We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little hotel in Zurich”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Ranked #27 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great little hotel in Zurich”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

This was a fantastic hotel, the staff were over helpful and the hotel was super cute. The only problem is that it is to far from everything. There is nothing around and you have to walk 10-15 minutes to get anywhere. The room itself was cute and small. It looks like a small ibis hotel room but a bit more modernised. The showers are tiny but has good water pressure. Because the hotel is so far away from everything i ended up getting room service for every night i was there, which is very expensive. The menu at the hotel is also so so... On the last night i was so sick of the food i ended up getting a delivery. they defiantly need more variety on the menu.

All in all its a cute hotel but for me its not close enough to the centre.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexinaGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    71
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
31
84
23
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 28, 2012

my husband and i enjoyed a children free weekend, told them with the booking that a quiet room to the garden is a must, we booked standard room and late check in. .when we got there they upgraded us to superior. the room was clean and spacious like a flat, modern and comfortable. we went out late, but hardly got sleep. the sound of the passing trains just outside disturbed us enormously. we asked for the room we had booked, which expectedly should be quiet. we were upgraded also for the garden room, which was inexpeted! the place was more than expected, well designed and very stylish. we liked it even better! the food in the restaurant is of superior quality, we can recommend it warmly. breakfast was offered so the parking fee to make up for the hassles we had had. when we needed recommendations for shopping, eating, transportstion or welless/ spa, they were quick, helpful and aimable as well as reliable. overall: we will be back for a next time!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielareichlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
89 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Style, comfort and great service define the Greulich. I would have given more stars were it not for the poor location.

We stayed 4 nights here in one of the suites. Again fantastic essentials. What we hated was the neighborhood. While we liked the notion of a residential neighborhood, what we did not expect was that the hotel is within the red light district. Instead of lots of boutique shops and local restaurants there were lots of strip bars. So if you're not with toddlers this might be ok for you. The restaurant is nice with wonderful "small plates" but if you stay several nights you may want to enjoy a room service menu that is less "molecular" again, if you have kids.

If sight seeing is your thing expect to take a cab everywhere. Cabs are VERY expensive in Switzerland. If you have kids remember that car seats even in taxis are required so another pain if staying here with kids.

Ratings are relative. If with kids, tourists from abroad and staying several nights, find something else..

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank markypao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillerød
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Nice rooms and friendly staff. The hotel is located a bit outside the center (8 minutes with Tram) but very close to the Tram stop. The rooms are not the cheapest, so therefore it would have been nice if the breakfast was included. It wasn't so you have to choose between a small breakfast costs 15 CHF and a big costs 26 CHF, which in my opinion is too much.

Other than that it's a recommendable hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeppec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We spent just one night in one of the standard rooms. The hotel is located in a quieter part of town which was exactly why we chose it. We liked the simple but modern room which had everything you need for one night.

Dinner at the restaurant was excellent and we liked their new concept called "Small Plates". The plates were not as small as we expected, though. We absolutely had no room for dessert, unfortunately. Next time, we're going to order less... Price is as high as you'd expect it in Zurich in a good location. Very good choice of wines, many also by the glass which is definitely a plusfactor.

The next morning we decided to treat ourselves to a nice, long breakfast. For the considerably high price of Swiss Francs 26 per person the buffet was nothing special. It was ok, but bread, cheese, cold meat, juice etc. were just very ordinary items. A bit disappointing...

Next time we come to Zurich, the Greulich will be our choice again, but maybe with just a cup of coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rothenthurm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

We spent 2 nights in the hotel and really enjoyed our stay. Rooms are modern and minimilistic with nice little extras. The hotel staff were extremely friendly and service very good. We rarely eat dinner in hotels but thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience and their concept of 'small plates' is excellent. The wines by the glass were also very good. They use quality produce and my only comment would be that eggs could be added to the breakfast buffet. We used the hotel bikes which was fun and we would definitely return to this hotel. They are also extremely dog friendly which is important to us.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joyrumpff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed in one of the chalets at the back of the hotel, it was nicely laid out if a little sterile feeling with all the concrete and frosted glass. The hotel staff were excellent and willing to help whenever they could. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant which was excellent and again the staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickinBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#11 of 138 in Zurich
395 reviews
Hotel Glockenhof
#28 of 138 in Zurich
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#15 of 138 in Zurich
562 reviews
Hotel St. Gotthard
#25 of 138 in Zurich
875 reviews
EMA House Hotel Suites
#5 of 138 in Zurich
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel

Property: Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel
Address: Herman-Greulich-Strasse 56, Zurich 8004, Switzerland (Formerly Hotel Greulich)
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Langstrasse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Zurich
#23 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#30 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#42 Family Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Zurich’s vibrant District 4 is the Design & Lifestyle Hotel Greulich with 28 rooms, a cafe, a summer boulevard as well as a bar and a cigar lounge. At Greulich meets a homely atmosphere purist design, and vibrant city life meets pure relaxation in the tranquil birch grove. The rooms are spread over the main house and the courtyard next to the birch grove. Herman's Wohnzimmer is the urban cafe with a bar and boulevar. It is your place to have breakfast, lunch, to work on your laptop or to read. Enjoy freshly prepared snacks and drinks around the clock, including a take-away offer and a library. Herman's yoga studio offers an array of yoga classes for participants of all levels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Greulich Design & Lifestyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greulich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing