We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiny rooms - impossible air conditioning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fleming's Hotel Zurich
Ranked #78 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I have been in other Fleming's Hotels in Europe and I must say that this one is standing out. Unfortunately, it does so in a negative way. The room I got to stay in for two nights was tiny, the size you would usually expect in Paris, but not in Zurich. Also, the room was a baking hot 34 degrees ! There was a small air conditioning unit in the cupboard under the TV which, besides terrible noise, had virtually no effect. First, I thought this was a technical fault, but then discovered that my colleagues had the exact same problem. The hotel staff could not help, not surprisingly, given that the only people present (during the whole stay) were two german stagiaires who even had to have someone from Germany call me back to listen to my complaint. The hotel itself is located quite centrally in the business district, while still in walking distance to Bahnhofstrasse, the main shopping area downtown Zurich. And by walking distance, I literally mean walking. There is no car park at the hotel and if you stop in front of the entrance even just to unload your luggage, you risk to be fined CHF 120 if you get caught.

The rooms are equipped like every other Fleming's hotel, although just half the size, which gives a very crammed feeling. Also, the walls of at least my room (No 11) could do with a fresh layer of paint, as the floor could also do with a proper carpet cleaning.

Last but not least, the matress of the bed felt like it was wrapped in plastic (under the sheets), which did not really help, given the room temperature.

I will probably stay in other Cities' Fleming's Hotels again, while definitely avoiding the one in Zurich.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikehofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

93 - 99 of 194 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2010

I stayed at the Fleming's Hotel for one night while stopping off on my way to visit a friend.

The hotel is the smallest I've ever stayed in at just 28 rooms spread over 4 floors. From the entrace there is a room that serves as the reception/waiting area/lobby/restaurant and bar all rolled into one.

I was given a single room which I booked through booking dot com for CHF99 including breakfast (equivalent to GBP62). This is a very reasonable rate for somewhere as expensive as Switzerland.

As already mentioned in other reviews, the shower and wash basin are located inside the main room and only the toilet is separated. This could be a problem if you are looking to share with a friend so the hotel is best suited to couples or single business people. The hot water and water pressure were good and I had no issues with it. The room was pretty clean apart from some splash marks on the wall next to the basin - this lack of attention to detail gives in 4/5 rather than 5/5 for cleanliness.

Inside the room there was a minibar (fridge) with a range of soft drinks and a few beers. these were actually reasonably priced when compared to local shops. There were also some complimentary apples. Furniture was modern and in good condition. The plug sockets dont accept french adapters - you need a french to swiss adaptor to combine with a british to french. I managed to find a shop that sold one for CHF9.

I did not eat in the restaurant but did take breakfast. There is a small buffet of museli, cornflakes and sugar puffs, bread rolls, croissants, jams, fruit juices and yoghurt. They offer to provide a cooked breakfast to order though I declined. Breakfast starts from 6am to 10am. With such a small hotel it would be advisable to get there early as it was overloaded with people at 9am.

I would agreee that the rooms could get very warm in the summer. Mine had an airconditioning unit but I chose to keep the window open instead. My room faced to the rear of the building and there was a lot of cooking smells drifting upwards from the kitchens on the ground floor. Trams run past the building so I can understand that it could be noisy in the rooms at the front.

I'm unlikely to visit Zurich again but would consider staying at this hotel again, provided I got a good deal. If you are going to pay top prices you would be better going to somewhere like the Hilton or Sheraton. But for CHF99 you cant really complain. It's a lot better than most Travellodges in the UK.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevieG489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2009

A/C was inoperable because it was "under construction." Therefore our room was too warm to sleep. The adjacent street was too loud to open the window to get a breeze.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grumpyGrumpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2009

I recently stayed at Flemings for one night in June. Here are my thoughts:

Pros
Gummi bears left on your pillow
I thought the location was good
Big feather duvets and pillows
Clean rooms
Eggs cooked to order for breakfast
Friendly bar area (Which yes, also serves as check-in desk. I don't know why that bothers so many people? I was fine with it.)
Friendly staff who were good with directions and patient with my rusty German.
Good price. I paid 100 euros for a Friday night in June.

Cons
Street noise, particularly from nearby bar.
Loud AC. Someone in an earlier review mentions that there is no AC. There is. There's a standing unit in the TV cabinet. It was really noisy though. But hey, this drowned out the street noise.
Slight confusion upon check-in. I was assigned Room 33, but they were obviously doing some work on it when I got in there. So I got 22 instead.
Shower is in the middle of the room. This didn't bother me because I was traveling alone. But if you're traveling with a friend, this may weird you out. It was a nice shower though, with a big rainwater head.

I was only there for one night so I didn't get a chance to use the Internet or anything like that, but in short, I liked Flemings and I'd go back.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krista N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Overally this hotel was poor value for money. It is trying very hard to be a boutique hotel but it falls short on quality.

There is no reception area - you have to check in at the bar.

The rooms are cheap-looking and look like they have been furnished from the local Ikea. The shower is in the middle of the room with no privacy.

The worst aspect is the plug sockets prevent international adaptors from being used, so the hotel is completely unsuitable for international business.

The lights are a bit psychedelic and hard to operate.

The lift is too small and claustrophobic.

How this hotel can charge 340 Euros a night I don't know. Avoid.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

I've stayed at three hotels in Zürich in this price range - Plattenhof and Sunnehus and Flemings. All of them fine, but I liked Flemings most. Plattenhof and Sunnehus are more convenient for ETH if that's your destination, but Flemings is central for the city. Nothing amazing but it's clean and the breakfasts are very good. Actually there is something a bit amazing - transparent shower cubicle in the middle of your room. It's an interesting novelty. It's a short stroll to Bahnhofstrasse and all the main shops, and not too far to the lake. There's a good restaurant nearby called Hiltl. Like all Swiss restaurants it will induce sticker-shock, but it's tasty fresh vegetarian food and you're going to pay the prices to someone unless you stop eating...

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peebosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2008

The location's quite good for business, tho' for leisure I'd always recommend staying in the Old Town on the other side of the river. But Zurich's small anyway, so it's not a huge deal. There's no real reception area and the layout's odd, but, again, not a huge deal. The rooms are very nicely finished in a modern style, the internet works well, and the glass-walled showers are great - powerful and spacious. Just make sure that if you're travelling with a friend that (i) you have a great body and (ii) you don't mind your friend looking at it!

The negatives are that most of the rooms are on the street, so if you're hypersensitive to noise pollution, give it a miss; and that the breakfast spread is ok but not wonderful (there's no space to put a wonderful breakfast anyway!). And it was very expensive for what it is - but this could have been because there was a Euro2008 football match on that night, and everywhere was full. Check the rate, it shouldn't be too expensive.

All in all, though, a good hotel for a short stay, and a bit different so you'll remember it.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Motel One Zurich
#93 of 137 in Zurich
38 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#29 of 137 in Zurich
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel City Zurich
#62 of 137 in Zurich
240 reviews
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
#41 of 137 in Zurich
494 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fleming's Hotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fleming's Hotel Zurich

Address: Brandschenkestrasse 10, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $174 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fleming's Hotel Zurich 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you go shopping through the designer boutiques along Bahnhofstrasse or take an idyllic stroll along Lake Zurich: both can be easily reached from Fleming's Hotel Zurich which is centrally located in the city centre. And if you’re looking for a short rest before touring the legendary nightlife, you’ll enjoy a break in the comfortable room of our Zurich Hotel or in Fleming’s Brasserie & Wine Bar. What’s more, the delicious breakfast next morning is even included in the room price. Are you looking for that little bit more? Then you’ll be right at home here. Welcome to Fleming’s! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Fleming's Hotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flemings Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing