We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Ranked #13 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Oakville, ON
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked this hotel after searching through trip advisor for a hotel to book just for our first night stay of our driving trip through Switzerland and France. We weren't disappointed. We arrived into Zurich at 7am after an overnight flight from Canada. We were at the hotel by 9am. We had only to wait about 30 minutes for our room, during which tine we just sat in the small lobby lounge area and enjoyed a cappucino.
The room was lovely with a small balcony which overlooked the street and the outside area of the hotel's restaurant, where we enjoyed a glass of wine later in the day after walking around Zurich, exploring.
The location of the hotel is great for getting to the Old Town and a good shopping area.
Our car was valet parked for us. We had free wifi. And the staff were lovely and friendly and very helpful with telling us where to visit and what to see.
I would definitely stay here again should we ever be back in Zurich.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnglishinCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking your time to write this kind comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with your room and our location. Furthermore we are delighted that you appreciated our friendly and helpful employees as well as the valet parking and free wifi.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you once back with us in Zurich!

Kind regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    265
    131
    25
    7
    4
See reviews for
61
149
48
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The staff was always there to help, my room was clean, I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and I will come. This Hotel offer good service for your money, you can walk along thee lake to reach the great shopping street, in walking distance to the train station, and great restaurants.
Tony Waldron

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonywaldron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our helpful employees and that you appreciated our location next to the lake, train station and restaurants.

We are already looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is very well located in Zurich, near Stadelhofen station (15 minutes from the Airport), near the Lake and just behind the Opera.

It's perfect for lone travelers in a business trip with a small, but very nice single room, equiped with internet access and tv with more than the required number of channels. The breakfast is well served and everything is clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoFMoita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
We would like to thank you for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador à l’Opéra. It was a pleasure to read that you appreciated our location and that you were satisfied with the single room with all its facilities.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us in Zurich.

Kind regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently for one night passing through Switzerland on our way to Italy. This is a very comfortable hotel that is tasteful and elegant. Our rooms were very clean, bathrooms beautifully renovated and the electric beds with pillow menu were a unique touch, as was the apple story and fresh apples provided in our rooms.
Unfortunately it was a Sunday and a very cold Spring day in Zurich, so there was not a lot open and we did not venture too far. We ended up spending the afternoon drinking wine and having something to eat in the foyer/lounge area, which was very cosy. The restaurant seemed a bit too formal for dinner. This was perfect and the food was great and the staff very professional. The staff on reception were very friendly, helpful and also very professional. We enjoyed this hotel very much. Must say, though, that Zurich is an expensive city to visit!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jcjojozep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Many thanks for this kind comment about our Hotel Ambassador Zurich. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the rooms with its electric adjustable beds and the pillow menu. Furthermore it was a pleasure to read that you were satisfied with our friendly and helpful employees.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us!

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

My husband and I traveled through Europe on our Honeymoon and Zurich was our last (and favorite stop). The Hotel Ambassador had quite a bit to do with this. The location was great, the staff was friendly and very eager to help, and once they found out it was our Honeymoon, they filled the room with rose petals. As a visitor to Zurich, we were treated to some of their specialties for free, including chocolate, spring water and green apples. The room was very large and we didn't hear a peep from the neighbors.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarabethG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Many thanks for this kind comment about our Hotel Ambassador. We are pleased that Zurich was your favorite stop during your journey through Europe and that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us!

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Two blocks off the Stadelhoffen train station, a short train stop from the airport or central rail station. Close to the Lake, and Bellevue tram station. Easy to access the city from these two places, busy during the day, but no street noise at the night. This is a very delightful hotel, charming in every sense of the word. The opera theme gives the place real character. Quaint in feel, but spacious rooms and bathrooms, and all the hotel amenities you need as a traveler. The service by the hotel and restaurant staff was excellent, helpful and cheerful. The restaurant is great, and there are many other bars and cafes within walking distance.

I highly recommend this for an intimate romantic hotel, or a family traveling in Zurich. You won't be disappointed. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chuck T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Many thanks for this kind comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a pleasure for us to read that you would definitely come back and that you were satisfied with our location and the hotel amenities. Furthermore, we are delighted that you appreciated the service from our hotel and restaurant staff.

It would be our great pleasure to welcome you once back with us!

Kind regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Spent quite a bit of time trying to find a hotel in Zurich that wasn't recently renovated (read stripped of character) in an affordable price range. Although this hotel certainly is not inexpensive, we were very happy with our choice. All in all a lovely hotel, good taste evident. Attention to detail throughout. Great sheets, umbrellas available, in-room coffee maker etc. Perfectly located. Slight street noise possible if window is open.Would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Only know one room, was lovely. Slight street noise, not a problem though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliealexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. We are pleased that you were satisfied with our location and the in-room coffee machine and that you appreciated the attention to detail throughout our Hotel.

It would be great to welcome you once back with us!

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#17 of 139 in Zurich
371 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#11 of 139 in Zurich
860 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 139 in Zurich
777 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#18 of 139 in Zurich
775 reviews
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 139 in Zurich
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Address: Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#17 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location in the heart of Zurich, the Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a L'Opera situated ideally on Lake Zurich has charmed guests for many years. The old town, the world-famous Bahnhofstrasse, the renowned Opera House, and the train station Stadelhofen with direct Airport link within 16 minutes are all just a few steps away. The privately owned boutique hotel in Zurich's Seefeld district is part of the former Uto Castle, which was built in 1898 in the neo-baroque style, and its unique roof terrace "THE VIEW" offers guests an exclusive retreat with breathtaking views of the Alps and Lake Zurich. The 45 comfortable and very individual hotel rooms, with complimentary WiFi and many other high-quality amenities, make for a memorable and eventful stay in Zurich. The electronically adjustable beds in all the rooms round off the hotel's offering and guarantee guests optimum relaxation coupled with a luxurious and restful night's sleep. The Restaurant Opera is a true haven of culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing