We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Stylish”
Review of Hotel Hottingen

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Hottingen
Ranked #77 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient, Stylish”
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Hotel Hottingen is less than a block from the convenient trams to the airport, to the Lake, to the old town. Exceedingly clean, good breakfast (a surly breakfast host one morning), and good wifi in the room. The man at the desk was very helpful, multilingual, and allowed us to leave our luggage since we arrived very early in the day after an overnight flight. There was some miscommunication with the booking agency that reserved us a room without a balcony, but that was soon remedied without complaint. An excellent shower with good pressure topped off our first few days in Switzerland. Hotel Hottingen was our first introduction to the wonders of Switzerland. We would like the owners to know that it did a beautiful job.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a balcony; otherwise the room would seem small. Keep in mind that there are room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brooks461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    77
    10
    3
    4
See reviews for
40
19
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Easter Island, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Excelent hotel , modern style, luxurious rooms by good price for Zürich. Just 10 block from the old town. But you can take the tram in front of the hotel. Great breakfast with eggs, cheese, bread, yogourt and good coffe. Very kind staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jlizama16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Its a small cosy and great hotel. Every thing is a plus, great rooms, great beds, excellent bathroom. Kitchen at every floor, freezer with locker in kitchen, very close to tram stop. Very clean, very.
The breakfast was nice, but was bit boring for us because we stayed there for over 15 nights. Had to restart the WiFI router some day to get the Wifi up.
Seemed a bit expensive to me, 210 Swiss franc a day plus taxes.
Run by only one manager at a time but some one is there at reception 24X7.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Topu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2011

extended my business trip in zurich for a side trip to paris. had to say a night back in zurich to catch my flight back to singapore.

was nursing the guilt my ceaseless shopping in paris - hence my decision to try for a room or even a dorm bed in a budget accommodation. was really worried about security in the hotel as i have got quite a number of high ticket items in my luggage but fears were assuaged when i first saw the hotel. nice and clean building with friendly and helpful staff.

i have stayed at various three to four star hotels in zurich on my business trips and found this hotel, though no-frills, comparable in terms of the overall experience. size of the hotel was also a lot less claustrophobic compared to the four star business hotels that ive been too. loved it.

would like recommend it to anyone going to zurich on holiday. the location is very accessible too! 15 mins walk to bellevue and the lake :)

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank chasingprettyrainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2010

I stayed at Hotel Foyer Hottingen, Zurich for 2 days during last week of October 2010. The hotel location was something which I really liked and the best part was it was located bang opposite to the Hottingerplatz tram stop. So accessing the city from hotel was just a cakewalk. I would recommend this hotel those who are looking for a budgeted tour - dormitory stay with a group in Zurich.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sengupta72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2009

It has been completely renovated in the last year. We stayed there for the Street Parade, and it was the cheaper place to stay for only 28€ per person, so I think it's reasonable. There are showers and toilettes on each floor, and they are really clean, so if you are picky you dont like it, but you have some common sens if you have a great shower in a clean place. On each floor there is also a small kitchen, which was clean and we used that to save money on food, which is extremely expensive in Zurich, therefore the values of this place is also to have a clean kitchen. In addition, breakfast included! I will consider again this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mantino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 431 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2008

Let me qualify my review by saying I've never been very fond of Zurich but now I have another reason not to want to ever return there. Conveniently located on a tram line, too far to walk from the train station, this hotel almost entices you to think it is worth the extra effort to locate it. Don't.
The rooms are clean, if spartan, and everything works as it should. Parking is available on the street overnight without charge, and reportedly rarely policed during the day. An extra 15 CHF will get you the privilege of using the hotel parking.
From the exterior, you might think that this Hotel has some charm, somewhere, somehow. Don't be fooled. This is a shelter, plain and simple, operating under the guise of being a hotel.
A main floor communal TV room (you can order a TV for your room for an extra 5 CHF), communal washrooms (shower sink and toilet - the rooms do have a sink), balcony rooms for singles only, and furniture which makes IKEA furnishing look like post-modern art, this whole place screams "Institutional."
All rooms are reportedly non-smoking, but our one evening there was punctuated by the distinct smell of tobacco smoke on and off throughout the night. Venturing forth to investigate, it was apparent that no one was smoking up a storm on our floor but rather the smell was the product of the updraft from the main floor smoking room which allowed smoke to flow through the central open stairwell which forms a sort of atrium around which all floors and all room doors open onto.
The stark open corridors against an oddly triangular laid out central stairwell, mean that a good yell on the first floor should resonate to every door in the hotel - which might be a good thing in case of a fire, though the abundance of concrete suggests precious little to burn.
Surprisingly, not a backpacker was to be seen, and it was very quiet considering the open concept (though every closing door did echo throughout the structure) and the guests during our October 2008 stay appeared to be only young to middle aged adults.
The receptionist advised the hotel was most often used by individuals looking for a cheap sleep and more than few parents visiting the nearby children's hospital.
The oddly out-of-place roses in the lobby, the reception area which looks like a hospital nursing station, and a breakfast cafeteria that looks like it IS in a hospital, mark this Shelter as just that.
So what do you get for your 50 CHF per person rate? Well, you get a ceiling light, bed light, radiator heat, steel entry door to your room, carpeting, window coverings, a window that opens, and very little street noise despite the tram line passing right by--and that sink in your room. A closet to hang your stuff, one drinking glass per bed, ONE towel - for three of us -, one chair and one table with a telephone, all complete the ambience of institutional chique. The framed wall hanging and blue on white tones suggest a reference to some sort of decor style but the substance betrays that nothing more than that is here. The high ceilings and formal exterior with balcony suggest that this building might once have had loftier aspirations (no pun intended).
And there is an elevator - ONE.
Entry into the room is by key, not electronic card, and the breakfast is included in the room rate, as is use of the kitchen and its facilities 24/7.
Breakfast consisted of self-serve orange juice, milk, water, coffee, choice of four commercial breakfast cereals, choice of four individually packaged cheeses, white and whole wheat sliced bread, plain yogurt, butter, honey, and jams (cherry, strawberry, marmalade). No meats, no fruit, no hot food unless you bring your own groceries and make it yourself.
So why am I the odd one out on the reviews of this hotel. It certainly is clean, and efficient, and everything works with the efficiency of the mechanics of a Swiss watch. And I want to like this place so efficiently Swiss, but I can't. I don't buy a Swiss watch just to know the time, I buy a nice efficient plastic bulletproof Asian quartz model. No I buy a Swiss watch for the styling, and this hotel has none of that. Why spend 50CHF when you can sleep cheaper in a real shelter?
But if you like efficient clean and soul-less, google their webpage for contact details and pricing. Rooms are evidently available to sleep from one to five patients / inmates / guests.
Major credit cards, Swiss francs, and Euros accepted.

(And I always appreciate you clicking that yes/no button to let me know if the review was helpful; if you click –No- please email via Tripadvisor with your comments so I can learn from my mistakes and aspire to do better next time.)

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Institutional shelter
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Rob1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Plattenhof Hotel
#61 of 139 in Zurich
284 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Otter
Hotel Otter
#92 of 139 in Zurich
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel California
Hotel California
#86 of 139 in Zurich
243 reviews
Leoneck Swiss Hotel
#41 of 139 in Zurich
575 reviews
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#43 of 139 in Zurich
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hottingen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hottingen

Property: Hotel Hottingen
Address: Hottingerstrasse 31 | Cäcilienstr. 10, Zurich 8032, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Family Hotel in Zurich
#35 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Hottingen 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HotelHottingen, renovated 2011 is a pleasant hotel with a modern designe located in an old Zurich neighbourhood, just 400 metres away from the Kunsthaus Museum, close to Saint Peter's church, the Fraumunster Cathedral, Theater, Opera, close to the historic centre of Zurich and the attractive promenade of Zurich's Lake and banks of the River Limmat. This is the ideal location for exploring Zurich by public transport as there is a tram stop just 20 metres away. HotelHottingen is an establishment with 32 comfortable single, double, triple and quadruple rooms. Very few of them are sharing the bathroom and WC on the same floor. All of the rooms come equipped with a Flatscreen-TV, telephone as well as free wireless Internet access (WIFI). What's more, all guests have access to a communal kitchen where they can prepare their meals. A varied breakfast comes included in the room rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Hottingen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Foyer Hottingen zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing