We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Eh...”
Review of Free Walk Zurich

Free Walk Zurich
Book In Advance
More Info
$21.01*
and up
Saturday Zurich Pub Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Explore Zurich, Switzerland's little big multicultural city. Discover how a small city founded during the Roman times became today's discreet financial empire. Learn about its religious heritage, its episodes of turmoil and about the challenges and major changes Zurich is facing today. We offer a Downtown tour every day at 11am (Paradeplatz, next to UBS) and a Zurich West tour every day at 3pm (in front of Prime Tower).
Frankfurt am Main Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Eh...”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

It was ok. I finished the tour thinking Zurich must not be a very interesting city. Our guide wasnt comfortable speaking loudly so we didnt hear most of what he said. He had a friend meet us part way, so we split off and then could hear because it was a smaller group, but the story telling just wasnt that great. We went by several churches but only got to go inside one. Overall was rather disappointing to me.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MALF524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patric B, Manager at Free Walk Zurich, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear MALF524,

We thank you for your review. Since it is our goal to exceed the expectations of our guests, we sincerely regret to hear that we were not able to meet your requirements completely.

The old city tour you were taking part was indeed a very challenging one, as there were more than 50 participants that Saturday, which is an unusual large number. Therefore, the tour guide, who realized himself that he could not speak loud enough for such a big group, improvised: The friend he met on the way was another guide that jumped in, and took over half of the group, not knowing what the other guide told already.

It is one of our goals that tours are individualized to the guides personal interests and that every guide does the tour his way. Some guides focus more on churches and visit them, while others focus more on businesses or politics, in all cases on topics they have a more profound knowledge of.

Nevertheless, we provide a script with the basic information containing a description of the three most important churches of Zurich: Fraumünster, St. Peter and Grossmünster and constantly check the quality of the tours of all our guides.

As we normally receive a very positive feedback about our service and the friendliness of our team, we would appreciate if you could contact us with more details about your findings to: freewalkzurich@gmail.com.

Once again, we wish to thank you for your review and would be glad, if you would give us the opportunity to convince you of our high standards during a further tour.

Looking forward to speaking with you in person.

Kind regards

Patric

(Free Walk Zurich)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    519
    91
    8
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
North Coast NSW
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Free walking tour”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Our tour guide was Toby who was informative, entertaining and charismatic. The tour is a great introduction to Zurich for first time visitors. The tour lasted for two hours and was time well spent. I am very pleased we elected to take part.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank A-Hamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Ivan delivered a great Zurich downtown tour”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Unbelievably knowledgable, easy to understand, relaxed.
Recommend without hesitation - we were lucky to get Ivan, a master's student who was fun and had lots of great info.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank margie4044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
136 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Do it!! Awesome tour.”
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We did the Down town Zurich tour and loved it. In the space of two hours we learnt a heck of a lot about Zurich that we wouldn't have. The tour is free but you should tip if you enjoyed it at the end. We even received a free hot chocolate and brownie. The tours operate in various languages and are on most days so I highly recommend. The guide was Swiss, very nice and knowledgeable. It's a must if you're in Zurich lacking knowledge of the beautiful city.

Helpful?
1 Thank Emma-Leigh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Downtown Zurich Tour”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I have been to Zurich a few times in the past, but never really did a tour. I decided to try out the Free Walking tour after having experienced it in Stockholm.

Overall, I was very satisfied with the tour. Our tour guide tonight - December 28th was Toby, i think that was his name anyways. He was actually from Switzerland.

I enjoyed walking the streets and seeing different things and learning about the culture. I do think that a little more details on some of the buildings, or perhaps more details in some of the stories would be beneficial. But still it was very enjoyable. 90 minutes is pretty good; though I would not mind longer, it actually went by so quickly. I understand in winter time though, so shorter is not bad, though it was not too cold.

Anyways - give this a shot. Have a little patience with the guides and the tours, from my understanding they just started earlier this year and are coming along. And well it is free - of course a tip at the end is nice if you enjoyed it.

Thank you again - was a good way to spend my time before going back home!

Oh - some of the walking had a little bit of steep paths, so keep that in mind if that may be an issue for you.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free Walk Zurich also viewed

Lucerne, Canton of Lucerne
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Free Walk Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing