We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent staff & tasty dinner.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Ranked #13 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 21, 2014

We arrived at the hotel on Sunday noon.
We asked Zurich operahouse box office opening hour. Reception staff called to there quickly , only 30 second after , he explained us" Now open ~ " Next morning, We would like to buy one organic shampoo . He taught us near pharmacies route, add this store had that companies goods. Have a good memory ! We could buy them soon.
We ate at dinner Opera restaurant, Hot stone ,dessert sorbets Mango both of them were very good.
We have a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Riyu18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, Geschäftsführer at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear “Riyu18”.

Thank you for your comment. Great to hear that you appreciated our helpful reception staff and that you enjoyed your Hot Stone dinner with dessert at our Restaurant Opera,

It would be a pleasure to welcome you soon back with us.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

231 - 237 of 474 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed 6 nights at the end of our Switzerland tour. What a great way to finish a fabulous holiday.
The staff could not have been more helpful. From the lovely front office staf, to all in the restaurant. Special compliments to Maurizio who looked after us for dinner, and to Martin the hotel manager for greeting us every day for breakfast.
A truly friendly oasis in Zurich.
The rooms were very comfortable, the double doors making the envirenoment quiet at night to sleep.
Only comment would be that for that price we would expect breakfast to be included. And for someone staying a week, the cost of laundry is prohibitive. But as Martin explained there are reasons why this is the case.
But happy to highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear “Paul R”.

Wow, many thanks for this amazing comment! With pleasure we forwarded your compliments to our employees, especially to Maurizio and Martin. Moreover, we are delighted that you were satisfied with the room and double doors.

Concerning your comment about the breakfast: Our guests may choose between our Swiss “Z’Morgen” buffet, à la carte or our Express Day Starter with a coffee, orange juice and croissant. As every guest has different wishes we do not include breakfast in our regular rates, but do offer packages including breakfast. Please ask at our reception for further information.

We are looking forward to your next visit!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2014

The hotel staff goes out of their way to provide excellent service. In any nice hotel, it is the little things that count like the staff smiling and calling you by name. Rooms are a bit small but elegant and clean. There is a wonderful patio and the property is only a couple minutes from the lake. Also, the Stadelhofen train station is less than 5 minutes away.

If you stay on Friday during the summer, there is often a rooftop wine reception for regular guests and it is very enjoyable. Like most things in Zurich, it is not cheap but in this case, you get good value for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear “Derek J”.

Thank you very much for the top score you gave us! It is a great pleasure to read that you were satisfied with the service our employees provided during your stay. We gladly forwarded your compliments to them. Moreover we are delighted that you appreciated our location close to the lake and the Stadelhofen train station.

Our Friday Manager Cocktails on our roof top terrace take place every Friday evening at nice weather conditions and all our guests are invited to.

It would be great to welcome you soon back with us!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

On a Vermont Bicycle Tour extension, 11 of us stayed at this hotel. Upon arrival we were met and greeted by the general manager. He introduced our city guide and invited us to a wine tasting at 1700 on the roof top. We anticipated a sales pitch for the small, luxury chain, but instead we were just treated grandly at the tasting and during our entire stay. Breakfast was excellent, too. We had a large room and a view of the opera house across the street.

Room Tip: If room does not have a safe, leave valuables at desk safe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 93MartinG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

Dear “Martin G”.

Many thanks for your time to post this nice comment about our Hotel Ambassador and giving us a top rating! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your VBT tour extension at our hotel and in Zurich and that you liked the Swiss wine degustation on our roof top terrace. (The cocktail takes place every Friday evening and all of our guests are invited to try the Swiss wines and have a toast with the management to the upcoming weekend). It is also great to hear that you enjoyed your room, the location, the staff and our Swiss Z’Morgen buffet breakfast. It would be our pleasure to welcome you once back with us!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2014

This is a nice classic hotel. Rooms seem a bit small, but very classy. The way a five star should be. I only stayed for a short night, but all was fine. The staff at reception is very friendly. The hotel is located a 5 minute walk from the lake. If you can spare 300+ euros for a single room, it comes recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank beograd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear “beograd72”.

Thank you for your feedback and the top score! Great to hear, that you were satisfied with the room, our location and our friendly employees.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you soon back with us!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Ambassador May 29-May 31st. The stay was wonderful.

The room was clean and very nicely decorated. The location is perfect for strolling the city. And, the beds are adjustable - which was simply fun. The staff was great - they engaged us every time we walked through the lobby - always asking if we needed anything and offering great pointers for the city. There was always bottled water available in the lobby.

On Friday night, they had a wine tasting and we met some wonderful people from around the world as we sipped on great wine and ate tasty appetizers.

The only issue (minor) was that it was hard to get the room as cool as we would have liked (as are most hotels in Europe). It was a little hot in the room.

I would stay here again - it was a perfect place to end our vacation!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Myra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2014

Dear “MyraVergani”.

Wow, many thanks for the 5 star rating! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked the room, the adjustable beds and our location. Furthermore, it is a pleasure to read that you appreciated our employees and the wine tasting on our roof top terrace.
Concerning your comment about the air conditioning: we are not aloud to cool the room below 20 C by legal obligation.

We are looking forward to your next visit.

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2014

My recent stay at Hotel Opera/Ambassador has been as enjoyable as that from four years ago. This hotel is conveniently located near Lake Zurich and within walking distance from the city center. The room is clean and staffs are all very friendly and courteous. The TRAM station is right at the corner, which can take you just about everywhere in and near Zurich. It's a hotel I would definitely go back to visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PTTWCHEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rudolf_Zehnder, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2014

Dear “PTTWCHEN”.

Thank you for the top score you gave us! It was a pleasure to welcome you again in our Hotel. Great to hear that you appreciated our location, our friendly employees and the clean room.

We would be delighted to welcome you once back with us!

Rudolf E. Zehnder / General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#14 of 138 in Zurich
409 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#3 of 138 in Zurich
825 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Enge
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
B2 Boutique Hotel + Spa
#6 of 138 in Zurich
850 reviews
Swissotel Zurich
#35 of 138 in Zurich
2,304 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera

Address: Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#17 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $205 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location in the heart of Zurich, the Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a L'Opera situated ideally on Lake Zurich has charmed guests for many years. The old town, the world-famous Bahnhofstrasse, the renowned Opera House, and the train station Stadelhofen with direct Airport link within 16 minutes are all just a few steps away. The privately owned boutique hotel in Zurich's Seefeld district is part of the former Uto Castle, which was built in 1898 in the neo-baroque style, and its unique roof terrace "THE VIEW" offers guests an exclusive retreat with breathtaking views of the Alps and Lake Zurich. The 45 comfortable and very individual hotel rooms, with complimentary WiFi and many other high-quality amenities, make for a memorable and eventful stay in Zurich. The electronically adjustable beds in all the rooms round off the hotel's offering and guarantee guests optimum relaxation coupled with a luxurious and restful night's sleep. The Restaurant Opera is a true haven of culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing