We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and cute hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plattenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plattenhof Hotel
Ranked #55 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and cute hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Well located hotel near tram stops and ten minutes walk from the city centre. Beds a bit uncomfortable and pillows too soft and saggy. Clean rooms and excellent breakfast - all round a good hotel but nothing amazing. Very convenient if visiting the university hospital,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akleinhot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for staying at our hotel and for your feedback.
We are sorry to hear that you found our pillows too soft. Our rooms all have two medium filled pillows, however we offer "hard filled" pillows upon request. So please do not hesitate to ask for them when you stay with us again.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    104
    41
    8
    3
See reviews for
38
79
38
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed here following personal recommendation. It's about ten to fifteen minutes' walk from the hub of the Altstadt which when we stayed was not a bad idea as the Zuri-flaesht was going on meaning the city centre was very busy and noisy. It is located in the University area of the city and is just a couple of minutes' walk from a tram stop.

The hotel is clean and small. I would not describe as boutique; perhaps boutique-aspiring. The room we stayed in was small compared to equivalent hotels. The futon-style bed rather took us aback. There was no air-conditioning which we found surprising given the summers Switzerland gets. That made sleeping difficult.

The breakfast was satisfactory if a little basic and standard but nonetheless filling. We ate in the hotel restaurant on one evening (open only Monday-Friday) and were impressed at the quality of the food served.

The welcome we got from the member of staff on reception was less than friendly although all other members of staff were happy souls. The reception area opens up into a small but quiet bar area and there is also an atrium where one can sit.

In terms of value-for-money, nothing in Switzerland is cheap and I suppose for the price we paid it was reasonable for what it was in context.

Would I stay there again? Maybe, but not automatically. It is a 3* establishment; no more.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hutch38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your feedback, which helps us to improve our services.
Being located in a historic townhouse building we are not allowed to install air-conditioning into our hotel, however we always provide ventilators during summer to keep the rooms cool. Zurich's hot days with temperatures over 30 degrees celsius are not very numerous, which eases the problem.
We will focus on our training for our staff to have them providing a more ambitious and passionate service for all of our guests.
Looking forward to welcoming back to our hotel soon.
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
144 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

A nice and cozy hotel in a quiet area, but only a few steps from the center of the city. Lobby is small, but cozy with a nice bar. My room was nice with windows on two sides. Bed was low futon type bed, I slept well, but I prefer regular beds. Bathroom was nice and clean. WiFi is free. Breakfast was good, a nice selection of hot and cold food. Service was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ve8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, escpecially the quietness of our rooms, the free wifi, the comfortable bed (some of them are futton-style) and the free breakfast buffet.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel upon your next trip to Switzerland.
Peter sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa District, Israel
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

we stayed in this hotel for 5 nights, its small hotel in the middle of zurich, not a 4 star but the service is very good, rooms are clean although a bit small, the breakfast was ok but limited choice , the location is excellent just a few steps away from a tram station and 1 station away from the cental station and from there you can practically get anywere in zurich. all in all its a good 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nadim Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest
We thank you very much for your feedback and are happy to hear that - all in all - you enjoyed your stay at the Plattenhof hotel. We will try to improve our breakfast choice and added some new products from local farmers, such as local cheese and local yoghurt.
We hope to meet your expectations better whenever you come back to our hotel.
Best regards
Peter sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

the staff of the hotel are a mazing, helpfull, supoorted, friendly, and always smilling, the hotel is clean and warm you will feel that you are at home with your family really, food is tasty and perfect, they helped me on alot of things i was doing in switzerland, actually without them i could not do anything.
it was my first time in switezerland so if you are going to visit the country i would recommend you the plattenhof hotel ,you will not find best than it.
plattenhof hotel is much much better than the 5 stars hotel belive me.
many thanks to all plattenhof hotel team.

regards,
hana

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hana-hosniy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear guest
We thank you very much for staying at the Plattenhof Hotel upon your last visit to Zurich. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff was helpful in organizing your trip through Switzerland. We always try anticipate our guests needs and to find the best solution for everybody.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back to our hotel whenever you visit Switzerland again.
Yours sincerely
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

While not in the immediate vicinity of the train station, this hotel is easily accessible on the excellent tram system with very little walking involved. Once checked in to the hotel you can walk to almost all destinations in the city. The hotel is clean and professionally managed. Like Switzerland in general, it might seem a little expensive for the relatively simple facilities but based on my research the rates are fair. We had a room near the top floor in the back overlooking roof tops and liked it very much. The bathroom was updated and while not large, the room itself was perfectly adequate. The breakfasts are fairly "standard" Swiss cold continental style (except for the opportunity to boil your own egg in a cauldron that is constantly on), but excellent by the standards of most other countries. In other words, I thought it was great, but am mindful of others who have suggested that all hotels should offer hot fare with breakfast. I should add that while I felt that the great majority of the Swiss staff members in hotels throughout the country tend to come across as professional but not especially warm or friendly (which is fine with me and I do not take personally), the young woman that oversees the breakfast room is the exception to the general rule and was extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: This is a quiet neighborhood in general, but I suspect the rooms in the back are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquila13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the quietness of the rooms, our breakfast and our breakfast staff. I will forward your comments to our staff. We are always happy when our guests enjoy our warm and friendly hospitality and service, and it is an big motivation to read this in reviews.
I hope to be able to welcoming you again when you travel to Zurich.
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

My room (a single) was modern but very small and the bed was extremely low. It was firm and comfortable but not so easy to get out of in the morning. Staff were all very pleasant. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was good with a wide range of meat, cheese and preserves and some excellent muesli. It is very conveniently placed for ETH. If you are coming from the airport you can take the #10 tram to get within ten minutes of the hotel. If you take the train from the airport you have quite a steep hill to climb unless you take other transport to complete the journey

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience about your last stay at our hotel.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our location, the free wifi, the breakfast and the comfortable bed. The single room is indeed on the small side (15 sqm) but we have only 4 of them and all other 33 rooms are double or twin rooms with a minimum of 18 sqm. So for guests who do not wish the small single room we recommend to book the superior room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you travel to Zurich next time.
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#19 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Wellenberg
#59 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#82 of 138 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plattenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plattenhof Hotel

Property: Plattenhof Hotel
Address: Plattenstrasse 26 | 8032 Zurich, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Zurich
#38 Family Hotel in Zurich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plattenhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Design Hotel Plattenhof with its 37 quiet rooms lies in the heart of Zurich, tucked away in the quiet university neighborhood and only 10 minutes walking distance from the picturesque old town and the lake of Zurich. Museums, theaters, the opera, the university hospital, the ETH and a vast selection of restaurants and cafes are located in the area. The hotel offers free wifi internet access, an Italian restaurant Sento, a cozy bar, garden terrace, meeting facilities and parking garage. Our staff will go the extra mile to make you feel at home with us. The streetcar no. 10 Takes you straight to the airport in just half an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Plattenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plattenhof Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing