We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced, big rooms”
Review of Plattenhof Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Plattenhof Hotel
Ranked #70 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The hotel is located near the University, a bit of a walk from the central part of Zurich. It's a quiet neighborhood, and cafes and bars are a little bit of a walk from the hotel. Despite its branding as a "design hotel," there was nothing particularly well designed about my room. In fact, the decor was a little dated, particularly in the bathroom. However, it was very large and pleasant. The hotel breakfast included an excellent muesli. My one complaint was that when I arrived late on Sunday night and tried to order room service, I was told (despite the fact that the menu said that they were still serving) "sorry, we've run out of food" so had to go to bed hungry.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoette0704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 302 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2012

Stayed there for 1 night in May 2012.

Pros: Rooms are clean, the tram connection up front is very convenient, relatively cheap by Zurich standards, decent choice for a very short business trip (and if your business cannot afford much else :)) where you will be staying alone. Ok choice for students as well.

Cons: Rooms are very small. We were a couple with a child and the rooms were very extremely small for us. We stayed here for 1 night as a part of a much longer European trip and hence stayed here as we wanted a hotel close to the station. Else, not much to write home about. Breakfast 'selection' was non-existent.

So, do the math and take your pick! :)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SambhaIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Thank you for your stay at our hotel. For couples staying with a baby/child we recommend always to book our largest DELUXE room which has 23 sqm and fits a baby cot. The baby cot is free of charge and needs to be booked in advance. For guests who wish to have more space we recommend a deluxe room with a connection door to a superior room. These rooms are spacious and very much liked by families. (see other comments). Unfortunately, some guests book the smallest (and least expensive) room and expect the largest room in the hotel.
Our breakfast buffet offers the following selection and is free of charge: freshly brewed coffee/cappuccino, tea selection, juices, bread and croissant selection, cheese, ham, turkey, boiled eggs, müesli, cereals, yoghurt, noodle soup.
We are looking forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

The hotel is situated in the University district of Zurich, a short tram ride (no 6) from the main railway station, so very easy to find (it is signposted from the tram stop at Plattenstr) and handy if you are coming from the airport by train. The area is pretty quiet, yet the centre is within easy reach. We were greeted with a complementary cup of herb tea, and there is a bistro cafe on the ground floor serving vegetarian food, which looks good, although we did not eat there. The room was clean and comfortable, with a glass screen between the beds and shower room, and the beds were comfortable. Everything was beautifully clean. Breakfast was quite pedestrian, although homemade muesli was available and a good cup of coffee could be obtained, although I had to look for the waiter. There is no air conditioning, and the room was quite hot, but this was the only drawback. The decor is very modern, clean lines and white much in evidence. If you want somewhere reliable, clean and convenient, you could do worse.

The staff were all friendly, polite and multilingual, and the soundproofing was effective. Yoga mats were available on request, and there is a small central courtyard where you can take a coffee and contemplate the day in peace. There are some very fine old residential buildings in the area and an interesting delicatessen across the road. We liked it.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Canolista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

The hotel is close to ETH and the University, just a short walk from the center of town, very close to several tram lines, including the one that goes direct to the airport (#10). The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood. The staff were very friendly. My room (#205) was small, with little room to walk around, but had a closet, loveseat, desk, simple bed with a good mattress, and nice-sized bathroom. It overlooks a courtyard and has high ceilings, for lots of natural light. The furnishings are simple, and modern. The breakfast was nice, with good bread and standard fare. And at 130 Euros per night, I felt it a very good value for Zurich. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnAmericanintheUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas S, Inhaber at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you so much for you comments. We hope to be able to welcome you at the Plattenhof soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Let me tell you about my three day stay here

- the room: small, but clean, very modern design! The only problem might be for some people to get out of bed as it was very close to the floor! I think I have never seen such a low bed. But it was comfortable.

- the parking outside : Be prepared for a very small parking!

- location: it was very quiet, and quite near the city centre

- restaurant: very cosy and good!

- staff: very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikkiLuxembourg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear guest
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. Only 50% of our rooms are furnished with low "futton like" beds. Even they are very low, they are very comfortable. However, the other 50% of our rooms have "high" beds. Guests who do not like a low bed are requested to ask for a high bed when they make their reservation.
We hope we can welcome you again to our hotel.
Best regards
Peter Sidler

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Excellent views from room overlooking central Zurich from University hill from our room. Very friendly and attentive staff. Cool espresso bar/ lounge available all day. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Carin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Carin
Thank you for your positive feedback, which we will forward to our staff. I am glad that you enjoyed the view over the city from your 4th-floor room. However, also our lower floors have a nice view into the garden and the neighborhood. Hopefully we will be able to welcoming you again to our hotel.
Best regards
Peter Sidler, Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2012

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank ZH_Globetrotter_ZH
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PeterPlattenhof, Manager at Plattenhof Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel Hottingen
#77 of 138 in Zurich
163 reviews
Sorell Hotel Rex
#40 of 138 in Zurich
383 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#35 of 138 in Zurich
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Hochschulen
Hotel St. Josef
Hotel St. Josef
#29 of 138 in Zurich
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plattenhof Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plattenhof Hotel

Address: Plattenstrasse 26 | 8032 Zurich, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Zurich
#29 Business Hotel in Zurich
#39 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $152 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plattenhof Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Design Hotel Plattenhof with its 37 quiet rooms lies in the heart of Zurich, tucked away in the quiet university neighborhood and only 10 minutes walking distance from the picturesque old town and the lake of Zurich. Museums, theaters, the opera, the university hospital, the ETH and a vast selection of restaurants and cafes are located in the area. The hotel offers free wifi internet access, an Italian restaurant Sento, a cozy bar, garden terrace, meeting facilities and parking garage. Our staff will go the extra mile to make you feel at home with us. The streetcar no. 10 Takes you straight to the airport in just half an hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plattenhof Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plattenhof Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing