We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good location near the airport - Nice and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Zurich North
Ranked #34 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Großraum Ulm
Level Contributor
203 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“good location near the airport - Nice and friendly staff”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

As we missed our flight to Miami :-( we had to search for a hotel near the airport Zurich on short notice. After several phone calls we decided to stay at the Courtyard by Marriott. Price was acceptable. Room was clean, big enough for 3 persons. As we told our story at the reception the lady in charge felt sorry for us and gave us a complimentary breakfast for the next morning. Thanks again! Recommendable hotel for departures / arrivals at Zurich airport

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Preischaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    246
    72
    11
    12
See reviews for
70
149
54
177
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Oriental, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned from a stay at this property and was very impressed. It is an easy train ride (maybe 10 minutes) from the airport. Get off at Oerliken and walk straight across to the hotel. One of our group got impatient and took a cab from the airport. $35 and we beat them.
This Courtyard is nicer than most. They have a nice restaraunt and bar. They have outdoor seating when the weather cooperates, which was a pleasant change of pace.
The morning breakfast buffet was very good. Nice suprise was the proseco station each morning. Nothing like getting the day going with a mimosa or two! They even go late (2pm) on the weekends, which was a big plus.
The location is more suited for the business crowd, but it still worked fine for us. There is a large grocery store literally across the street where you can stock your room. Huge beer and wine selection! We made some great sandwiches from the deli there for our train trips.
As mentioned, the train and tram stations are an easy 3 minute walk from the front door. The #11 tram goes right to the bahnhof, or you can take the local train non-stop on in. Very convenient.
There is not much around in terms of bars and restaraunts. There is one section of restaraunts about 6 blocks away with an excellent Italian place and a good steakhouse.
Our room was typical Marriott--which means very comfortable. You could be in the States.
The staff was, well, typically Marriott. Highly efficient and completely focused on customer service. I have stayed at all the Marriott properties in Zurich and I wish their US counterparts could visit and learn what truly good customer service is all about. These folks have it down to a science.
If you want to stay in Zurich proper, this is probably not the property for you. Otherwise, this place hit all the right marks with us and I look forward to staying with them again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCSTATEGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

the rooms comfortable. always good to have an iron and ironing board in a hotel used by business travelers, it gets tiring to constantly be steaming your shirts in the shower. service good. location ideal not far from airport and not far from train station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FraserCool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

The hotel was centrally located with easy access to all transportation.
We stayed here two nights. Once upon arrival and once before our departure.
Since we were hiking the hotel kept our business luggage stored in a locked storage room for four days at no extra charge. They even held and gave us the same room upon our return.
The staff spoke wonderful english and were extremely helpful with accessing and booking a few stages of our travel arrangements.
The rooms are a bit on the small side but that is typical in Europe.
It did take a few minutes to figure out that our room card had to be inserted into the slot by the inside of the door to power up anything in the room (I actaully love that the Swiss are so engery aware)...also took me a few minutes to get used to the hair dryer that required you to hold down on the button to use (another engery saver...though makes it a bit harder to dry and style at same time and I think the room next to me was probably tired of hearing the dryer cut on and off).
The refrig in the room never got beyond cool...but again what is considered "cold" by European standards is just luke warm to cool by Western stds.
The bed was very comfortable and was the only "king" bed during our stay that was one mattress (most King beds in Switzerand and France were comprised of two singles pushed together...which makes sleeping next to one another difficult ...if that is what you are used to).
We had drinks in the bar late one night on our return leg. The bar area was nice and the staff attentive. They also loned us a wine opener and wine glasses without fuss so we could enjoy a bottle of vino in our room before going out to dinner .
Breakfast buffett was very nice with a good selection of choices for differing palates.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButterBee29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed here in July 2012. We chose this hotel as it is very close to the Zurich Flughafen, (Airport). Get off the tram at Oerlikon Bahnhof stop. There was construction going on at the time we were there. This made it a bit tricky trying to find the hotel. I hope this helps. Walk straight out of the station and make a left around the construction barrier and walk to the corner. At the corner, there is a street sign. It actually has a sign pointing you in the direction of the hotel. It will be to your right. Although you are not far from the hotel, you will not be able to see it until you are close, (Max Bill Platz). The hotel staff can sell you tram tickets to Flughafen. The tram drops you off right at the airport. The staff were friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and modern. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LindaRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Husband & I stayed at this hotel for one night a while back for the convenience to the airport. The room was hot & stuffy when we arrived late in the afternoon(it was a warm day outside)-air conditioner was subpar & the room never cooled off. Needless to say, we spent a miserable, sweaty & sleepless night before having to fly out very early the next morning for a 10 hour flight. We stay at Marriott properties a lot(platinum members)and this hotel was a serious disappointment compared to most Marriotts we have stayed.. Hotel employees seemed apathetic and clueless. We ate at their restaurant(at the outdoor patio area as it was cooler outside at that point than in our room)and food was so-so.

Basically, when we are back in Zurich, will look at a different property for our stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stinkytoes10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albbruck, Germany
Level Contributor
179 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I'm frequently staying here alone, is a very good, little stylish and very efficient hotel with a very good bar and after work events that pull you out of your hotel room. Would not use it with my family since the appearance and surrounding is rather business like. No pool, no minibar but a kiosk at reception - efficient but not so nice.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Stoltinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Swissotel Zurich
#39 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,150 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#32 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Oerlikon
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
Holiday Inn Zurich Messe
#66 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Coronado Hotel
#28 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Mercure Stoller Zurich
#50 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Zurich North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Zurich North

Property: Courtyard Zurich North
Address: Max-Bill-Platz 19, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Oerlikon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#33 Family Hotel in Zurich
#38 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#60 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Zurich North 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The international chain hotel Courtyard by Marriott Zurich North is conveniently located 10 minutes from Zurich Airport, 7 minutes from Zurich downtown and just a 3-minute walk from Zurich Oerlikon station. Many companies, Hallenstadion and the fairground are within walking distance. Whether you are traveling to Zurich on business or for leisure, the hotel offers the perfect accommodation with 152 spacious and comfortable hotel rooms and free Essential Internet to all of our guests. With 590 sqm of meeting- and conference space and the latest event-technology, the Zurich hotel provides ideal requirements for successful seminars, banquets, meetings and social events in Zurich. The business center and the fully equipped gym are at your disposal and the 24/7 Grab'n Go Market offers a variety of food and beverages. The BISTRO offers freshly made international and regional classics as well as delicious snacks and drinks and invites guests to meet and linger throughout the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Courtyard Zurich North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Zurich Nord Hotel
Courtyard Hotel zürich
Courtyard Hotel Zurich Nord
Courtyard Zurich
zürich Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing