We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Ranked #14 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Location and Service”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I along with our 16 year old daughter stayed at the Hotel Ambassador in June. It was our last stop after a lovely trip through Italy and Switzerland. We only had two nights, and the Hotel Ambassador was a perfect choice for us. We were greeted by extremely friendly front desk staff, who offered to help with directions and any number of things during our stay. In fact I had emailed with questions and requests several times prior to arrival, and the responses were always prompt and friendly.

The room was quite large relative to European standards, and it was very clean and comfortable. It had a teeny patio and a view toward the water. We liked that it was convenient for walking to stores, sites and restaurants. We didn't visit the Opera, but it would be a perfect location if that was on your list. It is not inexpensive, but relative to other choices we explored, this hotel was a very good value for its quality, location and service.

While in town, we arranged a two hour private tour through the Zurich Tourism Office and it was well worth it. Our guide took us all around and provided the history on buildings and the city. Its a great option to see and learn a lot when your time is limited.

When in Zurich, you have to go to a Sprungli chocolate store and try a variety of their Luxemburgerli. They are hard to describe in words...but just google a picture and you'll see that they are little hamburger shaped confections in a wide range of flavors. Absolutely delicious!!

We also had a wonderful traditional meal at a restaurant called Zum Kropf. It is a very historical building with just lovely detailed woodworking and paneling throughout. It also isn't inexpensive -- but nothing in Zurich is!

We would definitely stay at the Hotel Ambassador again and would highly recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Many thanks for taking your time to write this comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your 2-night-stay with us and that you appreciated our friendly and helpful front desk staff. Furthermore, we are delighted that you enjoyed the clean and comfortable room and our location close to stores, sites and restaurants. Moreover we would like to thank you for your comment that our hotel is “a very good value for its quality, location and service”.

It would be great to welcome you soon back in our Hotel Ambassador.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    126
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
60
137
47
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

A small hotel with a great staff. It has a personality that makes staying there a pleasure. The breakfast was excellent as were both lunches we ate there. Absolutely everyone on the Staff that we came in contact with made you feel welcome. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Many thanks for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the breakfast and lunch in our Restaurant Opera. Furthermore, it was a great pleasure to read that our employees made you feel welcome.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon back in our Hotel Ambassador.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in the center of Zurich close to the old town. The staff were helpful and friendly. Our room was a good size with a small balcony and views over the town and river. The bed was awesome as was the the choice of pillows you could select from. I think it could use some upgrade to the decor, Compared to some other Swiss hotels it was reasonably priced and I would recommend it as a good base in Zurich.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MariaVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It was great to hear that you appreciated our helpful and friendly staff. Furthermore, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in our room with balcony and view over the town and river. Thank you also for your comment that you liked our “pillow menu” where you could select from different pillow types.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We were very happy with this hotel, until we discovered their dishonesty. We had prepaid our room some months ago. Understandably, they withheld 200 francs to cover incidentals. We paid for these, but the hotel has refused to repay the 200 francs, when they had promised to do so We feel this is despicable. Be careful when dealing with these people.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelAmbassadorOpera, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We were happy to receive your answer that the blocked amount has finally been released in the meantime on your account.

Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience you had regarding the reservation of CHF 200.00 we made on your credit card to cover on spot expenses. We just would like to clarify the matter: We reserved CHF 200.00 as a security deposit on your credit card at your arrival. At departure day we released the reservation at the credit card company. After that it is unfortunately not in our hands how long it will take the credit card company and your bank to release the blocked money on the credit card. We called the institute several times but they informed us that it can take up to 14 days until blocked money will be released.

We sincerely would like to apologize for all inconveniences and disappointments you had after your stay with us.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel Ambassador.

Best regards from Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Came here for business and over the weekend and had a lovely stay. The staff was exceptionally friendly and I thought the Friday evening wine on the roof terrace was a lovely touch. I was on my own so got to meet other guests and chat to the staff who were very informative. Room was very comfortable and the breakfast service and selection excellent. Very good location, with hardly any noise outside, even though I was there whilst Street Parade took place, I did not get disturbed. Very good hotel and hope to have to go back again to Zurich and stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sooze29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice comment about our Hotel Ambassador. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you appreciated the Manager Cocktail taking place on our roof top terrace. We were also happy to read that you were pleased with your room, breakfast service and the location of our hotel.
It would be great to welcome you once again in the Ambassador.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Wow! what a great time our family of 5 had. We are from America and live in Dubai. On our return to Dubai this year, we decided to have a multi day layover in Zurich, as none of us had been to Switzerland before. We chose to use this hotel as our base in Zurich, to bookend a few days in the alps.
Found the hotel through booking.com (one of the few websites that lets you book a family of 5). I arrived the day before the wife and kids, and found the staff incredibly helpful and enthusiastic. We were booked into adjoining double and a triple rooms with a balcony 100 yards from the lake and 100 yards from the tram stop. The staff managed our luggage for us (as i said, this was the end of a summer vacation, so many full bags), and coached me on the finer points of the Swiss transportation system. The accomodation was spacious, beds comfortable, etc. Etc. Our teenager, tweenager and 10 year old had plenty of space in their room, while my wife and I got to enjoy a little piec and quiet. Dinner at the restaurant was wonderful with many regional wines to choose. breakfast buffet was great as well.
Best thing was that they held the majority of our luggage for us as we Swissrailed to zermatt and tthe Matterhorn for a few days.
Upon return from Zermatt, our rooms and luggage were waiting. The staff also went the extra mile to book transport and ensure a smooth trip back to the airport for us all.
The service... For business i Routinely stay at Ritz Carlton, 4 Seasons, Intercontinental, Swisshotel, Hilton, Hyatt, and JW
Marriott. The issue with a smaller boutique hotel is that the service can be hit and miss.
I must say that the dedication, competency, courtesy, friendliness of the staff at the Hotel Ambassador rivals any of the above mentioned hotels, and they have a genuine personal touch that is unmatched by large chains.
Again, highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Thebucksters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, Geschäftsführer at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Wow! Thank you for this great comment. I am very much impressed that you experienced that our service is better than in many 5star hotels and I am extremely proud of our employees.

Many thanks for your time to share your experience on trip advisor with other guests and we all truly hope to welcome you and your family soon back with us.

Best regards Rudolf Zehnder / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, we have arrived earlier than check in time, without letting them know in advance, but we were accommodated immediately. Efficient staff and beautiful environment made us feel very welcome. Room was spacious and clean with great interior. Beds were awesome! super comfy! Lake was only few minutes away, great location, close to all good shops..
We very pleased with this stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daila1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your really nice comment and reviewing us with the highest rating! We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the early check in and that you felt very welcomed by our employees and the whole enviroment. Thank you also for mentioning our location in the city centre and the specious rooms which all have beds that are equipped with high quality Treca mattresses. We are so happy to read that you were very pleased with your stay and hope we can welcome you soon back in our Hotel Ambassador!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
Opera Hotel
#41 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Address: Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#14 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#17 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location in the heart of Zurich, the Hotel Ambassador a L'Opera situated ideally on Lake Zurich has charmed guests for many years. The old town, the world-famous Bahnhofstrasse, the renowned Opera House, and the train station Stadelhofen with direct Airport link within 16 minutes are all just a few steps away. The privately owned boutique hotel in Zurich's Seefeld district is part of the former Uto Castle, which was built in 1898 in the neo-baroque style, and its unique roof terrace offers guests an exclusive retreat with breathtaking views of the Alps and Lake Zurich. The 45 comfortable and very individual hotel rooms, with complimentary WiFi and many other high-quality amenities, make for a memorable and eventful stay in Zurich. The electronically adjustable beds in all the rooms round off the hotel's offering and guarantee guests optimum relaxation coupled with a luxurious and restful night's sleep. The gourmet Restaurant Opera - winner of various awards - is a true haven of culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing