We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overpriced”
Review of Haus Hiltl

Haus Hiltl
Ranked #12 of 2,017 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $57
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: According to "Guinness World Records" Hiltl is the first vegetarian restaurant in the world. The company was founded in 1898 by Ambrosius Hiltl and is now run by the fourth generation of the Hiltl family. It offers around 500 dishes and includes, in addition to the a la carte restaurant and Hiltl buffet, self-service and takeaway, a bar-lounge, a club, a cooking studio and a shop...
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Hiltl is very popular, so if you want to eat there (even on weekdays) you have to make a reservation. The restaurant is quite comfortable and nice, although it can get a bit overcrowded.

The food itself is good. The buffet is always a good choice and they have some fantastic drinks. The service staff ist nice and friendly.

The big con for me is the price. It is just too expensive for what you get. The food is not that special or good that it justifies the price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2013

Thanks for your review! Our prices depend on the service, we deliver. We offer four kinds of price-levels:
1. Take Away (for lunch or dinner), the fastest and reasonably priced type
2. Self-Service (for lunch or dinner), also a fast and inexpensive type
3. Served lunch, the comfortable and more expensive lunch type
4. Served dinner, the most comfortable and "costlier" dinner type

This system is appreciated by our guests and matches every wallet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,343 - 1,347 of 3,052 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2013

Hiltl is one of my favorite place for lunch. The buffet has a huge selection of vegetarian food, it`s always nice to sit down and watch the beautiful people. I also like the concept that this place turns into a club on some evenings, great concept ! Keep going ! Check it out when you are in zürich ........

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Worldjumper1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thx for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

As others will note, this is the oldest vegetarian restaurant in Europe, so they have had plenty of time to perfect their menu. All the food is bought by weight, so choose carefully. A regular plate of food will cost me around 30 francs, and will fill me up. Too many selections to try them all, but if you come early (before 10) and takeaway, you can save nearly 50% on the price. We don't come here often but when we do, we try to avoid lunchtime or after 7 pm when the place is full regardless of the weather.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chiefguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for this excellent review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Don't get me wrong. I love cheese and Switzerland has some really great cheese dishes. But sometimes you want something else. Hiltl is like the vegetarian valhalla of Switzerland -- an enormous buffet full of things I can eat. Amazing. The atmosphere is fun, too. There is one in Basel, too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marcusandgriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

To start with I am not a vegetarian but I enjoy the food every single time. It's a mix of asian, indian, middle eastern, european cuisine (if that's not fusion then I don't know what is). The open buffet is a delight, the service careful and efficient.
The place has many "faces" too - a bar / club area, formal restaurant type of spaces or more relaxed "bistro" areas.
We had recently a brunch there with several other friends and their (rather small) children - enough to say that we were 7 adults and 8 children - and it all went perfectly fine and children adored it.
Children receive all sorts of drawing / coloring / reading stuff to keep them busy; but the real hit are some special felt tip pens that children can use to draw on a few good large glass surfaces throughout the restaurant. That alone is a great idea.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cristofor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolf H, Inhaber at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thx for your great review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haus Hiltl also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Haus Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing