We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big American food + interesting beers”
Review of Fork & Bottle

Fork & Bottle
Ranked #315 of 1,944 Restaurants in Zurich
Price range: $25 - $44
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Farm-to-table cuisine and an ever-changing menu of craft beer and artisanal wine, Fork & Bottle invites you in to enjoy great food and drink in a relaxed country setting.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Big American food + interesting beers”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

All main courses are huge and really heavy, tasty but unhealthy side.
Small home cooked menu that changes t the regular basis.
Very long list of beers that the master can explain and choose the perfect match for you.

The reasons that I give only four stars are there's really no light choices which some people do need foe some occasions.
Also potato wedges looked nice, but was rather tasteless.

A bit out of town but I'd go back to this place when I have cravings for burger

I had
- natcho with warm spinach and artichoke dip
- BBQ ribs with potato wedges
- California common (beer)

Helpful?
1 Thank cake_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    73
    29
    22
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great city escape”
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

You can feel the love and effort behind each dish! Great service. We had an event there for 40 friends. No order was too small or too complicated. We'll be back - individually. Thank you owner and staff!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattselfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ein zweites Zuhause”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Fork and Bottle is like a home away from home for me. The food is excellent - also for a vegetarian like myself. The veggie burger is honestly the best I've had and the breakfast burrito for brunch on a Sunday is my favourite. The service is great - all the staff are so warm, friendly and familiar and, at the same time, super efficient. You can tell that they enjoy working at F&B. The owners are absolutely fantastic and, of course, the restaurant's treasured mascot is always there to greet the guests!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank amon3383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
1,503 reviews
841 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 808 helpful votes
“A great juicy burger, a view of Uetliberg and a variety of specialty bottled beers from Italy & Switzerland”
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Located under and at the entrance to the on ramp of the elevated autobahn, so a bit noisy, but still it is open space with a huge patio area with views of Uetliberg and the Zurich fussball team outdoor practice fields. An easily accessible 10 minute train ride from Zurich HB with the S-Bahn (S4) to Brunau and walking across the street.

I was greeted by a really, really sweet hostess, Diane, and we ended up talking about this weeks great weather, their restaurant beginning the summer outdoor season, offering live band performances on the patio. We had a great conversation and she offered me their business card and also a listing of all of the bottled beers they offer.

I ordered a draft beer (CHF 5.50) and wanted her opinion on a few items on the menu, then I opted for the Burger and fries (CHF 20). The burger came with lettuce, tomato, pickle, garlic spread on a toasted bun and I also ordered cheese. The burger was very juicy and tasted very good and the fries were also good. The food was overall very good! The view of the green belt and Uetliberg made for a special environment.

Negative: There does seem to be some conflict between their website prices and what they charge. Though it stated Burger and fries on the website CHF 20, they actually charge CHF 22 (note: I did have cheese added on my burger, but it was not listed or charged separately on my receipt). Also, the website lists the draft beer (CHF 5.50), but they actually charge (CHF 6), so the website needs to be brought up to date. The serving of fries, though delicious, was very small and could have easily been doubled in portion size for a reasonable serving.

I did previously stop by during the month of January, but it was during the week and there was a sign posted on the entrance door that they would only be open for Sunday brunch during January. The January hours were also on their home page under the recent post section.

In general, a very good visit and excellent food. I can not say enough good things about my hostess, Diane, as she made me feel very welcomed and appreciated and I look forward to returning again!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FormerCaliBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Funky place, good cuisine and slightly on the expensive side”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Don't let the outside fool you, the restaurant is a funky, alternative restaurant with good cuisine. One thing I really like about the menu is, that they offer different dishes than your standard redundant Swiss menus. The quality of the food, the preparation and presentation were all satisafactory and suggests, that the owner really thought about making this place different from other restaurants. The food tasted good, service was friendly but it's definitely on the pricier level for a place with paper napkins and papaer tablecloths. I will definitely go back there for special occasions.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gone_aforeign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fork & Bottle also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Fork & Bottle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing