We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great staff, huge room, but tiniest bathroom ever”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Rothaus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Rothaus
Ranked #124 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great staff, huge room, but tiniest bathroom ever”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

The staff at the hotel were, without exception, extremely nice and helpful.
The neighborhood wasn't exactly upscale, but we didn't hang around on the streets at night, only walking to and from the bus stops and the hotel and did not feel worried. As it was very close to a bus which goes into the centre of Zurich, it was very convenient for us.
We had a double room which was huge and done in a modern aesthetic: very sparse, which was fine, but poorly lit, which was not. (The lights were more for ambiance than for giving off light). There was a long narrow desk/table all along one wall of the room, on which the TV sat, with 2 stools underneath, and there were some pegs on the wall which had some hangers: this was the "closet". The room and bedding was clean.
There was something odd about the room: it looked like they had poured concrete onto the entire floor to either level out uneven floors, or soundproof the floor, or something, but as it was an old building with cast-iron radiators, the radiator is now embedded several inches into the floor, which was curious.
In any case, the singular negative for this room for us was the size of the ensuite bathroom. In all of my travels, I cannot remember staying in a hotel with such a small bathroom, especially when compared to the extremely generous size of the room itself. The bedroom had enough space to have a party in, or at least to extend the bathroom, whilst the bathroom was smaller than the toilets on a train. The shower cubicle, sink, and toilet were all adjacent to each other, and the available floor space, in total, was about 1 square metre. You almost had to be a circus act contortionist to use the toilet without injuring yourself, as the wall was only inches away from the front of the toilet. The bizarre thing was that there was so much space in the room that they could easily give some of it up for the bathroom.
We did not have breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoastalBreaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    61
    58
    20
    10
See reviews for
14
46
31
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

as a local, I obviously don't know the rooms of the hotel, but I've been regularly visiting the bar for breakfast for several years now. they offer a solid breakfast buffet for a very reasonable price (as measured by Swiss standards!). the bar has been recently renovated and will continue to be a comfy option for breakfast among a mostly younger, international clientele for me.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sunray777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

I booked this hotel online (with easytobook.com); I had to give my credit card number for the reservation. I got an confirmation email saying that the booking is done, ok.

But when we arrived at the hotel, the guy told us that the confirmation didn't work and the room isn't free anymore: we had to find another hotel!

That was very disappointing and it smells fishy.


  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank asdffda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndriZ_12, Manager at Hotel Rothaus, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your message and please accept our appologies. In our Hotel we make a pre-authorisation of the credit cards and in this case unfortunatley the credit card was declined. It is our policy that we can not guarantee the reservation if the credit card information is not correct, so we were obliged to give up the room. Once again we are sorry about the inconvenience that this situation has caused. Hopefully we can make it up to you in case you decide to return to our Hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Andri Zehnder
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Zurich hotels

Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is an average hotel for short visits. It's located in what used to be quite a sleezy neighborhood, but has been changing its reputation in the last 2 years. Nontheless, you'll still accost a few hookers and pimps as well as drunks. On the other hand, it is a lively neighborhood with many bars and clubs. I would recommend it for the younger generations seeking adventure.

The hotel itself is very basic with small rooms. Yet, they are clean, include televisions as well as safes. The hotel employees are more concerned about being hip than helpful, which works out nicely if you have the same attitude.

Room Tip: If you stay in a courtyard room, you'll get a quiet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fleddi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This hotel is a must. It is a 19th century redbrick and timber building refurbished in modern minimalist format. Given the surrounding area I suspect it was once a brothel, though I have no evidence for that. ‘Rothaus’ can have several meanings. It is a lively area that contravenes a number of popular stereotypes about the Swiss.

My own transgression happened at breakfast, when I picked up a bowl of cold porridge from the buffet display, and asked where I could heat it up, did they have a microwave? “Das ist Birchermuesli!!!!” was the reply. The exclamation marks were for real. Clearly I had farted in the font. Suddenly I remembered what this stuff was. It was invented by a local from Aargau at the turn of the 20th century. They also raved about it briefly in the 1960’s. So I sat down and ate the stuff. It was edible, after all it was cold oats, milk, cream and apple (dutifully and lovingly prepared I expect) and all these are edible, but pretty Spartan. Why lock the flavours into a cold presentation? Why not let them out to be fully enjoyed on a warm winter morning? Clearly this was not a rule one could lightly break. Cold porridge it must be.

I also found the place seriously clean. There is clean, very clean, extremely clean, and then clean as the Swiss understand it. This was intergalactically clean.

There is one crucial question. Would I stay here again? Definitely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajoh100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The advantages of this hotel are the location not far from the centre and the price (it is not that expensive for Zürich). But the part of the city is rather specific. There are a lot of bars and strip clubs in the same street. So by night different strange people come there to have fun, there are many drunk and suspicious people that make much noise.
In summer it is quite hot, but if you open the windows you can't sleep because of noisy people (the rooms don't have a/c).

So, we found the hotel easily, a woman at the reception turned out to be very friendly and helpful. We got a spacious room on the second floor. Although it was spacious there wasn't anything but a big bed, a strange long table, a couple of chairs and....that is all! It didn't have even a wardrobe or anything of the kind. It bothered us in a way. But there was a safe!
Another thing we didn't like is the socket. It is a bit different in Swiss, and it is impossible to use it with usual european power plugs... but there wasn't any adaptor for that socket.

The bathroom was small, and the shower was not that comfortable. Everything looked old in the hotel.

The breakfast was ok (not too poor, not very rich), but too costy. The price was unreasonably high for such a meal...but we realized we were in Swiss....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1AnaCa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I stayed in a single occupancy room. It is located in the heart of red light area, a lot of noise even in the night. Reception people was very good, reasonable english speaking knowledge. Room is very small and the bathroom is too small. its a bit too costly compared to what is provided.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank AustriaVisitviaZuric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndriZ_12, Manager at Hotel Rothaus, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Customer

Thank you for your feedback.
Our hotel is located at Langstrasse, this is Zurich's most liveley area, it's not just red light. There are also plenty of restaurants, clubs and bars. If you stay again in our hotel, we would apreciate to give you some tips, where to go. If your room was too small, we recomend to book our standard single rooms instead of the small single room next time . They cost a bit more, but they are biger and more comfortable.

Kind regards
Andri Zehnder
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
St. Georges
#82 of 138 in Zurich
101 reviews
Langstrasse
easyHotel Zurich
easyHotel Zurich
#113 of 138 in Zurich
395 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#101 of 138 in Zurich
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gewerbeschule
Walhalla Guest House
Walhalla Guest House
#90 of 138 in Zurich
75 reviews
Old Town
Limmathof
Limmathof
#87 of 138 in Zurich
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rothaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rothaus

Property: Hotel Rothaus
Address: Sihlhallenstr. 1, Zurich 8004, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rothaus 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location and personal serviceThis island in the lively Langstrasse district of town offers open and personal service, thus ensuring the comfort and wellbeing of guests.A warm welcomeCentrally located and easy to reach - this is the ideal place to socialize, make contacts and discover urban Zurich. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Rothaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothaus Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing