We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Plattenhof Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Hottingen(Zurich)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveler rating
131
114
47
10
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
114
47
10
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuniversity hospitaltram stopold townquiet arealobby bar iscity centrezurich cardswiss passdesign hotelstayed here for nightsroom was clean and comfortabletram systemlocation is excellentthe central train stationbreakfast buffetpleasant stayshort stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
145 - 150 of 305 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2010

I stayed there for one week. Booked it via Expedia. Breakfast is excellent. Walking distance to University Hospital and all city attractions. Very clean. Price is good for the service provided.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neurosurgeon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2010

I am mixed on this hotel. it is not that convienent --taking a tram with luggage is frustrating. it is very expensive for what you get. there is no aircon. the wifi didn't work -I had to go to Starbucks. the bed is on the floor--it is like you are sleeping on the floor. Several of my questions about info that I found in the hotel guide in the room were denied by the front desk--in other words they didn't seem to know about this place that they work. the bathroom was clean. the breakfast was average--nothing special. because i had to leave the window open, I got noise from the street..

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cynful2no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

The Plattenhof Hotel is a "boutique", "hip", "cool" wannabe hotel that is decently situated in a good neighborhood in Zurich. As with absolutely everything in Zurich and Switzerland, it is very expensive unless you earn a Swiss salary or are an heir to a thrown.

Pro's:
1. Location: Very well located in a good neighborhood. Tram is easily accessed to get everywhere in Zurich.
2. Rooms: They are decent, sparse and modern - a bit Ikea-like in the quality of the finish, but they work ok. We were in one of the larger rooms - lots of room. No real TV through (a minuscule contraption serves as a TV - something out of Lilliput).
3. Reception: Staff is friendly without being warm. Everyone is trying to be uber-kool and young. Nothing bad, just a bit pretentious.
4. Breakfast: Decent without being overwhelming. If it were not included, I would never pay for it - you could do much better in a cafe or a bakery. Served in their "kool" restaurant, although we did not eat there.

Con's:
1. Price: The room price is insane really, but so is absolutely everything in Zurich. Everything. This keeps the riff-raff tourists out I guess.
2. WiFi: The hotel mafia scandal of charging outrageous amounts for WiFi continues here. A bit like charging for electricity...

Overall: I'd recommend it if you can get a discounted rate.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Canucdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

A good hotel Good value for money, a short walk from the tram and excellent public transport system.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FalkirkBairn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

the plattenhof has become my favorite hotel in zurich: you get what you expect from a good 3star hotel with many extras: fancy design, superb food: italian restaurant and room service, munchy breakfast, staff was excellent: i checked-in at 8am and was greeted with complimentary coffee. while i was checking in, the receptionist was dealing with the housekeeper and within 1 minute my room was switched and i could go there immediately. comfortable bed! during my stay i got to know the staff and they really do everything to make your stay comfortable. there is also a bar with a young and trendy crowd, sometime a bit smoky, but i was told that starting May 1 it will be non-smoking. the hotel is in a quiet residential area and about 10 minutes to walk to the city centre. will definetly come back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CedricBellmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews