We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but pathetic management”
Review of Olympia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olympia Hotel
Ranked #120 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Bhubaneswar
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Location but pathetic management”
Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed in this hotel on 1st December 2011. It a small hotel but very clean. Location is very good at a nearby tram station, so commuting to the town is very convenient. Tram no. 3 goes to main Zurich station and no. 2 to the city. but the management of hotel is disastrous. Soon after the check-in, I found the lift was not working. The receptionist ran up and down for 10 minutes and then simply put a "under reapair" board on the lift. The hotel perhaps on a skeleton staff, hence there was nobody to help me with my laugage to pull up to the 3rd floor. Once I opened the my room's door, to my utter dismay I found that the room was not done after a guest had left it. Again I had to call the staff and it was cleaned. Logistics are very badly managed. But I was solo and moved around the city to explore. Room was cosy but nothing to be expected from 90 CHF price that excludes breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prakdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    72
    71
    31
    9
See reviews for
34
64
28
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Siggiewi, Malta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

During a recent visit to Zurich (end of Sept 2011), I stayed at this hotel with my wife.

From the outside nothing to write home about. The facilities were basic but sufficient for the purpose of my visit. Hotel rooms were adequate and the bathrooms were excellent with the shower being of good size. Breakfast is continental and a decent variety was available.

Location is a few metres away from the tram stop for onward small journey to city centre.
Trams pass in front of hotel - thus hotel ideally located.

Staff are very friendly.

Overall great value. It did the job it was meant to.

Room Tip: a corner room and the higher the floor the better - less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlexAbela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel was not chosen by me, but by the event organisation. I afterwards learned that the room rate was only 100 CHF which is incredibly cheap for Switzerland.
The rooms were clean, but very small. The bathroom shower was composed of only the shower cubicle and a toilet at 5 cm from it. The wash bassin was inside the room itself.
The hotel is poorly insulated so you can hear everything your neighbour is doing as well as all noises from outside. The reception area smelled of beer.
Yes, it is cheap, but I recommend forking over a little bit more for a better quality.

Room Tip: Do NOT take a room at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garfbambvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Gaithersburg, MD
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I checked the reviews before booking, and got just what I expected - a good value on a good room. The hotel is located in an up-and-coming part of Zurich, just minutes from the main train station and S-Bahn stops via Zurich's wonderful tram system. I found it very easy to get to, even with a large suitcase and several other heavy bags.

The room was small but very efficiently laid out, in the typical Swiss style. I would compare it to a cabin on a cruise ship. Everything was very neat and clean and in good working order. WiFi access was available for a reasonable fee.

(Note: the hotel is not air conditioned, but the windows open. Can get a bit warm on the rare hot days/nights in Zurich, but it's not a big problem.)

I slept in and skipped the hotel's breakfast, and instead had breakfast at the Hardblad just up the street. Gabrielle (and her husband Vladimir) are wonderful hosts and trying to be one of the first in an area that is undergoing renewal, so I was glad to support their venture. Gabi made me a wonderful European style breakfast plate, and they have free Internet there.

All-in-all a great location, price and room!

Room Tip: If it's a hot day/night, ask that your room not be on the street side. It's on a busy street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K2sTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2011

Good location, 2 minutes walk from tram stop and 10 mins into the centre of Zurich.

A lot of refurbishment going on but rooms were adequate. New bathrooms, new TV's and clean. Carpets need bit of attention.

The tram runs past hotel at all hours - could bother some light sleepers. Overall a great value hotel in an expensive city otherwise.

Breakfast expensive so i didnt bother; much cheaper options in city centre.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank guitarlegend2302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

The hotel is in a good location not far from the tram with easy access to the main station (and airport) and also the centre. We had 2 x 2 bed rooms one with a balcony and 1 with kitchen facilities. The issue we had was the room with kitchen facilities (part of the reason we booked here) had no utensils, cutlery or crockery what so ever. We I asked reception about this I was told this was for safety reasons????? They did help by letting us use some from the main kitchen however (just a couple of pots to start with) when I went back to get some cutlery and plates I almost felt like I was stealing - the previous receptionist had left and obviously hadn't told the next of the situation. The rest of the stay was fine however.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azza11Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

In most respects this hotel was alright, although I felt a little mislead when I was booking it since people kept saying it was close to the city centre. In fact it's about a 30 minute walk or 12-15 minute tram ride away, which is considerable considering there are a bunch of hotels only slightly more expensive right in the centre near the old town and/or banhof.

I would recommend going to the centre of town and paying a little more. The convenience is worth it. (Although like other reviewers I stress that the neighborhood isn't horrible, it's just far. Staff are friendly, but rooms are very basic. We wanted a double bed room and got two twin beds and there was "nothing they could do about it")

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#112 of 139 in Zurich
404 reviews
St. Georges
#80 of 139 in Zurich
108 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#95 of 139 in Zurich
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Guest's House
#96 of 139 in Zurich
159 reviews
The Flag Zurich
#81 of 139 in Zurich
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olympia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olympia Hotel

Property: Olympia Hotel
Address: Badenerstrasse 324, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olympia Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Garni in central Location. Within easy and comfortable reach of both the airport and the railway Station, either by public or private Transport. Own parking and garage spaces. All rooms contains bathroom/wc or shower/wc, direct dial telephone, flat screen Sat TV, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Olympia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olympia Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing