We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$290
$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Adler Zurich(Zurich)
$218
$193
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$252
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$297
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$2,013
$164
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$191
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $215/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$144
$131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$268
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$421
$296
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$567
$507
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,461)
Filter reviews
2,462 results
Traveler rating
1,015
1,013
292
89
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,015
1,013
292
89
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoerlikon stationtop floorle muhinfinity poolpillow menucity centrebusiness hotelconvenient locationmain stationswiss hospitalitytrain stophotel is locatedexcellent hotelpublic transportbusiness tripcoffee machineclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
1,585 - 1,590 of 2,462 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2009

This is 2nd time I have stayed at this hotel. The service is great, I recommend the pinnacle rooms, as they are a bit larger, although the standard is fine, just smaller. They no longer have their shuttle bus from the airport which was disappointing. Had to take a cab which cost 40 swiss francs, but first had to run about airport to find exhange! Other than that, the hotel was still good, service was still good. The location is excellent, train station is right beside it and I took train all the way to Lucern this time, which I highly recommend, it's a cute place with great views and attractions and wonderful shopping!
Business center was still great. Really my only complaint was that they don't have the shuttle anymore! Starbucks in lobby is wonderful!! There is food store behind it, shopping mall and macdonalds across street, good resturants around the corner. Room service food is not so great, but prices are in range of resturants in area.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shoegal1Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

This was our first trip to Zurich and we picked the Swissotel because we got a good deal (3rd night free) on hotels.com. We weren't told when we booked that we would have to pay the city tax, it is only 5CHF a night, so was not a problem. Whilst the hotel is located a little way out of Zurich's center, it only takes 5 minutes on the S-bahn (putting London's tube to shame) so this was not a problem at all. It is also only 10 minutes from the airport. Our room was very comfortable, we were on the 29th floor and the views were wonderful! The bathroom was on the small side, but was very well fitted so this didn't bother us (good water pressure from the shower!). The room and bathroom were cleaned to a very high standard each day (although one of the pillow cases we had on the last night had a hole in it!). We didn't have breakfast at the hotel, because they didn't cater for our vegan diets (although we didn't enquire as to whether or not they would) and it was expensive (like everything in Zurich!) so we picked up bread etc in the local health food shop and ate at the vegetarian restaurants in the city. All the staff we encountered were very nice. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blackxcloud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2009

Dear Guest

Many thanks for sharing your experience you had at Swissôtel Zurich in February 2009.

Customer comments are very important to us, as it is our goal to constantly review our services and standards and make any possible improvements. It is a pleasure for us to pass on your compliments to our staff.

Regarding the city tax, we will check this detail with hotels.com and change it accordingly. Many thanks for your feedback.

Furthermore, our Restaurant Staff would be happy to inform you about our vegatarian and vegan possiblities, so please do not hesitate to ask your waiter during your next stay with us.

Dear Guest, thank you again for your statements. The entire Swissôtel team looks forward to welcoming you back during one of your next trips to Zurich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2009

Booked this hotel through swissotel.com's website for $176 CHF for one night. Later found out that there was a cheaper rate available on kayak.com; however, my booking was non-refundable.

Arrived just after 11:00 a.m. on a flight from London's Gatwick airport and was allowed to check-in early, which was a pleasant surprise. Requested a twin bedded room, non-smoking, which was available.

As other reviewers have stated the hotel room key must be used to access all floors in the hotel by placing the key card against a magnetic panel in the elevator. There is also a Starbucks directly in the lobby.

Upon exiting the elevator, both my son and I noticed the strong smell of cigarette smoke, but did not notice this once we were in our room. I figured the smell was migrating from other floors through the elevator shafts or ventilation system.

When we arrived in our room, we unpacked and then received a call about 10 minutes later. The person from the front desk notified us that our floor was due for some rennovation work that was to begin immediately and that we would need to be moved to another room. I was advised that it would be an upgrade. A porter arrived at our door with our new room key and offered to assist us with our luggage.

Upon arrival at the new room, it was the same size, but had been recently rennovated. There was also complimentary bottled water, apples, and a in-room high-end espresso maker.

I realized that we had been given the room that other reviewers had commented on the bathroom configuration, in that the entire wall of the bathroom that faces the room is frosted glass. As others had mentioned, I could see how this might be an issue for some more "conservative" types however, it did not phase my son or I.

As others have said, the hotel is located in the suburbs. It is very convenient to the airport and the downtown with the railway station right in front of the hotel. If you have more time BOTH trams (14 & 11) in front of the hotel go directly to downtown and take about 30 minutes. Tram #14 loads in front of the Coop supermarket (direction: "Triemli") Tram #11 loads in front of the Starbucks without crossing the road (direction: "Hautbanhof") The trains from the Oerlikon station take about 6 minutes. You can purchase a "Zurich City" card for $10 Swiss Francs at any railway station (or ticket machine by pressing the "green" button) and it is good for unlimited transportation in the Zurich City zone for 24 hours. There is also a 1 hour version of the card that can be purchased for $4 from any of the platform vending machines. All you have to do is press the "blue" button for this option.

There is a Coop supermarket across from the hotel that has basic groceries and supplies.

One of the things I enjoyed most about this hotel was the pool and health club on the top floor. Guests have access to this facility free of charge. The infinity pool has 270 degree views of the Zurich area. The steam room and sauna also have windows that overlook the city. However, like the frosted glass bathrooms, this is Europe and North American famalies may be surprised by the co-ed saunas where clothing is definately optional.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank YYZAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2009

Dear Guest

Many thanks for sharing your experience you had at Swissôtel Zurich in December 2008.

Customer comments are very important to us, as it is our goal to constantly review our services and standards and make any possible improvements. It is a pleasure for us to pass on your compliments to our staff.

The more we are concerned to learn that you had to move to another room right after check-in. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Dear Guest, thank you again for your statements. The entire Swissôtel team looks forward to welcoming you back during one of your next trips to Zurich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

This Hotel is decent overall with good and bad.

Check in was no problem and the staff were very nice. The lobby was very large and attractive and with its own Starbucks which is cool.

Good porter service.

We had booked a double room, which was smartly decorated but very small.

Cool bathroom but again very small.

For what we got it was very expensive but Switzerland is like that without exception. If you are planning to visit be prepared to pay big for anything.

Anyway breakfast had a great selection of bakery stuff, fruit cereal etc but a poor selection of cooked food.

We did not use the restaurant for dinner.

The pool was nice with excellent views but pretty small again. We did not use the spa due to its nude only policy which I think is such a stupid rule. Be prepared for that all over Switzerland.

The train station is handy and Swiss rail is very efficient.

I was not impressed with Zurich. We went there for 2 nights prior to going to Jungfrau region for a weeks snowboarding. Our 2 nights in Zurich doubled the price of our holiday in the end.

Overall the Hotel is decent but for the price we paid I was expecting a lot more!! IF YOU WANT TO GO SNOWBOARDING TRY AUSTRIA INSTEAD.

Unless you enjoy being ripped off on a daily basis.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AberdeenMcLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2009

Dear Guest

Many thanks for sharing your experience you had at Swissôtel Zurich in December 2008.

Customer comments are very important to us, as it is our goal to constantly review our services and standards and make any possible improvements. It is a pleasure for us to pass on your compliments to our staff.

Furthermore, we have taken notice of your comments regarding our room rate and we thank you for your feedback.

Dear Guest, thank you again for your statements. The entire Swissôtel team looks forward to welcoming you back during one of your next trips to Zurich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2009

We stayed at the Swissotel Zurich for three nights to see us into the new year 2009. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious and cleaned very well everyday. The hotel location is excellent, with the train station and tram lines just outside. The lifts only work if you hold your room card next to a plate in the lift. This is very good as it shows the hotel has made provisions about security - this system means no one off the street can wander into the hotel areas. We would definately stay in this hotel again. Just a tip - visit places outside of the main Zurich City. The surrounding areas and towns have so much more to offer. Uetliberg is especially wonderful. Public Transport is so efficient and easy to get around with - make sure you buy a Zurich card to save money! Thank you Swissotel for making our stay very easy.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank reetandjonnyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Executive Assistant at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2009

Dear Guest

Many thanks for sharing your experience you had at Swissôtel Zurich in December 2008.

Customer comments are very important to us, as it is our goal to constantly review our services and standards and make any possible improvements. It is a pleasure for us to pass on your compliments to our staff.

Dear Guest, thank you again for your statements. The entire Swissôtel team looks forward to welcoming you back during one of your next trips to Zurich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews