We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location, clean, comfortable, fair price”
Review of Plattenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Plattenhof Hotel
Ranked #56 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
172 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice location, clean, comfortable, fair price”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

While not in the immediate vicinity of the train station, this hotel is easily accessible on the excellent tram system with very little walking involved. Once checked in to the hotel you can walk to almost all destinations in the city. The hotel is clean and professionally managed. Like Switzerland in general, it might seem a little expensive for the relatively simple facilities but based on my research the rates are fair. We had a room near the top floor in the back overlooking roof tops and liked it very much. The bathroom was updated and while not large, the room itself was perfectly adequate. The breakfasts are fairly "standard" Swiss cold continental style (except for the opportunity to boil your own egg in a cauldron that is constantly on), but excellent by the standards of most other countries. In other words, I thought it was great, but am mindful of others who have suggested that all hotels should offer hot fare with breakfast. I should add that while I felt that the great majority of the Swiss staff members in hotels throughout the country tend to come across as professional but not especially warm or friendly (which is fine with me and I do not take personally), the young woman that oversees the breakfast room is the exception to the general rule and was extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: This is a quiet neighborhood in general, but I suspect the rooms in the back are the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aquila13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at our hotel. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the quietness of the rooms, our breakfast and our breakfast staff. I will forward your comments to our staff. We are always happy when our guests enjoy our warm and friendly hospitality and service, and it is an big motivation to read this in reviews.
I hope to be able to welcoming you again when you travel to Zurich.
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    106
    42
    8
    3
See reviews for
40
81
38
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

My room (a single) was modern but very small and the bed was extremely low. It was firm and comfortable but not so easy to get out of in the morning. Staff were all very pleasant. WiFi worked well. Breakfast was good with a wide range of meat, cheese and preserves and some excellent muesli. It is very conveniently placed for ETH. If you are coming from the airport you can take the #10 tram to get within ten minutes of the hotel. If you take the train from the airport you have quite a steep hill to climb unless you take other transport to complete the journey

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fisherab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience about your last stay at our hotel.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our location, the free wifi, the breakfast and the comfortable bed. The single room is indeed on the small side (15 sqm) but we have only 4 of them and all other 33 rooms are double or twin rooms with a minimum of 18 sqm. So for guests who do not wish the small single room we recommend to book the superior room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel when you travel to Zurich next time.
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

hotel plattenhof is located in a residential part of zurich....it's a 10 minute tram ride from the zurich hb station, and a 10 minute walk to the old town. it was raining quite hard when we were there, so we took the tram everywhere which was quite convenient.

the hotel staff was a bit disappointing....we were greeted by this girl, who didnt know what a swiss pass was (a bit concerning when you work in the hospitality industry in switzerland)....and then she told us two routes to get into old town, both of which were roundabout ways. we found the reception/ cafe area to be quite smokey, and it turns out that the staff were smoking in the outdoor terrace.

the rooms were very comfortable....everything was clean. id recommend this hotel if you're looking for something on the quiet side of zurich and dont mind walking a bit to get to the center of town.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hungryforrice F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you liked your room and its cleanliness. I will forward your comment to our housekeeper.
- I am sorry to hear that our receptionist did not know what a Swiss pass was. This should not have happened and shows a gap in our training program, but everybody has been trained on this now.
- We have a dedicated outdoor smoking area for staff in the back of our building. Staff is not allowed to smoke on the terrace and I am sorry if they did and caused you inconvenience. Our staff has been informed accordingly (once again).
We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel upon your next trip to Switzerland.
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Plattenhoff for three nights in late May. It is chilly in Switzerland! Pack your fleece and sweaters! We could check in at 11 am after our overnight flight which was great. We had our choice of a mod room with low bed or older room on a high floor with and older bathroom but great views and higher bed. We chose the latter. There were Comfy down comforters and nice linens. It felt like an authentic Swiss hotel which we liked. Breakfast was nice ---, yogurt, eggs, croissant breads, nice jam selection, meats and cheeses. We had a sweet hard working waitress who got our cafes for us. The price was right, it was quiet and near the tram. Take the tram 6 towards the zoo to get to the hotel. Check out James Joyce's grave in the very lovely cemetery up at the Zoo stop. The hotel is near the university and on the hill overlooking the city. We rode the trams and the boat-- all free with our Swiss pass for the train. Restaurant meals are expensive in Switzerland. Getting breakfast with the hotel is a smart option. We bought take away at bakeries and at the Coop market. Loved the city. Would go again in a warmer summer month! Would also go to this hotel again.

Room Tip: Preferred higher bed, older room, higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank betsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the beds and our healthy breakfast buffet.
We are all suffering from this year's cold temperatures, however summer has finally arrived in Switzerland and our guests are enjoying a refreshing summer cocktail in our garden restaurant after a day of outdoor activities.
Looking forward to welcoming you soon again back to the Plattenhof Hotel.
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed for one night to attend a meeting at the university and was very pleased. Arrived late, and was greeted by my name from the manager. Room was clean and comfortable, bed especially good. Wifi was excellent, good shower, very pleasant staff from the front desk to the breakfast are. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mez1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Inhaber at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. Thank you for choosing the Plattenhof Hotel for your stay. We hope to be able to welcome you in the near future again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sherwood forest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

No idea how much the adjacent university hospital paid?
They use this regularly I gather and I can see why....very friendly and truly sincere warmth to the welcome and seductive ambience.
Good quality and free wifi.
Bar area better value than restaurant, although breakfast buffet was excellent for the European mainland. Egg timers were a novelty for self boiled eggs.
Futon may not suit the old and infirm but extremely comfortable night s sleep.
No tea and coffee in room, nor trouser press.
No pool no gym, sadly.

Room Tip: 105 is noisy because outdoor area is directly below
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slightlyslender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking your time and sharing your experience at our hotel. We have many guests from the nearby university hospital at our hotel and they always enjoy our comfortable rooms, friendly service and free wifi. We will forward your compliments to our staff.
Tea and coffee making facilities are available upon request and we will put them into your room at no extra charge. Please let us know in advance.
The nearest gym (Fitnesspark Münstergasse) is a 10minutes walk from the hotel, the neares 50m-pool (CityHallenbad) is 20 minutes away.
We are sorry that there was some noise outside room 105. The outdoor restaurant area closes at 10pm. Looking forward to welcoming you another time to our hotel.
Peter Sidler, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Arrived after an all night flight from Hong Kong. Allowed an early check in which was most welcome. Staff friendly and helpful. Close to tram to get to city centre. Room an adequate size and the breakfast quite good. Quiet location. Stayed during the summer so many local shops closed so had to travel to buy supplies.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your experience at our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you soon again when you stay in Zurich.
Yours sincerely
Peter Sidler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#22 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Hirschen
Hotel Hirschen
#82 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Hochschulen
Hotel Florhof
Hotel Florhof
#65 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plattenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plattenhof Hotel

Property: Plattenhof Hotel
Address: Plattenstrasse 26 | 8032 Zurich, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Zurich
#38 Family Hotel in Zurich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plattenhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Design Hotel Plattenhof with its 37 quiet rooms lies in the heart of Zurich, tucked away in the quiet university neighborhood and only 10 minutes walking distance from the picturesque old town and the lake of Zurich. Museums, theaters, the opera, the university hospital, the ETH and a vast selection of restaurants and cafes are located in the area. The hotel offers free wifi internet access, an Italian restaurant Sento, a cozy bar, garden terrace, meeting facilities and parking garage. Our staff will go the extra mile to make you feel at home with us. The streetcar no. 10 Takes you straight to the airport in just half an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your Plattenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plattenhof Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing