We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really great hotel just outside the city”
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #39 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“A really great hotel just outside the city”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Getting from Zurich airport to the Swissotel was a breeze. We took a 5-minute train direct from the airport to Oerlikon. It was the first stop and exiting the train station, the hotel was right in front of us, not more than about thirty steps away.

The hotel isn't in the heart of the city but it was perfectly situated for the Hallenstadion (a big entertainment venue), which was our only planned stop on this trip. Only 5-10 minutes away from the hotel on foot, we couldn't have chosen a better accommodation.

Entering the hotel, I was a little surprised to see a couple of electricians on ladders right above the hotel reception. Whilst I understand that such works have got to be done, I felt the timing here was completely wrong. It was around lunchtime with lots of people checking in and out. I didn't appreciate checking in with a man on a ladder hanging over me!

There was a little confusion at check-in when trying to locate our booking but the problem was quickly solved when we explained that we had book very late the night before. The young lady checking us in was very friendly and was fluent in English. As we usually do, we requested a high floor, and she was happy to oblige. She could offer a 16th floor room immediately or something on the 21st floor about an hour later. We were happy to wait, so grabbed a seat. The lady who had checked us in joined us, bringing with her a map of the city and various tour leaflets. She helped us to make the most of the two days that we had in Zurich.

Right on time, the room was ready and we set off in search of our twin room. It was a nice, average sized room overlooking the front of the hotel. The usual amenities were on offer - twin beds, a good sized television (with a number of local and international television channels, including BBC 1 and 2, ITV, Channel 4 and Channel 5), tea and coffee making facilities (with an enormous selection of flavoured teas, coffees etc) and a minibar. The bathroom was smaller than expected and offered a wash basin, lavatory and a bath with overhead shower. As well as soaps, shampoos and moisturiser, the hotel also offered a shoe mitt, sewing kit, shower cap and more. Many more items were available on request - without charge. The shower was very good but the bath took around 15 minutes to fill.

Also in the room was a safe, which, unlike other hotels, had a single plug socket inside. It meant that mobile phones and cameras could be secure and charging at the same time.

Another bonus was the 'pillow menu' in the room, which allows guests to choose from a selection of pillows in addition to the two already provided. I opted for a pine pillow, which was filled with pine kernels and had a nice scent about it as well.

Internet is available at the Swissotel but both wired and wireless connections come at a cost, which I found a little disappointing. Fortunately, it didn't result in too much inconvenience since the Starbucks next door (and accessible through the hotel lobby) offered free wireless internet, and, judging by the number of guests gathered in the lobby, it was well used.

For those wanting to see Zurich, this is an ideal base from which to explore. The out of town location isn't an issue. Catching the tram from right outside the hotel, you can be in the city centre in around 10 minutes. A 24-hour ticket for unlimited use of the trams, buses and boats in the city centre zone was 8,40 CHF per person (around £5.50). For 13,20 CHF (around £8.80), another zone could be added, which allowed travel to the airport as well.

After a long day on our feet, returning to the hotel swimming pool was a nice way to relax and unwind. I didn't find the staff here particularly welcoming on the two occasions that I used it but the facilities were good. A small but well equipped gym was available with a swimming pool and jacuzzi next door. Being 32 floors up, the view is pretty special - whether you are running on the treadmill or swimming a few lengths. It's also a nice spot from which to watch the sun go down.

In the immediate vicinity of the hotel are a Starbucks coffee shop, a McDonalds, a Burger King, various eateries, a small shopping centre with a food court and a supermarket - an ideal stop for picking up cheaper drinks and snacks for the room. As explained above, the Oerlikon train station is just across the road and there are a handful of tram stops too, which offer direct links to the city centre.

This is a super hotel that I would recommend to all.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michaelkinghorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear michaelkinghorn
I am happy to read, that you found the hotel perfectly situated - thank you!
Regarding the electricians on ladders right above the hotel reception: they were doing the last finish in the lobby - now the renovations are finished! As the same day was our Lobby Opening party, they had to do some last fixings...it was not our intention to make you feel uncomfortable. Regarding the internet: If you join our Loyality program "swissôtel Circle" you enjoy free wifi worldwide!
I hope to welcome you back soon at our hotel and send you sunny regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    900
    257
    80
    39
See reviews for
370
677
161
699
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Wonderful efficient service, very modern hotel, close to the train station. Friendly service gentle, attentive to the needs of tourists.
Switte clean, spacious, friendly, equipped with the best coffee machine, hotel out of the ordinary, ten points! We were fascinated, very charming!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delfina46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear delfina46
Wow, thank you for your wonderful review! I am more than happy that we could exceed your expectations :-) Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
191 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

having stayed at swissotel in the past i knew the quality will be good
the room was excellent
room service was efficient
le muh bar was great both in restaurant and in room
just opposite the train station
staff was helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Michael C
Thank you for your crispy review and your great feedback! Greetings from Zurich, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle Of Paros, Cyclades, Greece
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location close to the location for a concert wee were attending, and were delighted with the friendliness, helpful staff, extremely well renovated bedrooms, all special requests arranged. The tram stopped outside and took us everywhere we needed and we felt it was a better choice than staying right in the city centre as we had several years ago. Very highly recommended and we will check out other hotels in this chain for future trips.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Apostolos P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear JeanPoly
I am touched - thank you for your wonderful feedback! I am also happy to read, that your stay was better than expected. I hope to welcome you back to the next concert? Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guwahati
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014

1. the rooms are spacious.
2. its a huge hotel with proper gymnasium & swimming pool
3. though not located near the main market / tourist attraction, it is next to the train station.
4. buffet breakfast spread is amazing
5. wifi is not free.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gberia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear gberia
1) Greetings from Zurich!
2) Thank you for your great feedback!
3) If you join our Loyality program "Swissôtel Circle" you enjoy free WiFi Swissôtel worldwide
Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I had one-night stopover at Zurich and this hotel is perfectly fitted my condition.
5 min from the Airport and 10-15 min from downtown area.
The hotel is very close to the train/tram station, which is very easy to notice even it is your first time to visit.
Service is good, but it can be a long queue if you go there at the same time as a tour group.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTuckBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear TheTuckBKK
What else can I say than: Thank you for your great review! Happy weekend and warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meols, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

One thing that currently lets this hotel down is the renovation of the lobby area as it looks like a building site, because it is. With wooden hoardings in places and a slightly make-do reception however, it did not interrupt the usual Swiss efficiency about the whole operation.

The welcome was very pleasant and check in was very quick. All staff have excellent English language skills (and many others too). Our bigger items of luggage were taken up to our room by a member of staff and we were settled in our room within 10 minutes of arrival.

We had booked a pinnacle room and our room was on the 27th floor. To get this room you do have to pay a premium which I think is well worth the extra money as the view you get is very diverse. You can see the nearby tram stop with trams every 10 minutes to Zurich city centre and also the main line station 'Zürich oerlikon bahnhof' which has trains that can take you further afield. The staff on the front desk are very helpful when it comes to questions on public transport.

Our party booked two rooms one had a view towards the city and the other views of the train line and Swiss countryside in the background. Watching the double-decker Swiss trains through into the early hours is quite mesmerizing actually.
The rooms themselves were well equipped a good bathroom, although slightly small. The rooms were clean and tidy. If you like TV there were many channels to choose from. From BBC, ITV & Sky Sports in the UK to channels from Italy, France and even Arabia, if I'm not mistaken.

One of the great features is the sports facilities on the top (32nd) floor which has a 'panoramic' swimming pool. So whilst you swim you get unrivaled views of the Swiss mountains and countryside. There is also a hot & wet room where you can sit and relax with views towards Zurich city centre.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as it is a very good standard for a good price.

Room Tip: The pinnacle room option gives you a guaranteed room on a higher floor to enjoy better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackoTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear JackoTraveling
Thank you for your great and detailed review! If you stay the next time with us, you can enjoy our lobby - the renovations are finished! Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 139 in Zurich
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#20 of 139 in Zurich
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Property: Swissotel Zurich
Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Fairmont Hotels, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing