We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (357)
Filter reviews
357 results
Traveler rating
165
122
50
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
122
50
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszurich zoointeresting layoutround buildingmarvelous breakfastlake viewnespresso machineorder eggsrubber duckdesk and chairswiss cheesesreach the city centerpublic transporttram ridenumber tramnice hotelbuffet stylemodern design
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 357 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2017 via mobile

We loved our stay here we have stayed in many hotels in Zurich but this was more relaxing. The hotel is situated about 15minutes by tram out of town. A great view of the city and lake.
The hotel is surrounded by woods with plenty of places to walk.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. It was a very warm few days though there was no air conditioning they gave us a large fan which worked adequately.
The breakfast was excellent as was the food in the restaurant, it was lovely to be able to sit outside with the lovely views.
Our room was spacious and best of all our dog was welcome everywhere in the hotel.
Would definitely return.

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Lorraine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Dear Lorraine W

Thank you very much for having taken time to comment about your stay at our hotel. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It makes us happy to read trough your compliment for this.
For the entire team it is very important that you and your dog feel comfortable in our hotel.
Once again thank you for your rating. We would be pleased to welcome you again during your next visit in Zürich.

Best regards
Marc Brunner
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017

As soon as we arrived at the bus stop we were faced with a beautiful view of fields, we took a short walk up the hill to the hotel and were faced with a breath-taking view of mountains and a huge lake. The hotel itself was beautiful and we couldn't wait to stay there. Staff were very friendly and helpful, our room was comfortable, modern and clean. The hotel restaurant and bar provide nice food ( a little expensive) but ok. I loved how we could sit outdoors and take in them beautiful, calm views. The location is fab, a little bit out of Zurich centre but easy to get to with tram and only a short walking distance to Zurich zoo.

Room Tip: Breathtaking View
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2017

Dear Eva T

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experience during your stay with us at our hotel. We are very pleased to hear that you found the staff in particular commendable.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotels.

Best regards,
Marc Brunner
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017

We stayed here in August for 3 days and can say that our exprience was amazing. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking views and the staff were incredible friendly and helpful. The hotel is a two mninute walk from the tram station which will take you into Zurich and a five minute walk to Zurich Zoo.

The hotel was incredibly clean and well maintained. If you like a full english breakfast you will be dissapointed and the restaurant is expensive however the food is incredible. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

We booked this hotel for 2 nights in Zurich, because, essentially, we we swept away by the view in the website photos. We were not disappointed! In fact, it turned out to be even better than expected.

The hotel is located on a hill outside the city centre. Normally such location could be a problem, but in this case there are regular trams ( N6 and N5) going to the centre, which are also a pleasant little trip through the hilly residential areas of Zurich. A walk to and from the tram is short, even with luggage, as the hill is not that steep.

Our room was not one with a view, which was fine, because you can enjoy the views from the communal terraces and from the breakfast room instead. ( and rooms overlooking the woods or the road are cheaper!)

Our room turned out to be really spacious, light, and stylishly decorated. The bathroom is also on the big side. There is a Nespresso coffee machine in the room and obviously a minibar. It is a very quiet place, even with all the windows open we were not disturbed by any noise.

Breakfast was a delight: breakfast room looks well posh and the choice in the buffet is amazing: you can try various Swiss cheeses, cold meats, little sides of vegetables, various yoghurts and jams...there were even capers to accompany smoked salmon! It is also possible to order eggs and bacon, so all options are covered. Breakfast is served from 6:30 which is a great advantage if you are an early bird.
Hotel reception staff were very friendly and the service was quick - for example, we had forgotten to ask for synthetic bedding when booking, so requested this upon arrival and they changed it very quickly while we were out walking around.

We particularly enjoyed having a drink on the terrace in the evening, with the city and the lake beneath, and the hills and mountains in the distance. The website photos don't lie - the views are indeed lovely!

Overall, this was a great experience and we sincerely recommend this hotel. It was not cheap ( nothing is Switzerland is), but compared to other Zurich hotels we were looking at, the cost of this one was very competitive for what you get!

Room Tip: There is no need to book a room with a view as you can enjoy the views from the communal terraces.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tatania77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Dear Tatania77

Thank you very much for having taken time to comment about your stay at Sorell Hotel Zürichberg. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our attractive breakfast buffet. To provide various, local and fresh food for breakfast is one of the most important aspects in Sorell Hotels Switzerland and it makes us happy to read trough your compliment for this.

For the entire team it is very important that you feel comfortable in our hotel and we are very sorry that your room had not been aired before your arrival. This is a very important feedback and for sure, we will have an eye on this in the future.

Once again thank you for your rating. We would be pleased to welcome you again during your next visit in Zürich.

Best regards
Marc Brunner
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Excellent location overlooking the Zurich lake. A bit far from the city center. But has good connectivity by Tram and it takes abut 15 minutes to reach the city center. Very quiet and beautiful rooms with nice views.

Hotel staff was good and ready to help.

The main hotel restaurant timing is different than what we see on the google. It closes about half an hour earlier than the timing that is seen on google. If the management can take care of this it will be great!!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank rrdamle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Dear rrdamle

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experience during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg. We are very pleased to hear that you found the hotel staff in particular commendable.
Thank you also for the hint regarding the opening hours on Google. we will take care of it.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotels.

Best regards,
Marc Brunner
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews