We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service but meal was missing the pep”
Review of Brasserie Lipp

Brasserie Lipp
Ranked #178 of 2,115 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $49
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Old Town
Description: Bienvenue à la Brasserie Lipp! Our restaurant: Traditional French brew-pub fare served amidst the carefree joie de vivre of the Belle Époque. Market-fresh homestyle cooking for gourmets and lovers of seafood, oysters, and fine wines. Parisian-style business lunch, elegant dinner, or hearty breakfast — Brasserie Lipp Restaurant is always a good choice. If you’re looking for a great meal in lively surroundings, then Lipp is the place to go!
Reviewed June 2, 2018 via mobile

Definitely not a bargain (nothing in Zurich is) but at the price it comes I would definitely expect a bit more love and taste going into the food preparation.

Thank Benson1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Cher Benson,

Merci beaucoup that you took the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. It would have been great to know what exactly was missing beside love and taste. This would help us to improve and ensure at your next visit to provide the culinary experience you expect.

Nevertheless, we hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you back soon.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 784 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 16. And had great meal. Prawn cocktail was super and steak perfectly cooked. The service waz superb especially as we were such large group. We spilled out onto the terrace and enjoyed a few more drinks before walking down to the river. All in all very nice

Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Cher Mark F,

Merci beaucoup for your wonderful review. We are happy to read that your group gathering was a success and you enjoyed the culinary side of the Brasserie Lipp. Note that we can accommodate groups up to 100 people in a private room adjacent to the Brasserie Lipp. We hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you back.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2018

We were very impressed with our choices on the menu, the wonderful service and overall pleasant experience. Although the room is a bit large for what I think of as a bistro, the personal service overcame that. This is the sort of cuisine and service I fondly remember from France. Yes, the prices are high, but there are no "bargains" in the Zurich fine dining scene.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Frank A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Cher Frank A,

Merci mille fois for this great review and five points on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the culinary side and the service of the Brasserie Lipp and therefore we hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you back.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2018

We were in Zurich during Easter and this was the only open restaurant.
We just wanted something warm, it was very cold outside.
I had a green tea, Evian water and asparagus soup, my husband had Canelloni with spinach and 2 glasses of wine. The food was very good.

We did not check the receipt and paid 107 CHF. At home I found out that we were charged 26 CHF for 1 glass of red wine, that is why the receipt was so high. They obviously brought us a different wine. I have never seen such a huge price for a glass of open wine ever...

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MPearlH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Cher MPearl H,

Merci for your review on Tripadvisor. We contacted you privately to find out further about your recent experience and the charge of a glass red wine at CHF26 but unfortunately we have not received a feedback from you. Therefore it is rather difficult for us to provide a statement or explanation.

Nevertheless, we hope to have another opportunity to welcoming you.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2018 via mobile

Visiting Brasserie Lipp has been a great experience
On a business early dinner, 5 guys, hungry and ready for a good meal, the menu offers a wide variety of very untemporal classic dishes, made perfectly
It is expensive but worth a detour
A few noticeable mistakes on the interpretation of the “Bouillabaisse “ but being originally from Marseille, I can only be critical if it is not done to perfection
Overall anyway a very nice experience because I didn’t order “ Bouillabaisse “
Didn’t go for desserts but looked good
Service was very nice with a pleasant waitress

Thank Jean-Michel Jac... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas F, Geschäftsführer at Brasserie Lipp, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2018

Cher Jean-Michel Jac... T,

Merci beaucoup for this your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. We are pleased to hear that you and your friends enjoyed the culinary side of the Brasserie Lipp. We sincerely hope to have you back soon.

À bientôt,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Lipp also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Brasserie Lipp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing