We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice design hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Ranked #59 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very nice design hotel”
Reviewed September 11, 2010

The Sorell Hotel Zurichberg is at the outskirts of Zurich on Zurichberg. You have a wonderful view over the lake and Zurich. Getting to Bahnhofstrasse (downtown) takes about 30 minutes with the tram.
We stayed in the circular building which has an amazing design. The rooms are beautiful and the spiral walkway is just so cool.
The breakfast was really good. Everything you need is there.
I really recommend this hotel, if you want to stay in Zurich and want to have a nice hotel with a beautiful view.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xabbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    103
    40
    8
    7
See reviews for
44
91
20
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2010

I absolutely loved this hotel. It's simply beautiful - everything is designed to be simple, functional, and gorgeous. I had a corner room and it was quite large. The wood floors are stunning, open your windows to hear the birds singing, the evening turn-down service with chocolates is wonderful. I loved sleeping with the windows partly open, huge comfortable bed and the sounds of nature outside. I've reviewed a lot of hotels and this is probably my favorite! My rate included the breakfast buffet, and it was delicious and bountiful. I love the location - at the end of the tram line, right next to the woods. However, if you are staying to tour Zurich, this probably is not the best location since it is about a 20 minute tram ride into the city (and if it's raining, you've got to walk to the tram station down a hill about 5 minutes). The internet price is also completely ridiculous - worse than most. Other than that, I really loved this hotel and would love to go back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank everglades_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I really enjoy staying at this hotel. My client always books me here when I go to Zurich. It's a bit out of the city but if you get a room on the right side of the hotel you can enjoy a fantastic view from your window. Modern design meets Swiss Chalet in terms of decor.

The restaurant on the 1st floor is fantastic, the bar on the lobby level is funky and has a great vibe to it. Rooms are quiet and beds are pretty good. Overall I find it a wonderful place to stay.

I stayed at another Sorell in downtown Zurich and had a similar experience. Don't expect big, North American type rooms though.

Downside - Internet is not cheap.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JMfromTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This hotel has some futuristic design details that I really liked, such as a round house with a spiral incline connected to the main house by a neon light tunnel that’s covered by grass on the outside. It’s located in a forest just a short walk from the zoo, where you can observe the rare gelada baboon. Cool corrugated iron closet in the room and a rotating tower holding the mini bar and a coffee maker. The restaurant has decent food and a very good cheese selection for breakfast. The lamps are awesome and look like giant mauve magnifying glasses. The hotel has a knockout view down the hill and some wicked trees surrounding it.

The bathrooms look unfinished though. They’ve got this unique rectangular transparent plastic sink and then an old-fashioned shower in a bathtub with a loose shower head and a cloth shower curtain that will be soaking wet after showering. I had expected an amazing shower cabinet from a place like this!

They charge extra for Internet access (seriously, what luxury hotel skimps on Internet these days?!) and you have to log in and out each time you wanna use it. If you don’t, they keep billing you. It’s ungainly and a massive inconvenience if you’re trying to do business.

Friendliness isn’t their forte. Well, the young people are nice, but everyone over 40 is really jaded.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Elvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

The hotel is above Zurich and near the zoo, FIFA headquarters and the Dolder ice rink (biggest in Europe but seasonal.) The bar and restaurant are very comfortable - the children loved them. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The reception staff were very friendly. We enjoyed walking to the ice rink. Only complaint was that the bed was hard. Rooms very nice with good views. Chocolates at night. Easy transport into town. Cheaper by taxi if you have a family!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandyinhgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2010

We stayed at this hotel many times in the past 15 years and always enjoyed being out of the city, up on a hill. When the city is fogged in because of lake effects, the sun is shining at the Hotel Zurichberg. Breakfast is excellent here and never fails to please. We returned the last week of December 2008 to see the fireworks over the lake. The room assigned to us (my error) was too small for two, so we were put in a different room, but advised that we could stay in this room for two nights only and on the third night (New Year's Eve), we'd have to move to the new, modern, more $$ room because the other rooms were booked. We continued to check with the reception desk to be sure that we had to move and that other guests were arriving to occupy this room. We did move on New Year's Eve day and noticed during the next 24 hours that the lights never came on in the room we had vacated, nor did the curtains ever change their position. Fireworks were taking place, all the rooms were lit up save this one. We believe that the hotel made us move to another room because the room rate was higher and they were trying to rake in as much revenue as possible. We won't return as we were long-time guests and were treated like second-class citizens.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank diamondgirl2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

The hotel is located on the Zürichberg, overlooking the city of Zürich. We were there in summer, where you can also enjoy the very nice terrace and garden of the hotel, with the city to your feet.

Rooms are rather small but modern and in good shape. Each room features a Nespresso coffee maker. The hotel Restaurant has a very nice terrace, but the quality of the food was not living up to the standards of other Zurich Restaurants in this price range.

The hotel is a little bit off site, at the final stop of the tram way to the Zoo. However, public transport in Zurich is very good - the tram runs in approx. 17min to Zurich main railway station. It is an about 5 minutes foot walk from the tram station to the hotel.

For business trips this is probably not the best location. But for visiting Zurich, I think it is a great choice - especially in summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisHVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Steigenberger Bellerive au Lac
Sorell Hotel Rigiblick
#101 of 138 in Zurich
34 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#36 of 138 in Zurich
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sorell Hotel Seefeld
#64 of 138 in Zurich
255 reviews
The Dolder Grand
#7 of 138 in Zurich
1,032 reviews
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 138 in Zurich
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Zurichberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Zurichberg

Property: Sorell Hotel Zurichberg
Address: Orellistrasse 21, Zurich 8044, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Fluntern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Zurich
#41 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#44 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#48 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sorell Hotel Zurichberg 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design, peace, nature and still only 10 minutes from the vibrant city centre? Welcome to the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg, the architectural jewel high above the rooftops of Zurich. The view of Zurich city, the lake and the Alps is one-of-a-kind. The older art nouveau building and the modern, circular annex from the architects Burkhalter and Sumi offer several different room categories for every taste. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sorell Hotel Zurichberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing