We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zurich's hotels”
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #39 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Pirot, Serbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Zurich's hotels”
Reviewed December 19, 2009

This is an excellent hotel just two stops by train from Zurich'c center, Zurich HB.

Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MilosP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, January 8, 2010
Thankful greetings from Swissôtel Zurich!

Mr. Milos, the entire Swissôtel Team is grateful for your comment and thanks you for having taken the time to share your experience with all tripadvisor.com users.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back with us soon.

All the best
Katrin Dresbach
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    888
    899
    256
    80
    39
See reviews for
368
677
161
698
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We were really looking forward to our stay at the Swissotel. It was our first time staying at any Swissotel and we thought that with that brand, the hotel would be very good. However, the location and service, while reasonable, didn't exactly meet our expectations especially compared to the higher amount that we paid. We'd stayed in accommodations for less money during our time in Europe, and enjoyed the stay a lot more.

While we would recommend people to stay here, there are probably some better value for money options for Zurich out there which you may choose over this one.

Positives:
+ Reasonable room, well sized, comfortable, clean.
+ Front desk check in was very friendly.

Negatives:
- Not the best value for money, you pay a lot, and in the end, the stay isn't that special.
- The thing that disappointed us the most was that when we asked at the front desk for a bit of an introduction to Zurich, the person serving us didn't give us the best instructions of how to get around Zurich and seemed in a big rush to get rid of us rather than explaining things to us. As new guests, and with the Swissotel brand, we expected better service for the Francs that we paid.
- Internet, didn't have free wireless. Cheaper hotels in Europe are offering this for free. As a tip, we would go downstairs to the business centre and use this for free. You have to do this slightly incognito, but the staffer when we used to do this at 9pm was quite generous with us. Using the internet like this made us feel sneaky when really, this should be a fairly standard service.
- Location wasn't the best as we were expecting for the rate. It is about 20 minutes from the main action in Zurich by tram. Perhaps in hindsight, one thing we'd do is one the day we arrived in Zurich (by Eurail), you can still use that Eurail day to catch the train from Oerlikon to the main station. That will save you a little in the tram fare, and also get you to the main station a lot quicker.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russ90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, December 21, 2009
Dear Sir and Madam

Snowy greetings from Zurich! Thank you so much for your valuable feedback.

I do apologize for the inconveniences caused during your stay. We do offer room types including the internet costs. I am more than happy to present them to you upon your next stay. A new business center with modern technique and helpful team members is available to our guests as well.

Please let me know if there is anything else I can assist you with. Your feedback is highly appreciated.

Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and your whole family!

Katrin Dresbach
Executive Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Amazing pool and spa centre at the top floor overlooking the city..absoluetly gorgeous and very relaxing! Rooms were nice and big and friendly staff! Very close to the train station and lots of restaurants nearby therefore excellent location. We were very pleased with our stay. Only complaint is that the AC in the room didnt seem to be working too well.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhea857
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, December 1, 2009
Dear Madam

Snowy greetings from Swissôtel Zurich!

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.com. I really appreicate it.

It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service.
I take your comments as a reward for our efforts, but also as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

The Swissôtel Team and I are looking forward to welcoming you back during on one of your next trips to Zurich.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in person if there is anything I can assist you with in the future.

Best regards
Katrin Dresbach
Executive Assistant
(on behalf of the General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Very friendly staff, excellent service, clean and new rooms, love the breakfast too. Cons: A/C ain't strong enough for hot day and restaurant has very few choices for dinner, but the food is excellent.
Swissotel is a place called home in Zurich for me.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Realizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Greetings from Swissôtel Zurich!

We hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.com.

It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service. We take your comments as a reward for our efforts, but also as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back during on one of your next trips to Zurich.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in person if there is anything I can assist you with.

Best regards
Katrin Dresbach
Executive Assistant
(on behalf of the General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2009

Stayed at Swissotel Zurich in August 2009. Very nice hotel, confortable bed, spacious room, good breakfast. Not very good location but if you are travelling with own / rented car is not a problem. Also very nice and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vi0leta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Dear Sir or Madam

Thank you for having taken the time to share your experience on tripadvisor.com.

We hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service. We take your comments as a reward for our efforts, but also as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back during on one of your next trips to Zurich.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in person if there is anything I can assist you with.

Best regards
Katrin Dresbach
Executive Assistant
(on behalf of the General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2009

I have stayed here many times so decided to stay once again on my yearly trip to Zurich. The hotel is in Oerlikon and very handy to the train station, etc. I noticed the prices have increased double from last year and did not feel the value had improved. I suppose some of the price increase is from the dollars value however I did not seem to have that problem at the other hotels.

The carpet in the hallways and rooms is really bad and really needs replace. The rooms are otherwise in good condition.

Breakfast is wonderful and the staff outstanding. The carpet situation is not their fault. Don't think I will stay there again until they replace the carpet. I stayed at the Marriott Courtyard nearby and it is in excellent condition for half the price including breakfast.

We ate int he restaurant one evening and it was good however the price of a bottle of wine started at approximately $50 .

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cruisehappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, November 2, 2009
Dear Sir - greetings from Zurich!

Thank you for having been our guest lately. I hope you had a pleasant journey back home.

Thank you as well for sharing your experience with tripadvisor.com. It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service. I take your comments as a reward for our efforts, but also as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

In order to keep our standard on a high level I am happy to inform you that we started construction works last week. Swissôtel Zurich will have all rooms renovated next spring.

We live renovation for our guests and I would be very happy to welcome you again with us as soon as possible.

The entire Swissôtel Team is looking forward to provide you with an exceptional next stay.

Best regards
Katrin Dresbach
Executive Assistant
(on behalf of the General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
335 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2009

We were passing through Zurich for a day on way to interlaken and stayed for a night on 18th Sept. It is an efficient well kept Hotel though the air conditioning did not work very well as in most cases in Switzerland. There was confusion checking in when they thought we were part of a larger Indian group but that was soon solved. We had two connecting rooms and had done up the kids room very well with rubber ducky etc., a nice touch.
The breakfast was pretty good and the nearby marketplace quite pretty. It was our first day in Switzerland and we quite enjoyed it. Would not hesitate to come back

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prasan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 27, 2009
Warm greetings from Swissôtel Zurich!

We hope you had a pleasant journey back home and thank you for having taken the time to share your experience.

It is only with the help of our guests that we can maintain or even improve our high level of service.

I take your comments as a reward for our efforts, but also as a challenge to keep striving for excellence.

Thank you again for your statements. We are looking forward to welcoming you back during on one of your next trips to Zurich.

Best regards
Katrin Dresbach
Executive Assistant
(on behalf of the General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 139 in Zurich
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 139 in Zurich
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Property: Swissotel Zurich
Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing