We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (360)
Filter reviews
360 results
Traveler rating
168
122
50
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
122
50
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zurich zoo interesting layout round building marvelous breakfast lake view nespresso machine order eggs rubber duck desk and chair swiss cheeses reach the city center public transport tram ride number tram nice hotel buffet style modern design
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 360 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017

We stayed here in August for 3 days and can say that our exprience was amazing. The hotel is surrounded by breathtaking views and the staff were incredible friendly and helpful. The hotel is a two mninute walk from the tram station which will take you into Zurich and a five minute walk to Zurich Zoo.

The hotel was incredibly clean and well maintained. If you like a full english breakfast you will be dissapointed and the restaurant is expensive however the food is incredible. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Tas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

We booked this hotel for 2 nights in Zurich, because, essentially, we we swept away by the view in the website photos. We were not disappointed! In fact, it turned out to be even better than expected.

The hotel is located on a hill outside the city centre. Normally such location could be a problem, but in this case there are regular trams ( N6 and N5) going to the centre, which are also a pleasant little trip through the hilly residential areas of Zurich. A walk to and from the tram is short, even with luggage, as the hill is not that steep.

Our room was not one with a view, which was fine, because you can enjoy the views from the communal terraces and from the breakfast room instead. ( and rooms overlooking the woods or the road are cheaper!)

Our room turned out to be really spacious, light, and stylishly decorated. The bathroom is also on the big side. There is a Nespresso coffee machine in the room and obviously a minibar. It is a very quiet place, even with all the windows open we were not disturbed by any noise.

Breakfast was a delight: breakfast room looks well posh and the choice in the buffet is amazing: you can try various Swiss cheeses, cold meats, little sides of vegetables, various yoghurts and jams...there were even capers to accompany smoked salmon! It is also possible to order eggs and bacon, so all options are covered. Breakfast is served from 6:30 which is a great advantage if you are an early bird.
Hotel reception staff were very friendly and the service was quick - for example, we had forgotten to ask for synthetic bedding when booking, so requested this upon arrival and they changed it very quickly while we were out walking around.

We particularly enjoyed having a drink on the terrace in the evening, with the city and the lake beneath, and the hills and mountains in the distance. The website photos don't lie - the views are indeed lovely!

Overall, this was a great experience and we sincerely recommend this hotel. It was not cheap ( nothing is Switzerland is), but compared to other Zurich hotels we were looking at, the cost of this one was very competitive for what you get!

Room Tip: There is no need to book a room with a view as you can enjoy the views from the communal terraces.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tatania77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Geschäftsführer at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Dear Tatania77

Thank you very much for having taken time to comment about your stay at Sorell Hotel Zürichberg. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with our attractive breakfast buffet. To provide various, local and fresh food for breakfast is one of the most important aspects in Sorell Hotels Switzerland and it makes us happy to read trough your compliment for this.

For the entire team it is very important that you feel comfortable in our hotel and we are very sorry that your room had not been aired before your arrival. This is a very important feedback and for sure, we will have an eye on this in the future.

Once again thank you for your rating. We would be pleased to welcome you again during your next visit in Zürich.

Best regards
Marc Brunner
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Excellent location overlooking the Zurich lake. A bit far from the city center. But has good connectivity by Tram and it takes abut 15 minutes to reach the city center. Very quiet and beautiful rooms with nice views.

Hotel staff was good and ready to help.

The main hotel restaurant timing is different than what we see on the google. It closes about half an hour earlier than the timing that is seen on google. If the management can take care of this it will be great!!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank rrdamle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Dear rrdamle

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experience during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg. We are very pleased to hear that you found the hotel staff in particular commendable.
Thank you also for the hint regarding the opening hours on Google. we will take care of it.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotels.

Best regards,
Marc Brunner
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We were very disappointed in this hotel. Staff seemed annoyed at our questions. The room was extremely overpriced for the size and quality. No ambience whatsoever. It was our least favorite hotel in Switzerland. There was thick dust under the bed. Very hot and difficult to sleep. The best part of the hotel was the sweet orange male cat that lives there and is well taken care of. The view is also nice. But it's far from the city so you have to take a tram into town that isn't cheap.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new building. Very odd round arrangement.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 243kittymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear 243kittymom

Thank you for your honest accounts of your stay in our hotel. It is truly regrettable to hear that we were not able to reach your expectations. I agree, that the dust under the bed is a no go. Since our main hotel building is monument protected, we cannot build air-condition in the rooms. However, we provide fans.
We strive and do everything in our power to constantly improve our services, our kindness and our infrastructure. By sending us your feedback, you have helped us identify room for further improvement on our part.

To recompense you for your negative experience, we would like to provide with the best and most personalised hospitality during your next stay. I would be grateful if you could contact me personally with this in mind.

It would mean the world to us if we could welcome you once more at the Sorell Hotels and we'll show you that we can do better. I’m sure Malibu, our mentioned male cat, would be thrilled to see you again.

Best regards,
Marc Brunner, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017

This hotel is on a hilltop at the end of the tram line. That makes it easy to get to if you do not have a car. Just take the number 6 tram in the direction of the zoo. The front desk can sell you tram day passes. The views are unparalleled any time of the day. The restaurant has great food. The included breakfast is great and has fresh fruit, yougurt, cheese, bread etc. The grounds are well maintained and the surrounding area is great for hikes. The layout is interesting. Especially the new spiral area. The only downside is the lack of air conditioning in the summer, but the rooms have these great shades that can protect from the sun. Make sure to request a fan as soon as you check in. They sometimes run out.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 864dearraed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear 875raedd

Thank you for your encouraging review and for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg and that everything, specially the Sorell breakfast you experienced our hotel, was commendable. Thanks to our employees, we manage to surprise and delight our guests every day - that is our passion.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sorell Hotels.

Best regards,
Marc Brunner
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews