We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location for a Short Stay in Zurich”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rutli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Ranked #48 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We unfortunately only had one night in Zurich, but it was well spent at the Hotel Rutli. I had originally booked the Adler Hotel, but they cancelled on us with only a couple of weeks to go so it was a scramble to find something else quickly.

Luckily I found the Hotel Rutli and I am very glad we did. We arrived in Zurich by train from Lucerne and it was very easy to walk to the Rutli dragging our large suitcases. We booked a king bedded room and a twin room and both were spotlessly clean and much larger than the usual European hotel rooms.

Our rooms faced the street, and there was a little noise during the evening, but it was a Saturday night. It must have died down fairly quickly though as our sleep was not disturbed and I am a very light sleeper.

The location was excellent. As previously mentioned, an easy walk to and from the railway station, but also an easy walk to many restaurants and bars and all of the tourist sites we wished to see during our weekend in Zurich.

Wifi was included free of charge and worked well. There was a Nespresso machine which was wonderful as well as an included continental breakfast. Breakfast was fine, the usual continental fare and hard boiled eggs. The only thing I would have like was a toaster, as I haven’t got used to break for breakfast, I really prefer toast, but that is my only complaint.

We organised a guaranteed late checkout as our flight back to Australia was not until 9.00pm. We were only charged 100 Euro for the late checkout, which was excellent, as all other hotels I had contacted required us to book an extra night.

If we visit Zurich again, I would certainly stay at the Hotel Rutli again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2014

Dear family,

We thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Rütli for your visit in January. We highly appreciate you sharing your most value comments with us.

We are delighted to read that you felt comfortable and very well accommodated in Hotel Rütli. Furthermore, we gladly forward your positive comments to our housekeeping staff.

Regarding, our breakfast buffet it is correct that we have no toast yet, because the most guest prefer different bread rolls, croissants etc. We will take your concern into consideration and we will incorporate this into the next meeting.

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Madlena Wyss

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 561 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2014

5 quick hits:

- VERY conveniently located, near the HB and right near the Old Town and beautiful Kreis 1.
- small. coming from the USA i expect this, so it's not an inconvenience, but the single-bed room is definitely only meant for 1 person.
- quiet. the hotel is on a street with a few bars and a movie theater, but my room faced the alley and was quiet at night.
- the 'breakfast' included is very basic. coffee is brewed behind the bar and brought out to your table via wait staff
- free wi-fi, which is great.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdchen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2014

Dear guest

We thank you very much for your stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your positiv and quick review.
We are glad to hear that you felt comfortable with us.

We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We have stayed here many times and have always enjoyed it. But rooms vary a lot in size and that was our (fairly minor) gripe as it did not measure up to previous visits. The previous two or three times, our room and bathroom were large by Zurich standards and certainly large for this price range as this hotel is very good value. This time the room and especially the bathroom were smallish. Nonethe less, all good, great location, good breakfast. But next time maybe we will enquire on booking whether the room selected is one of the bigger ones.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanWCape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2014

Dear guest,

Many thanks for taking time to give some Feedback.
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the room and bathroom this time. We have taken your concern into consideration and we will incorporate this on your next check-in. It would be nice if we could give you, your preferd room during your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you again as our guest soon.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed at Rutli in mid Jan. We had 2 next door rooms as we were traveling with our 2 kids and unfortunately, we all had the flu. But Rutli was our savior. Beautiful, spotless, spacious and comfortable rooms with excellent bathrooms and this was important to us as we spent more time in our rooms than we wanted to due to illness. The hotel is SO close to the main sights and transport nodes in Zurich. We walked with 4 big wheelie suitcases to and from the bahnhoff (took about 8 mins) and the hotel is a perfect location for exploring the old town and heading over to the Bahnhoffstrasse. I would totally recommend to anyone looking for a top class 3 star hotel. One last thing, the breakfast service including the lovely lady who manages it, is excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the more spacious rooms with armchairs, coffee table, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SkiMum2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Rütli and for sharing with us your positive review.
We are absolutely delighted to read that you felt comfortable with us even you had the flu during your stay. Our lovely breakfast lady wishes you all the best. In the name of Hotel Rütli and the whole team, it was a pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that you will have the chance to visit us on a future occasion.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Like many Zurich three-star hotels, Sorell Rutli is smallish, tastefully decorated, and well appointed. It is located at the edge of the city centre, less than ten minutes to Central Station and just over ten to the famed Bahnhofstasse. At night the area can be a bit noisy, both from people and traffic. Breakfast is adequate. Staff are efficient. Overall it's a good three-star hotels like many others in Zurich central, but has slightly better rooms and prices.

Room Tip: The front street is quite noisy at night, so avoid rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aussievoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for taking time to give us some feedbacks.
We are very glad to read that your review show us that Hotel Rütli has a good value for price.

We hope that you will continue to recommend us, and we thank you kindly.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I'm only writing this review because the hotel specifically asked for one. I wasn't bowled over by this hotel. I couldn't get the coffee machine to work. Even if I had, there wasn't any sweetener. Breakfast buffet was adequate, but nothing special. The room was oppressively hot. Unfortunately, when I opened the window to get some cooler air, the night life was so so obstreperous, that it was really difficult to sleep. It was clean, the reception personnel friendly and the location very attractive. All in all, a "satisfactory", but no more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roberto J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for having chosen Hotel Rütli for your visit in Zürich.
Your comments greatly help the hotel to messure it`s quality and service and improve it`s daily work. We regret that we were not able to fully meet your expectations during your stay with us.
It is correct that our heating is a little bit special due to ecological reason. For such cases the reception can help anytime.
It would be nice if we could prove ourselves during your next visit here.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Location, location, location!

This hotel has more than that. Besides great position close to the Main train station (not too close to get woken up by early trains) and to the City center at the same time, they have kind and always helpful staff, including breakfast serving early birds.

Speaking of breakfast, you should try the salmon and assortment of swiss cheese they offer.. always fresh and marvelous taste! Rooms are very clean, soft towels and spotless bathroom is matter of course.

If you don't want to get spoiled just by a hotely you stay in, but want to explore the city instead and you're looking for a triple C (clean, cosy and comfortable ;) place just to lay your head after tiring business trip or all day sightseeing for a reasonable price, Sorell Rütli is the right spot for you!

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floors (4 or 5) and East side are quieter, however, with the quality windows shut y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Korben D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your recent stay at Hotel Rütli and sharing with us your positive and detailed reviews.
We are delighted to read that you had a marvellous stay and we gladly forward your positive comments to our staff. It is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet especially the good swiss cheese.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and wish you all the best.

Yours sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#19 of 138 in Zurich
849 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
901 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel St. Gotthard
#30 of 138 in Zurich
1,020 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Sorell Hotel Seidenhof
#47 of 138 in Zurich
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rutli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rutli

Address: Zaehringerstrasse 43, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Zurich
#40 Business Hotel in Zurich
#41 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: $165 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rutli 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Zurich, at the entrance to the charming Niederdorf (lower town). Business and leisure guests will be pampered and surprised by our attentive host team. Especially relaxing of course is a stay in one of our Premium rooms. The hotel is surrounded by boutiques, restaurants, bars, museums, cinemas and theatres. Even the lake promenade and Zurich main station are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rutli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing