ambiance of the place the food was good and the portions were quite big. You also have an option to try the buffet (its measures in weight - not all you can eat). The place is usually packed though we got in easily without a reservation. Its a great night out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jejeel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you for the good review!
And by the way: we also offer the "all you can eat"-option. You decide which option you'd like. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Baby Shower Lunch”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

I have been to this resturant several times and decided to hold my baby shower lunch there for about 25 guests. The experiecnce was wonderful as always. The food and service was exceptional and I would recommend it for such intimate gatherings or for any meal, to make the ocassion even more memorable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelloverszamswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for this wonderful review! We are very happy to have elated you and wish you all the best for you and your Family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Gallen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good breakfast buffet”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I`ve been in this restaurant for a breakfast with friends. The atmosphere was very nice and the service very friendly. For just 25 Swiss Francs for the whole breakfast buffet (which is also a lunch buffet) and a choice of coffe and fruit juices, this is one of the best breakfast buffet I`ve ever had. Even though it was a vegetarien buffet, the choice of food is so big and as well delicous, that you forgot that there is no meat available (and I`m a meat lover:-) ).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank playmusic88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Thanks for the great compliment! We hope to welcome you soon again for a fine breakfast at Haus Hiltl. :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haus Hiltl also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Haus Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing