We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, poor location - not recommended”
Review of Regina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Regina
Ranked #132 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor location - not recommended”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

This hotel is not a three star hotel. Red light district, noisy surroundings, old rooms. We were going to a concert at the Letzigrund so decided to stay here. The beds were ok, the bathroom very old. The room got very stuffy over night so we had to open the window, but with the noise outside (three bars with noisy clientele till 3 am) very hard to sleep. Also lots of coming and going (red light distrcit personel?) The staff were helpful however.
Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ben N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    5
    13
    12
    13
See reviews for
5
9
12
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Good 3 night stay here in December. Not that busy due to time of year. Room i had on 4th floor was good with nice bathroom. Decent continetnal breakfast. Good value for money as far as Swiss prices go and yes, hotel is in small red light district of Zurich but it is not a bad area. I did notice prostitutes in and around the vicinity of the hotel but it shouldn't be a reason not to consider staying here. Lots of good bars on nearby streets and tram and bus links nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
München
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

The only reason to book here is the price:
- The hotel is in the red light district but very close to the city center
- Rooms are not very comfortable and old
- The bath room is not well maintained
- The breakfast is extremely poor

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mephisto07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

NYC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2010

To be fair the only reason I booked here is that I was travelling solo and was looking to save a few francs over the normal Zurich hotel rates. The Regina was 1/3rd of some of the other hotels in the Zurich area (Glockenhof, Schweizerhof etc).

But, you get what you pay for. The Regina is a hooker hotel, complete with a champagne bar on its main floor. The room, while amply large, was hot, smelly and noisy.

Overall not recommended unless you are on a seriously cheap budget or want to be in the Zurich red light district for some reason

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank IslandHopper888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

The hotel is in the middle of the red light district, and there area lot of shady characters around as well as next door dance bars, etc. The hotel itself is quite basic, but clean. The rooms have cheap bathroom and bedroom furnishings which are OK, but for the price I paid, I'd have hoped for a bit more. The staff were not very friendly. For instance, I returned from a business meeting very late and was charged 8.5 Francs (£6/€7) for a 250cl beer, which was an after midnight surcharge on the usual extortionate rate of 5 Franks. Then I noticed that the vending machine had 500cl cans at 5 Francs - so I paid the extra for the 10m walk the receptionist made from reception to bar, and, of course, he could have warned me, but preferred to let me pay the premium. Similarly, when I ordered food one night, it was brought in from a Chinese take away round the corner - fine, but was served in a matter of fact and unfriendly way. My company had paid for the 2 night stay in advance, but the receptionist queried this as he thought the hotel didn't accept telephone credit payments. Altogether not a great place to stay, even if you are travelling budget on business.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OxfordCommissioner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 17, 2009

This hotel is in the red light district but was very surprised at how clean and safe it was. The room, although basic, had an ensuite with shower. The bed was comfortable and more importantly clean. There are some funny characters around but I did not feel threatened at all. The breakfast was average but substantial. The room itself was quiet even though there is a strip club attached to it, you could not hear anything. There are some nice local bars and restaurants if you walk up to the main road. The Hotel Manager was very polite. It was definitely value for money and as a cheaper option i wouldn't mind staying here again for a couple of days.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katnag30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Frist, may I say once we got IN the room it appeared clean. It is next door to a strip club, in a very seedy and unsafe area of town. We felt we needed to be back to the hotel before dark to be safe. I was VERY uncomfortable as a woman there even the next morning at the continental breakfast....the male guests just made me uncomfortable. As a woman alone or with a family it would be Huge mistake to stay there. The breakfast wasn't all that good either. I felt very uncomfortable having my husband and son staying in that part of town. Very sad situation and would NOT recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — It's location next to a strip club in the
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Momincalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Rothaus
#122 of 138 in Zurich
165 reviews
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#113 of 138 in Zurich
411 reviews
Hotel City Zurich
#68 of 138 in Zurich
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Langstrasse
25hours Hotel Langstrasse
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#94 of 138 in Zurich
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regina

Property: Regina
Address: Hohlstrasse 18, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #132 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Hotel Class:3 star — Regina 3*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regina Hotel zürich
Hotel Regina Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing