We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (363)
Filter reviews
363 results
Traveler rating
169
123
51
10
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
123
51
10
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zurich zoo interesting layout round building marvelous breakfast lake view nespresso machine order eggs rubber duck desk and chair swiss cheeses reach the city center public transport tram ride number tram nice hotel buffet style modern design
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 363 reviews
Reviewed August 2, 2017

Excellent location overlooking the Zurich lake. A bit far from the city center. But has good connectivity by Tram and it takes abut 15 minutes to reach the city center. Very quiet and beautiful rooms with nice views.

Hotel staff was good and ready to help.

The main hotel restaurant timing is different than what we see on the google. It closes about half an hour earlier than the timing that is seen on google. If the management can take care of this it will be great!!

Stayed: July 2017
Thank rrdamle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2017

Dear rrdamle

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experience during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg. We are very pleased to hear that you found the hotel staff in particular commendable.
Thank you also for the hint regarding the opening hours on Google. we will take care of it.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotels.

Best regards,
Marc Brunner
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

We were very disappointed in this hotel. Staff seemed annoyed at our questions. The room was extremely overpriced for the size and quality. No ambience whatsoever. It was our least favorite hotel in Switzerland. There was thick dust under the bed. Very hot and difficult to sleep. The best part of the hotel was the sweet orange male cat that lives there and is well taken care of. The view is also nice. But it's far from the city so you have to take a tram into town that isn't cheap.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new building. Very odd round arrangement.
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 243kittymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marc B, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear 243kittymom

Thank you for your honest accounts of your stay in our hotel. It is truly regrettable to hear that we were not able to reach your expectations. I agree, that the dust under the bed is a no go. Since our main hotel building is monument protected, we cannot build air-condition in the rooms. However, we provide fans.
We strive and do everything in our power to constantly improve our services, our kindness and our infrastructure. By sending us your feedback, you have helped us identify room for further improvement on our part.

To recompense you for your negative experience, we would like to provide with the best and most personalised hospitality during your next stay. I would be grateful if you could contact me personally with this in mind.

It would mean the world to us if we could welcome you once more at the Sorell Hotels and we'll show you that we can do better. I’m sure Malibu, our mentioned male cat, would be thrilled to see you again.

Best regards,
Marc Brunner, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017

This hotel is on a hilltop at the end of the tram line. That makes it easy to get to if you do not have a car. Just take the number 6 tram in the direction of the zoo. The front desk can sell you tram day passes. The views are unparalleled any time of the day. The restaurant has great food. The included breakfast is great and has fresh fruit, yougurt, cheese, bread etc. The grounds are well maintained and the surrounding area is great for hikes. The layout is interesting. Especially the new spiral area. The only downside is the lack of air conditioning in the summer, but the rooms have these great shades that can protect from the sun. Make sure to request a fan as soon as you check in. They sometimes run out.

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 864dearraed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2017

Dear 875raedd

Thank you for your encouraging review and for having taken the time to share your positive experience with us.
We are very pleased to hear that you felt at home during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg and that everything, specially the Sorell breakfast you experienced our hotel, was commendable. Thanks to our employees, we manage to surprise and delight our guests every day - that is our passion.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Sorell Hotels.

Best regards,
Marc Brunner
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2017

Within short walk from public transport, which takes you into the city in minutes.
Great breakfast buffet, beautiful terrace with splendid view.
The rooms are renovated, modern furniture, clean, very good service, with a fruit plate and mineral water supplied.
Slight downside was that my room faced the back (facing the hotel entrance and forest), without a/c and felt a quite warm. When sleeping with open windows there was a quite a bit of noise from cars arriving and leaving through at night and early morning. Still, I would come back in future, will opt to pay more for a better room.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank LadyA_9228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorell_Hotels, Manager at Sorell Hotel Zurichberg, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Dear LadyA_9228

Thank you for having taken the time to share your positive experience during your stay with us at the Sorell Hotel Zürichberg. We are very pleased to hear that you were satisfied with us, specially our services and our location.
To be sure you have booked a room facing the lake, please contact us next time directly.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at the Sorell Hotels.

Best regards,
Marc Brunner, Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2017

My third stay here & happy to be back. It continues to be a lovely place for a peaceful getaway. We did some walks in the woods, used the local transport & visited the zoo. Breakfast spread was nice & dinner was excellent too.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FaisalShb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews