We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Nearby Hotels
$565
$530
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$297
$240
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$298
$253
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$430
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
$238
$197
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$855
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$321
$203
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$335
$322
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$156
$146
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
$282
$251
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (536)
Filter reviews
536 results
Traveler rating
339
152
33
7
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
339
152
33
7
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely hotelold townpillow menustadelhofen stationsmall balconywelcome drinkrooftop terracethe hotel is perfectly locatedgreat boutiquenespresso coffee machineexcellent locationwould definitely stay here againwithin walking distancetravel agentdesk staffperfect staynice bathroom
Filter
Updating list...
334 - 339 of 536 reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay at this hotel, we have arrived earlier than check in time, without letting them know in advance, but we were accommodated immediately. Efficient staff and beautiful environment made us feel very welcome. Room was spacious and clean with great interior. Beds were awesome! super comfy! Lake was only few minutes away, great location, close to all good shops..
We very pleased with this stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daila1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your really nice comment and reviewing us with the highest rating! We are delighted to hear that you appreciated the early check in and that you felt very welcomed by our employees and the whole enviroment. Thank you also for mentioning our location in the city centre and the specious rooms which all have beds that are equipped with high quality Treca mattresses. We are so happy to read that you were very pleased with your stay and hope we can welcome you soon back in our Hotel Ambassador!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

A great location opposite the Opera House and a short walk to the old town, main line station (with connections to the airport) and the lake. A nice balance is struck between character and modern convenience. The rooms are quite spacious with high ceilings, beds are comfortable, and bathrooms well appointed. Rooms can be connected for families. The staff are welcoming and ready to assist. Nice touches include water, towels and maps offered in Reception for morning joggers. The breakfast room is a pleasant way to start the day with either a quick pastry and coffee for a modest price or a more substantial buffet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mossy7204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Thank you very much for your nice and detailled comment about our Hotel Ambassador. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with our location in the city centre and right by the train station Stadelhofen which has a direct link to the airport in 16 minutes. We were also happy to read that you appreciated the spacious room and that you liked the beds which are all equipped with high quality Treca mattresses and are electrically adjustable. Thank you for mentioning the choices of breakfast, besides the Express Day Starter for CHF 8.50 and the Swiss Buffet Breakfast we also offer a la carte breakfast. Since our hotel is by the lake a beautiful way to start your day is to go for a run along the lake side promenade. We would be delighted to welcome you once back in our Hotel Ambassador.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great hotel, very good location, helpful staff. Silent, great vegetarian restaurant next to the hotel. I enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Thank you for recommending our Hotel Ambassador. We are pleased to hear that you liked our location in the city centre and the helpfulness of our staff. Also we are happy to read that you appreciated the vegetarian restaurant next to our hotel and hope you also had the chance to try our Restaurant Opera which offers a variety of regional dishes. We are well known for our fish specialities and offer also excellent meat and vegetarian meals. We hope to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

I have stayed at the Hotel Ambassador on two ocassions one 3 weeks ago and again 16th/17th July and both stays were very plesant.
The reception staff are really friendly and helpful and welcoming.
Both the rooms I had on the second floor, one with a small balcony were perfect for one.
The beds are really comfy with a choice of different pillows and the bathrooms were a lovely size, Nespresso coffee machine in room and a bottle of water and apple in room on arrival.

The hotel is ideally located, to old town and 5 mins walk from the train station, at reception they sell train tickets for your return vist to the airport. All in all a Lovely hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the second floor, rooms 23 and 25, both are perfect for a single traveller. 25 has a small balcony which catches the morning sun and has a table and chair, perfect for a morning sunny coffee!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank max_washedup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel Ambassador Zurich. It is my pleasure to hear that you stayed twice in a short period in our hotel and that you enjoyed both of your stays with us. Many thanks for your compliment about the friendliness of our reception staff. It is great to read that you liked both of your rooms and that you preferred the balcony with morning sun at one of your stay. You highlighted also the little extras as the apple by arrival and the free bottle of water as well as the Nespresso coffee machine. Many thanks for this. It is great to hear that you call our hotel lovely. We would be delighted to welcome you soon back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Convenient to transportation - check, restaurants within walking distance - check, helpful staff - double check, museums within walking distance - check. I took the train from the airport and walked the couple of blocks to the hotel and started 4 days of bliss. I highly recommend the Ambassador for couples or someone on business. Don't miss the rooftop reception on Friday nights for a glass (or two...) of wine and the chance to visit with the general manager.

Room Tip: I had an end room on the top floor - quiet and a nice view out the window.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wrldviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you so much for your really nice comment about our Hotel Ambassador and your beautiful titel. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with our location in the city centre, that you appreciated the assistance of our employees and that you had outstanding overall experience in our hotel. Also I hope I will have the chance to meet you once again on a beautiful friday evening on our roof top terrace to have a toast to the upcoming weekend!

Best regards from the heart of Zurich,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews