We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big generic Hotel”
Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #39 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
341 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A big generic Hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have spent 2 nights in this hotel and it is okay. the swimming pool is fantastic,but the gym is a bit small.The breakfast is pretty awesome so come hungry. The rooms are okay for 1 person, if there where 2 it would be a bit cramped. for the price one can do a lot better, and much closer to central.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guets

Thank you for your kind feedback. You seemed to have enjoyed your stay with us and if you are staying with more than one person we also have rooms that are bigger.

Autumn greetings to South Africa,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    883
    897
    252
    79
    39
See reviews for
364
675
161
694
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

very nice hotel, staff in good looking and behave also very good. rooms were also good, clean, bathroom, not bad. swimming pool and gym is small. lift is fast. it is 2 train station away from zurich mian station, and 1 station away from airport, no complain about this hotel, however i went to three 4* star hotel in austria before visiting this hotel on same trip, all the hotel now a days giving free internet but this hotel still charge for internet and it is expensive, i feel a class of hotel like this hotel should have free internet in the rooms. so only problem bit expensive breakfast and no free internet (((((((((((

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamhKhalid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your recent visit to Zurich and for sharing your experience with us. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best greetings to Dubai,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SG
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Honestly, we chose this hotel 'cos it was more reasonably priced than anything we could find in the center of Zurich. And it turned out to be a good decision. It's dead easy and fast to get into the city and to the airport so there wasn't much of a trade-off.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and also kindly upgraded us to a room at the top as I had requested for a quiet room. I'm very very very thankful for this and I don't want to be ungrateful. So I'll say that the room itself was comfortable and I slept like a log. However, the bit that was missing was a bathroom to match the standard of the room. It was clean but kinda hard to tell with the yellowed tiles and mould. Spruce that up and it'd be tops.

Overall, can't go wrong with this.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent visit to our hotel. It is good that you got a good night sleep. In regards to the bathroom, I am happy to inform you that we are currently soft renovating them to bring them up to date.

With kindest regards from Zurich,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HNL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Nice business hotel with helpful, friendly and English speaking staff.

Best part is it is right across the street from the Oerlikon train station and also the street car. There are shops and restaurants in the area and even a supermarket (Coop) right across the street, as well as a Starbucks in the lobby. We arrived very early, at about 8:30 AM, but since we flew 24 hours from Hawaii, the staff were gracious and checked us into our room right away. (Thank you Swissotel staff! We certainly appreciated it.)

Breakfast at the hotel is very good. Earlier reviewers stated there was no fresh fruit, but this morning (10/21/12), there was fresh Kiwi, Melons and a mix of Pineapple, Melon and other fruits.

Selection of fresh breads, made to order omelets, cold cuts and nice assortment of cheeses and a great assortment of juices and vitamin juices.

When arriving by train, go to the Kiosks to purchase your ticket and the train station is in the direction of Zurich Main and is the very first stop from ZRH airport. Was not able to use my US Visa card, as it kept asking for the PIN. Used by ATM card, entered the pin and was on my way.

When arriving to Oerlikon, look to the left side of the train and you will see the hotel, although the sign may not be visible.

Once you exit the station, walk up the stairs (didn't see any escalators, though) and you will see the Starbucks. Go to the right side of the hotel for the entrance, which is across the street from McDonalds.

On Saturday, the square behind the hotel had a farmers market, with lots of local fruits, veggies, meats and cheeses available.

The rooms are very small, as would be common in many cities, but very clean and efficient. Decor is very nice.

Wish the bathroom had some kind of fold down table that attaches over the toilet from the wall, so I don't have to use the toilet lid to put stuff on, as the bathroom is quite small.

Very easy to get around from the hotel. Hotel sells 24 hour passes for the trains and streetcars, so you don't have to bother with the Kiosks that didn't work for me with my US Credit Card.

Beds are quite comfortable with a nice duvet.

Will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank O-Man808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your visit and your feedback! We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Yours sincerely,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Even though this hotel is not in the centre of Zurich. Its so close to trains and trams it doesnt matter. The train station is literally across the street and the train takes 7 minutes to Zurich HB (central station) or 5 minutes to the airport.
Front office staff have endless patience and will really search out information.
Breaksat buffet is excellent and plentiful.
The swimming pool on the top floor is great on a free day.
The gym is tiny with only 1 elliptical, 2 treadmills and 2 bikes, but their does not seem to be too many using it.
Rooms modernly furnished and spotlessly clean.

Room Tip: The Pinnacle rooms on upper floors have views of the Alps (on a clear day-obvioulsy.....)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your feedback. It is good to know that you had a great honeymoon with us and that we were able to assist you with everything you needed.
If you are planning a trip to Zurich again, I hope that we will be your hotel of choice.

Best wishes,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

swissotel zurich was a perfect experience for me & my wife in our honeymoon. the staff was really the best i have seen. starting from our checking in by the v nice receptionist passing by waiters & room service. may be the location is little far from down town, but they face the train station and they have a nice map explaining what to ride and when.
the view was perfect, we stayed in the 29th floor it was awesome.
we loved it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
445 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

On our resent visit to Zurich, Switzerland we stayed at this hotel for the first time & plan to stay again on future visits. The service was excellent & the room while small was clean & welcoming.
The hotel was convenient to the railway station & tram system making it easy to navigate Zurich.
I highly recommend the Swissotel in Zurich.

Room Tip: A higher floor room is quieter. The adjoining Starbucks has free WiFi ---- if you sit near it in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckaj01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coronado Hotel
#28 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#20 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Property: Swissotel Zurich
Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#32 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fairmont Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing