We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time a charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Third time a charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

This is the third time I've stayed at this hotel and it was just a good as the other two. I would have preferred a firmer bed but that's just personal preference. I would stay here again even if I've only got a flight the next day, ZHR is only 4 mins on the train. I also appreciated the room upgrade!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    888
    250
    78
    39
See reviews for
361
671
160
686
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Very close to the train station. 6mins from Zurich airport by train.
Room was very clean and modern. Staff were helpful. I could book train tickets from the reception itself.
Breakfast was very good with lots of choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NaveenJayakumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
49 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for the recent robbie Williams concert, we want a hotel with a pool and spa, so apart from a couple of very expensive ones in the old town this was our best option. Getting here from the airport was so easy on the train about 10 mins and getting into the old town by train, again less than 10 mins, so for us the hotel was ideal

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jasonewebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montagnola
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel is situated both near the airport and the city center. The public transportation is very convenient both by tram and by train. The swimming pool is gorgeous, with an amazing view of the alps.The rooms are very comfortable and well equipped. Breakfast is a real feast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Swissotel

Helpful?
Thank Jair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were very happy with the room and service of Swissotel.

Room: The rooms are big and spacious and have good breathing space. The beds are comfortable and there is a pillow menu if you happen to be a choosy one on that ( i am !)
Everything was spic, span and pretty good.


Service:Very responsive. We ordered for some stuff and we got very good response from the staff. Loved their service and the hospitality

Dining : Spread was quite generous and the staff were welcoming.

Now for something that I'd like more : The internet was paid and pretty expensively so !! (Poof !!)

Room Tip: Choose one high up, and one facing the east. The iew of the rising sun in the Zurich Mornings is alm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmandal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Have previously stayed at Swissotel in Germany and China, and expected the same standards! Not to be in Zurich. We had two rooms of two totally different styles and hence different standards and provisions. Not sure if the hotel is trying to update or change its image or just experimenting with cheap and nasty furniture. To top it off, having emailed and held telephone conversations confirming a twin room arrangement several weeks before we arrived, the unhelpful gal at check in was rude to say the least. House cleaning struggled to replenish basics like toilet paper and beds were made up with dirty linen. When we enquired about availability of Green tea- we were given tea in a green packet (peppermint tea), so some training is required. One of the front desk guys was very helpful (wish I had noted his name- sorry!) with public transport details. Everything else is not up to the standard we have come to expect from this chain (rightly or wrongly). Train connections into old town were great. Some interesting food places around the hotel. Supermarkets on all sides for other supplies.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sumstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear sumstar
Thank you for your honest feedback. While reading your comment, I realized that many things went wrong during your stay and I want to apologize therefore. Please be so kind to contact me in person, if there is a next stay at Swissôtel Zurich: jenny.cardinaud@swissotel.com. I would be happy to make your stay "better than expected". Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud - Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The Swissotel is excellent. We had two interconnecting rooms and the children's room was made up with toys, bedding, computer games and children's accessories. This is the second time that we have stayed in the Swissotel and once again excellent room and service from the staff. I just wanted to mention the Spa staff who were excellent with my two small children who had never been in a swimming pool before and provided swimming floats thankyou. I have no doubt that we will be back again next time we are in Zurich. Many thanks

Room Tip: Ask for high level rooms for the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane_JohnWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear John_Jane West Sussex

Thank you for your nice rating and for having chosen Swissôtel again. We hope that your entire family will be back very soon! Have a great weekend¨Best regards, Carmen Kresse, Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coronado Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#20 of 138 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Property: Swissotel Zurich
Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#30 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing