We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff but extremely tiny rooms!”
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #36 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
“Amazing staff but extremely tiny rooms!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Firstly, the Swisshotel Zurich is not really in Zurich, its in Oerlikon two train stops from Zurich City Centre which if you there for any length of time is going to cost!

From the Airport the Hotel could not be easier to reach, 1 stop (5 minutes) by train, of which there are a glut and they work like a Swiss clock even in seven inches of snow! The cost from airport is around 6 SWF but for 12.80 SWF you can get an all day travel pass to give access to Trains, Trams and Buses for 24 hours, which means you can dump your luggage and head of into Zurich whilst saving money.

Swisshotel is situated opposite the train station, you cant miss it as it goes up and up and you could hit it with a snow ball its that close!

The staff at reception are perfection, never have we recieved such a warm, friendly and professional welcome..The reception itself is very modern, airy and welcoming.

The lifts have a card security system to prevent none guests accessing floors which gives the hotel a very secure feel, unfortunately this is where my Fifth star went missing...........bed rooms are very small and the bathroom would fit into a large wardrobe, having said that we had a great view from our corner room and did phone reception with few heating, bed issues which were all dealt with imediately, efficiently and with a happy beaming smile from all staff concerned.

WiFi... if not in your room rate will cost you an arm and a leg, 29 SWF a day! Thats £20.27 or $31.00.

Breakfast was in our deal booked through Hotel.com (2 nights £305) and was the best I had ever witnessed in Europe or the USA, you name it, it was available! Service in the restaraunt was again amazing with all staff going out of their way to satisfy your every need.

Hotel Pros:
. Direct access to the front door by train from the airport (5 Mins)
. Possibly the finest staff in Europe
. Possibly the best breakfast in Europe or USA
. Fantastc Spa and Pool area on the top floor
. Ease of access to Central Zurich (By Train, Tram or Bus)
. Area felt safe at night
. Loads of local restaraunts and shops
. Did I mention the fantastic staff?

Cons:
. Small bedrooms
. Minature bathrooms
. Cost of WiFi
. Additional costs involved to access Zurich city centre

Zurich:
When considering Zurich for a visit one should consider re morgaging your home prior to departure and taking all of the cash in a suit case to pay for food and anything else you may consider buying during your stay.
In the City Examples:
Pizza meal for Two with Ice Cream sweet and 1 beer/Wine.......92.50 SWF (£64.70 or $100.18)
McDonalds Breakfast £2.99 in the UK 12.50 SWF (£8.74 or $13.53)
Toblerone (Swiss Chocolate) £2.99 in UK 14 SWF (£9.76 or $15)

The above gives some idea of the costs when planning a visit.

Zurich was voted 2nd best City in the World for quality of life (Vienna 1st) and 1st for most exspensive.

Booked Lucern and Titlis tour with best of Switzerland £200 for two of us, full day tour on roads covered in 4 inches of snow, again it worked like clock work with a fantastic guide/driver who seemed oblivious to the 6 inches of snow on the road as we returned down the mountain in our minibus! It may be worth using the train to Lucern early in the morinig and picking up the tour in Lucern as you will only have one hour to see Lucern on the full day trip and most of our hour was spent dodging the blizzards!

Unfortunately having visited Vienna last winter and staying at the Sofitel the Swisshotel had a major challenge to be a five star review and was let down only by the bedroom/bathroom size, however I would applaud the management and staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank j0hnhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Guest Relations Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear j0hnhill

Wow - what a great summary! Thank you for your kind words and I hope to welcome you back ☺

Warm regards, Jenny Cardinaud
Emotions Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    919
    259
    83
    42
See reviews for
380
690
163
720
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jelgava, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Charming staff, excellent breakfast and the atmosphere, the restaurant also excellent, the only choice was not too plaša.Viesnīca located in a very convenient place to get to centru.Daži steps to train and 7 minutes the center.
SPA very small, in fitnes rooma little air, but the pool and jacuzzi brilliant. It offers a beautiful view of the city and mountains.

Room Tip: Well-equipped rooms are not large, but everything is ok,nly the air conditioner was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inguna318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear inguna318

Greetings to Latvia! Thank you for your great rating ☺

Best regards from Zurich, Jenny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

After a Viking River Cruise, we planned to fly home to LA from Zurich. Took train to Zurich, and didn't realize that there was a station right next to the Swissotel. First recommendation: get off at Oerlikon station right next to hotel! Hotel is comfy, loved the bar and restaurant and the neighborhood surrounding.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest

First of all I hope that you made it back safely to Los Angeles. It is nice that you have chosen Swissôtel before flying back to the States and thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. Please feel free to come back any time.

Winterly greetings California
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
193 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Most of the times in which we chose to Zurich city center hotel, this time we decided to choose a hotel near the airport and not disappointed.
The hotel looks modern, crowded lobby as well as the bar and restaurant of the hotel.
Modern rooms equipped with all you need, coffee maker, mini bar and comfortable beds, toilet and bathroom clean and comfortable.
Parking in the hotel parking is expensive .
good connection by tram to the airport ( 5 min) or zurich city center ( 15 min)
The hotel have indoor swiming pool and spa.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YossiAzoulay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest

I appreciate the positive feedback you have provided about your recent stay with us. I am glad that the location was convenient for you and that you had everything you were looking for nearby.
I hope that you will get a chance to stay with us again.

Snowy greetings to Tel Aviv,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We have to be honest, we only spent one night at this hotel, actually less than 10 hrs.

Between two flights, we had the option to stay around the airport. But we wanted to eat somewhere nice and sleep in a comfortable bed. We even kind of ''push it'' by telling them we were on our honeymoon, which was true... but you know we're only there 10 hours! Wow... is all we can say. Friendly, easy, comfy, a few stations away from the airport, close by restaurants and more. The checking in was so fast and easy, we had our room key, a wake up call set up, a reservation for a local ''raclette'' restaurant, a route to our restaurant on a map and our luggage in our room in less than 10 minutes!!!

On top of it, the staff surprised us with chocolate in every corner of the room! You know the feeling when you get more than you feel you deserved... well we had more than we paid for!

The room was nice, not the most modern one but with a lot of taste. Very clean and spacious. A bargain for the price... but for the service too!

We were anxious to get to our next location, but we told ourselves that we would be back at this Swissotel, for a short lay over, for work or vacation. The checking out was as fast and easy as the checking in was.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the positive feedback and your 10 hour stay with us. It is great that you felt comfortable and that you could profit a little from your short honeymoon stay with us. I hope that you will get a chance to come back to visit the beautiful city of Zurich.

Best regards
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed for one night and the found this hotel to be average with a few positive attributes and some clear negatives. Room and bathroom were tiny and somewhat cramped for 2 people; dated fixtures and electronics - rooms could definitely use some updating. The most annoying aspect of the room was that at the head of bed there was a shelf built into the headboard that is several inches above the mattress - this is both uncomfortable and even dangerous unless fully covered by pillows.

The location is convenient to the airport as hotel is one stop away and steps from the train station; also two stops from Zurich central station. However, not an area for tourists so if you plan to explore/enjoy Zurich would recommend staying in the city center or plan to take train rides (or very expensive cabs). Also, the staff was quite helpful with questions/requests.

Wifi works well throughout the hotel. Gym is very limited - only a few cardio machines. Pool on 32nd floor nice but sauna is nude and coed?? (Very odd for a major, international, business hotel).

Overall, would only recommend for a 1 day trip if coming in on business.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucky6478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your rxperience with us. I am glad that you felt comfortable for your business stay with us. In regards to the rooms, soft renovations are scheduled for this year. Thank you for having chosen Swissôtel and I hope that we will be your choice when you are back on business in Zurich.

Best wishes to New York
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Really enjoyed my recent stay at Swissotel. The hotel is across the road from Oerlikon train station with easy access to anywhere you wish to go in (and out of) Switzerland, through a very efficient and widely connected Swiss train system. Check-in was quick and the room wonderful. The rooms are cozy and kept very clean with ample amenities such as tea and coffee . Our marble bathroom had many extra touches. The heated indoor pool along with a small yet effective fitness room on 32nd floor were a welcome change after long flight. The staff is very polite and carries a wonderful touch of Swiss efficiency. Thank you Angela and everyone at front desk. Thanks also to very polite and efficient bell-staff. This was my third visit, if given a chance I will certainly stay at this hotel again during my next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KFamilyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave a comment. I am glad that the hotel, its outlets and team members left such a positive memory. I definetly hope that you will get a chance again soon to be our guest.

Best greetings to New Jersey,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#21 of 138 in Zurich
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#18 of 138 in Zurich
785 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 138 in Zurich
597 reviews
Sternen Oerlikon Hotel
#30 of 138 in Zurich
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Property: Swissotel Zurich
Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#30 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing