We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home sweet home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Swissotel Zurich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Swissotel Zurich
Ranked #38 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“home sweet home”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Almost every year i get to stay in this hotel
during the art on ice shows!
great service...nice people!..hotel is super clean!
the elevator is super fast! the breakfast has it all with even nicer staff there!
the swimming pool has a nice view...would be nice if they would ad more fitness equipment that is just POOR! rooms are clean and spacious!
everything is good about this hotel! love it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jef3frey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    877
    888
    250
    78
    39
See reviews for
361
671
160
686
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Right in front of Zurich Oerlikon station this property is very well located for transport, also there are quiet a few decent food joints available near to the hotel if someone is interested to try different things outside of hotel....and yes obviously the best part of the property is their top floor (32nd) spa and swimming facilities...that gives an amazing view of the city while u r using the facilities...nice and very relaxing specially after a hectic day.....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winneralltheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for sharing your experience about your recent stay with us. Great, that you have found the time to relax a little bit in our spa area and that you enjoyed the outlet. If you are in need of some relaxation again, I hope that you will come back to our hotel

Best greetings to Kolkata,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
587 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 768 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was first stay at this Hotel and was quite pleaed. It was not expensive and very clean. It is not as fancy as other business hotels in Zurich but it is close to the station. The hotel staff are friendly and service is very good. I would deffinetly recomend this hotel to all travelers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lechiffre1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for the positive feedback and the recommendation. The hotel seemed to have satisfied your needs and I would be happy to welcome you back again.

Greetings from Zurich,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed a week end in Zurich. The hotel is excellent, service is very friendly (not always the case in Switzerland!) and everything is very clean. It s a typical business hotel; nothing fancy but everything works perfectly.

A bit disappointed over the breakfast, which is good but has a disproportionate price (35chf come on! That s expensive even by Zurich standard). Same critics over the parking; price is unreasonable.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L_ile_de_Tortuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you have received at our hotel. I am very happy that you liked the provided atmosphere.

Warm regards to Geneva,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

... Thanks to the adjacent train station made my stay at the Swissotel very convenient. The hotel has a businesslike atmosphere, service is efficient.
But paying 30 Swiss Franc for a 24 hours Internet connection is a rip off. It should be FREE! I like television, light in the room and toilet paper.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PierreTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest

I am glad that the hotel location was convenient for you and that you perceived the service as evfficient. Thank you very much for this feedback!

Best wishes from Zurich,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had the Kids Room special consisting of 2 interconnecting rooms. One with a king bed and the other room had 2 twin beds for the kids. The kids room was supplied with plush toys, games and movies which was a nice touch as my kids (age 12 and 13 y/o) proclaimed it being the best hotel room of this road trip.
Our rooms were located on the 29th floor (their highest floor for rooms) and faced the railway tracks plus views of Zurich. Both rooms were on the smaller side. Our bed was soft and the mattress slumped into the middle of the bed as we slept. On hind sight we should have chosen pillows from their pillow menu as the pillows provided were very flat even with 3 pillows stacked up. Not quite comfortable for sleep.
Bathrooms were small but clean, stocked with all the toiletries, bathrobes and sufficient towels. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel. One morning we had breakfast at the downstairs Starbucks as we wanted to use their free internet access. Mind you, it's only free for 10 minutes. The next morning, we just walked across the street to Migros market and had inexpensive delicious savory pastries for breakfast.
Check-in and check-out were a breeze. Very courteous reception staff despite having to check in a tour group just before we came in. We had arrived at the hotel by car and there were no hotel porter in sight. We had to grab the luggage cart and unload our luggages ourselves then self park our car in the garage. After we had checked in, the hotel porter decided to show up and offered to take our luggages to our rooms. I just felt like we had done half of his job and we didn't really need his help at this point. Of course, we had to tip him once we got to our rooms as he was waiting in the rooms with the luggages.
Parking at the hotel can be quite expensive but since the hotel shares the same parking garage as the Migros Market, it is actually cheaper to pay at the market's parking machine than the hotel. Hotel is located about 15 minutes drive away from the Bahnofstrasse but it's situated quite close to the seedy side of town. One night coming back to the hotel, we made a wrong turn and my kids (their first time) were amazed to see hookers with their boobs hanging out standing on the streets looking for business. Anyway, public parking in downtown Zurich was affordable- about 3 chf for 2 hours. From our experience, parking spaces a couple blocks away from the busy streets in the downtown area are not that hard to find either. There're not that many good restaurant choices around the hotel. So, it's good that we had our car to go into town for dinners. Overall, this is a good value hotel for families.
.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anna9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for your feedback.
I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the amenities in the kidsroom and that you had a pleasant overall stay. I am sorry that our portier was not immediatley ready to assist you. We will keep training the attentiveness for arriving guests. Thank you very much for sharing your experience so detailed.

Best regards from Zurich,
Torsten Pinter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thornton cleveleys Blackpool
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

I was a bit worried about the room, when I read the review about see-through bathroom walls, having already booked the hotel(for 5 nights). The receptionist was very pleasant and assured us that we had a normal bathroom and also were upgraded from classic to pinnacle room, which meant a higher floor.What a lovely view (it would have been even better had the weather been a bit kinder to us). The beds were really comfortable and with a safe and a fridge plus tea/coffee facilities, together with a compact but "private"and well stocked, clean bathroom, we couldn't have asked for more(except free internet!)The shower was extremely powerful and the bath filled very quickly. There was also a magnifying make-up mirror which I always appreciate.
The 4 lifts were fast and secure as guests had to use their room keys to activate them.
We loved the breakfast...so much choice, though you have to ask for bananas!
All the staff we encountered were really pleasant and helpful. We got free internet for 1 hour in the restaurant which meant we could check in for our return flight.We could even buy the train tickets back to the airport at reception. (6.40 francs each, by the way if you dont go through the Swiss rail web site and buy in advance, and the journey lasts just 4 minutes).
Eating out in Zurich, or anywhere in Switzerland is so expensive and we actually found that dining in the food court at the airport, where there was a lot of choice, was more economical.
Trains run very frequently from Oerlikon (pronounced Earlycon) and the Swiss Rail system is second to none. The Swissotel is in an ideal location and although there's not a lot to see or do in the area, you can be in Zurich in minutes and Lucerne within an hour.
Highly recommended hotel, and thankyou to all the staff for making us feel so welcome.

Room Tip: As already stated by other reviewers, the higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E&JJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swissotel_Zurich, General Manager at Swissotel Zurich, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear guest

Thank you very much for having taken the time for your detailed feedback. I am happy that you enjoyed the view from your pinnacle room and that our staff left a good impression on your mind. I am very pleased that your stay with us was to your satisfaction and I would be happy to welcome you back one day.

Bets regards from Zurich,
Torsten
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Escher Wyss
25hours Hotel Zurich West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coronado Hotel
#22 of 138 in Zurich
391 reviews
Escher Wyss
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
Sheraton Zurich Hotel
#20 of 138 in Zurich
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Swissotel Zurich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swissotel Zurich

Property: Swissotel Zurich
Address: Schulstrasse 44, Zurich 8050, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Family Hotel in Zurich
#22 Business Hotel in Zurich
#28 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#30 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Swissotel Zurich 4.5*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zurich’s tallest luxury hotel, Swissotel Zurich is ideally located close to Zurich’s business, cultural, shopping and entertainment areas and just 5km from both Zurich Airport and Zurich’s city centre. The 347 contemporary rooms and suites reflect an elegant & modern style, featuring panoramic views of Zurich and the superb Swiss Alps. You’ll enjoy a full range of leisure facilities such as the Amrita Spa & Fitness centre, which offers invigorating treatments and has a spectacular rooftop infinity pool. Meet friends or colleagues for cocktails at Le Muh Bar; enjoy fine dining at Restaurant Le Muh privé and creative Swiss meals at Le Muh léger. Swissotel Zurich’s Convention Centre is the perfect setting for any event or conference and caters for up to 1000 participants. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Swissotel Zurich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swissotel Zurich zürich
Swissotel Zurich Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing