We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food and friendly staff”
Review of Luo Restaurant - CLOSED

Luo Restaurant
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Very nice food and friendly staff”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Luo's is a very nicely decorated and presented restaurant with attentive and very friendly staff. The food was excellent, although the menu needs to indicate which dishes have nuts in them. We'd definitely eat here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobM77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good and very friendly”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Good price quality value at lunch time. Also quick. For dinner time it can take some time if a bus with a Chinese group stops at that restaurant. The chef is very friendly. Never had anything to complain about this restaurant.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nadja_Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
1,536 reviews
1,240 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 690 helpful votes
“Should've checked tripadvisor first :-(”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I was staying at M Gallery hotel where the restaurant is located and broke both key rules when travelling: avoid eating at the hotel and checking tripadvisor before going to the restaurant - too tired to go outside and mislead by both a comment from a hotel staff ("one of the best Chinese in Zurich" - well, as the staff member was nice and believable, it just means that Zurich is not a place to have Chinese food..) and large Gault & Millau sign with 13 points (again, the scale must have recently heavily expanded as I would've rated it 13 out of 50 on their best days).

Retaurant was quasi empty when I went there; I've tied to get a nice table (for four), one of few with a bit of light, but was directed to a table for one in kind of dark corner (Swiss ordung).

On a positive side, jasmin tea was good. As to Bejing duck, only dish I've ordered, it was one of the worst I ever had: to start with, it must have been prepared loooong time before I got to the restaurant, the skin was fat, thick and dry, instead of crispy, thin and sweet; pancakes and plum sauce were better, hiding the taste (lack thereof) of the skin; second serving was slightly better, as the dry duck meat was hidden by vegetables.

Funny attempt at ordering a dessert: I tried to get the waiter to explain what was one of desserts (described by a German name only) to hear that (i) he doesn't know as it is very special Chinese thing impossible to translate, (ii) anyhow, the chef doesn't know how to explain it neither and (iii) in any case, the chef doesn't want guestsvto order this dessert as they do of like it !!!

At 23:00, while still drinking my tea and eating lychees (lucky enough, difficult to spoil a can of lychees) I got my check (Swiss ordung, exemple#2) with not so subliminal message that the restaurant is closing - when leaving at 23:02, they were shutting down the place.

Avoid !

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scipion-Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice food but slow service”
Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

The restaurant is fairly quiet perhaps because the outside looks univiting, however the interior is the complete opposite. The food itself is of good standard however the service is really slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jt1543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Formula chinese”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

I have had this Chinese food as room service as it's attached to the Continental Hotel. Got to say this was very average. Oh, and if you try to place an order at 1 minute past 10pm it's refused 'because Mr Luo has strict rules.' Really......

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank eppingphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luo Restaurant also viewed

Dietikon, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing