We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian luxury”
Review of Haus Hiltl

Haus Hiltl
Ranked #12 of 1,928 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: According to "Guinness World Records" Hiltl is the first vegetarian restaurant in the world. The company was founded in 1898 by Ambrosius Hiltl and is now run by the fourth generation of the Hiltl family. It offers around 500 dishes and includes, in addition to the a la carte restaurant and Hiltl buffet, self-service and takeaway, a bar-lounge, a club, a cooking studio and a shop...
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Vegetarian luxury”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Wonderful place to eat with plenty of vegetarian dishes and a whole lot of vegan ones. Impecable service, great wine. What else to say? It's not for nothing that they are the oldest and most famous European vegetarian restaurant

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andreea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Hiltl, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for the great review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,862 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,491
    986
    259
    84
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
105 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“A mistake”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We went to Hiltl very excited as it is famous veggie restaurant. We made a reservation week ahead to ensure we will have a nice table. On the spot they couldn't find a reservation and they placed us in row table next to other couple. Felt already like a buffet than a restaurant. We waited for about 15 minutes for a menu even thou a manager chatted with staff next to us, so after that we asked them if they could be so nice and give us a menu. Then we were given unclean cutlery with some curry stain. I ordered their famous "Tatar" and my partner took burger salad - both dishes were just an average with just boiled veggies as a sides. Huge let down. I think it is either time to do a reality check or convert to buffet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krzysztof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Hiltl, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Krzysztof

Thank you very much for your honest feedback. We still hope to get a reply on our second message with more information about your visit at Haus Hiltl. We truly apologize for the inconvenience and we hope you are giving us a second chance because we can do much better!

We would be glad to welcome you again at Haus Hiltl.

Best regards,

the Hiltl-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Disappointed at the Palak paneer. It was a lot of paneer with almost no palak.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Apart from the palak paneer that was clearly not what the dish is, the rest of the food was good. A bit overpriced though.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lmargar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Hiltl, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We will immediately check the composition of the Palak Paneer and we are very sorry, that you couln'd enjoy your meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
“Best vegetarian in town”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I usually stop once a week at Hiltl and buy take-away food from the buffet. I really love the fresh ingredients and the fact that the cuisine is influenced by different traditions (Italian, Indian, etc.).
I don't give 5 points because the buffet choice is not that various, meaning that you have plenty of specialities, but always the same and if you eat there regularly, it can get boring.
Overall, very happy with Hiltl and I really recommend it!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alessia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Hiltl, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi Alessia

Thanks for your honest feedback and your loyalty! We are constantly working on the variety of dishes on our buffet.

The challenge we face doing this is that we have a lot of regular guests who like the constancy of the buffet offer and it is quite hard for us to decide what items to change or even omit.
Our seasonal dishes change regularly and we are also testing some new specialties – we mark these dishes with the label “Testgericht”.

For the summer month we have turned our attention primarily to the desserts and upgraded the range of sweets such as cakes, fruit and mousse.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback - we truly hope you’ll see the improvements.

Kind regards,

The Hiltl Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“King of Vegetarian Food!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Hiltl is one of the oldest vegetarian restaurant in Zürich. It offers a buffet kind of service, and you pay accordingly to the weight of your food. They have the best chef's who knows how to work on vegetarian food.
It's not only that, Hiltl is also a nice place to hang out. It offers various kind of drinks as well.
They have a really nice and cozy interior, very family and down to earth place to be.
But don't be fooled buy it. Hiltl can also be a pricey price to be in. ;)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BerryErwanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf_Hiltl, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Hi BerryErwanto

Thanks for your very good review! Hiltl is by the way the oldest vegetarian restaurant of the world according to Guinness World Records. :)

We are looking forward to your next visit and stay tuned to our prices, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haus Hiltl also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Haus Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing