We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable hotel, clean rooms, courteous staff, close to airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Zurich North
Ranked #38 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2013

it is a very nice Marriott property offering clean rooms, comfortable dining and Bfast, courteous staff , able to arrive by train or direct bus from Zurich airport. The restaurant MAX is cozy, clean, with excellent service. There are couple of other bars near by and there is a COOP super food market for bringing your own knicknacks like chips, fruit and wine and beer. I stay here because of my business at ETH Univ, Hoggerberg, where a bus# 80 gets you in 10 minutes from the staff next to the hotel. For tourists travel, this is not an ideal hotel due to completely far away from downtown shopping streets and avenues of Zurich. Even though tram # 11 takes only 15 minutes from Oerlikon train station stop to inner stadt, it is still not convinient for a tourist vacation.

Room Tip: the rooms ending in even numbers open up to the square area not towards the busy street. Request roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biopharm34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (550)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

254 - 260 of 550 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

Close to train, easy access to everything!! Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast!! Two blocks from train. Hotel has in room safes, power hook ups for European,US and Japan. Very user friendly!! Free Internet

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I flew into Zurich airport on a Saturday morning and arrived at the hotel before noon. The staff was very friendly and let me check in to catch up some sleep. The room is very clean and my whole stay here is wonderful. The hotel is 5 minutes by walk from a major station called Oerlikin. There is a co-op supermarket across the street, selling things ranging from rotisserie chicken to sushi. With a five-minute walk, you can be in the Oerlikin station vicinity and eat at restaurants over there. A train ride to center city Zurich by tram (trolley) takes around 30 minutes from the station. There are also direct trains from this station to major locations such as Basle and Luzern. The Oerlikin station is only 20 minutes bus ride away costing around 6.x CHF. The hotel is in a very nice neighborhood. I walked around in the evening and found myself surrounded by some office/residential mix. There are also a few nice little parks near the hotel. I regret not finding them in the morning and visiting them. I enjoy this hotel a lot. The slightly remote location in my opinion is definitely a good tradeoff with the price they charge in center city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BHUANG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

One thing about my business trabel habits is that I like predictability. This Marriott Courtyard is clean, quiet and convenient. I like the fact it is 2-3 blocks from the Zurich - Oerlikon train station. When it is time to pack and leave for the airport in the morning, I'm at my own schedule and not of a hotel shuttle. You can also obtain your train transfer from the hotel front desk.

If you're not into a last night meal at the hotel restaurant, the Co-Op market is across the street. Pick up a couple of rolls and some freshly sliced deli meat, a bottle of wine and dessert to carry back to your room.

I've walked the neighborhood and you can find some smaller local establishments, should your curiousity lead you in that direction.

I thought my room was a little pricey compared to other airport location properties, but again, I prefer the predictability.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank agtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

A typical European Courtyard - clean - efficient - relatively affordable - good amenities
my only criticism is the steep fee for internet access - this should be waived like in the US.
the room was sized to US standard (roomy) and not Swiss (typically tiny). the hotel is located in the middle of a high tech industrial and also residential neighborhood marked by a very spartanic, rigid architecture (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Max_Bill).
The hotel is great if you need easy access to the University Irchel campus ( tram # 10) or the ETH Hoenggerberg campus ( take bus # 80 ; bus stop is in front of the door)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BruderLustig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

This is a good hotel! We were there 3 nights to explore Zurich and the surrounding area. The reception is friendly, the lobby is clean and attractive, the room was very quiet and comfortable and the location was good. It's a short walk to the Oerlikon train station, so you get get anywhere in Zurich, or Switzerland or Europe conveniently. It would be better located if it was closer to the old town or the lake front, but they are only a 10 minute train ride away. There is a good restaurant, although like everything in Zurich, it's very expensive. There is a small gym, but no pool. We were a little warm and even though we turned the t-stat down, we ended up opening the window. So we did hear some truck noises and voices early in the morning.

Room Tip: Get room on upper floor and facing courtyard for less outside noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paceslaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Having stayed at the Marriott Courtyard in north Zurich's Oerlikon area a number of times, I know the service I received is consistently the same level of excellence I have experienced at other Marriott properties. The breakfast buffet is as good as you'll find in most business hotels, maybe a little better due to the variety of offerings, whether you're looking for a quick continental breakfast or a more traditional hot breakfast. One caveat about the breakfast, there are scrambled eggs, great bacon and sliced ham, potatoes, etc. but not as much variety in terms of hot made to order breads such as waffles or pancakes. The variety of fruits, breads, muesli, cheeses and cold meats speaks to a more traditional Swiss breakfast cuisine. The rooms are clean and large enough for most business travelers. I can't speak about larger accommodations for families, as I have not seen the suites. I know there are adjoining room suites available, just haven't seen them. One thing I appreciated was the automated metal blinds on the windows. Under the light switch just inside the door, a switch raises or lowers these heavy metal blinds, allowing for quiet and complete darkness for someone needed to get some sleep during the day to get over some jet lag.

The wireless internet was as fast or faster than most I have used in hotels. The rooms all have mid-size LCD TV's with a table/desk arrangement typical for the Courtyard hotels. This includes a table you can pull out and an office type chair for adjustable comfort if you have to spend much time working in your room.

For those wanting to save some money on eating out, there are a couple of great grocery stores within easy walking distance. Exiting the hotel on the Binzmühlestrasse side, if you turn right and walk a couple of hundred meters along the street, you'll find an Aldi store on your right. Or if you walk out of the hotel (same side) and cross the Binzmühlestrasse, there is a large COOP store with everything you could need from a grocery, only in a more upscale facility with higher quality merchandise, and of course the requisite prices. If you want some of the great Burli rolls (you have to try this crispy, chewy, bread you generally can't find outside of Switzerland) you better get there in the morning. Once the bakery items put out fresh in the morning are gone, they are gone for the day.

The Oerlikon train station is just 5 minutes on foot from the hotel, one stop to the airport, and easy access to downtown Zurich as well. If you're not traveling on an expense account, this is an easy and inexpensive (relatively) option to get to and from the airport.

I find the staff to be friendly and eager to serve any reasonable request. We had a colleague retiring after 40 years of service with our company on this trip, and the hotel manager couldn't have been more helpful or accommodating to help us put together something special to celebrate her retirement.

You won't find cheap accommodations with this quality anywhere in Zurich. For the money, I would recommend this hotel for business travelers and vacationers alike.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street. In any case, there are heavy blinds that can be lowered (motori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Skykevver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#34 of 137 in Zurich
2,293 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#35 of 137 in Zurich
404 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 137 in Zurich
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
#69 of 137 in Zurich
500 reviews
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Coronado Hotel
#23 of 137 in Zurich
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Zurich North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Zurich North

Address: Max-Bill-Platz 19, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#33 Family Hotel in Zurich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#60 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $97 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Zurich North 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The international chain hotel Courtyard by Marriott Zurich North is conveniently located 10 minutes from Zurich Airport, 7 minutes from Zurich downtown and just a 3-minute walk from Zurich Oerlikon station. Many companies, Hallenstadion and the fairground are within walking distance. Whether you are traveling to Zurich on business or for leisure, the hotel offers the perfect accommodation with 152 spacious and comfortable hotel rooms and free Essential Internet to all of our guests. With 590 sqm of meeting- and conference space and the latest event-technology, the Zurich hotel provides ideal requirements for successful seminars, banquets, meetings and social events in Zurich. The business center and the fully equipped gym are at your disposal and the 24/7 Grab'n Go Market offers a variety of food and beverages. The BISTRO offers freshly made international and regional classics as well as delicious snacks and drinks and invites guests to meet and linger throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Zurich North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Zurich Nord Hotel
Courtyard Hotel zürich
Courtyard Hotel Zurich Nord
Courtyard Zurich
zürich Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing