We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great modern hotel with good breakfast.”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rutli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Ranked #35 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great modern hotel with good breakfast.”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights while travelling around Europe. We both really liked the hotel. We had a none graffiti room which was decorated in a clean modern minimal style, very much to our taste.

The breakfast was if a good standard, with lots to choose from. We particularly enjoyed the larger than normal crossiants.

The reason we only gave 3 for service was because we found one member of staff, who checked us in, to be a little cold. Not overly welcoming, I noticed she was like this with other customers too.

The only other staff member we dealt with was an older lady who took care of us at breakfast, she was great.

The hotels in a good location all sights and areas are in walking distance or if you want the trams stop round the corner.

We loved Zurich, it was a pleasant surprise on our trip! Would definitely recommend and I would return to this hotel as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    269
    71
    13
    7
See reviews for
76
170
64
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Suited my means mainly required for the location, close to the hospital, I was pleased with the loaction and the hotel standards, staff were helpfull and the wifi quick. Being very close to the cities transport hubit proved very easy travel around


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Travelled with two of my friends to Zurich. Stayed there 5 nights, beds were comfortable the free WiFi has decent speeds and the breakfast was terrific (especially the muesli, I'm not a muesli person but theirs was good).
The staff were friendly and helpful and were even willing to give advice on places to see around Zurich.
The price is high compared to hotels internationally, however it is fairly cheap for a Hotel in central Zurich.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smalltime0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
230 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is in a great location close to the Hauptbahnhof and Central tram stations. Facilities were fine. Room was large and cool in the summer. Although there are bars next door and opposite the room was quiet. We stayed in a 'city room' which has graffiti decor which may not be to everyone's taste. Breakfast is included and includes a good mix of cereals, pastries and meat/cheese.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Citizenandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Manager at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive.

Greetings
Team Rütli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Wife, 17 year old son and I stayed here on August 1-2, 2013. King bed, sofa hide-a-way bed. Water pressure in shower excellent. Very clean. Friendly staff. Very close walk (maybe 3 minutes) to trams (Central Station) and about a 10-12 minute walk to the train station. Close to restaurants. We walked everywhere, but used the trams to get to some areas more distant. We stayed in a "city room" that we enjoyed. Our room was on the second floor. Small elevator, but worked for the three of us and our luggage when we arrived. We arrived about 10 AM and were given our room without waiting (which was VERY MUCH appreciated). Beds were very comfortable. Breakfast consisted of various breads, fruits, cold cuts (meats) and boiled eggs. Coffee, teas, and juices completed the beverage selection. We found the staff to be friendly as they helped us with finding nearby restaurants and attractions. Room was plenty large enough for the three of us (no "extra" space, but enough to sit and enjoy the TV or free wi-fi). I wouldn't mind staying here again as the location is close to everything tourist could possibly want in Zurich. I would definately recommend this hotel. Ok, a bit pricey, but then, everything in Zurich is!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 216 which was a city room. The writing on the wall was "wake up." It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaPete583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

My husband, our five years old boy and I stayed at this hotel in mid-jul. The hotel was not very close to the train station but was still within walking distant. It was however close to Neiderdorf area and there were many restaurants nearby. Our room (a double with an extra bed) and bathroom was spacious and clean and we loved its modern decor. The room was on the first floor with no view but that did't bother us. Breakfast was good. Service was efficient but more business like than personal.

The hotel was quite expensive but, given it was Zurich and it was modern and very comfortable, I consider it good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kritima P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I stayed at the very centrally located Hotel Rutli for 2 nights in July 2013 and had a positive experience...

Perfect location in the old city, only a 2 minute walk from the tram stop Central and within a 10 minute walk to Zurich Station. Well positioned for touring the city on foot or by tram, the hotel is surrounded by bars and restaurants. You basically can't get a better location as a tourist.

The room was very well appointed and spotless. I also appreciated the free wifi and quality towels and linens in the room.

Breakfast was a nice treat, as it was plentiful and not over-crowded! Also very good coffee on demand.

I would stay here again based on the overall condition of the property and the unbeatable location. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kansasforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to see you again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Hotel Alexander
#38 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#52 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rutli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rutli

Property: Sorell Hotel Rutli
Address: Zaehringerstrasse 43, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Zurich
#40 Business Hotel in Zurich
#41 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rutli 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Zurich, at the entrance to the charming Niederdorf (lower town). Business and leisure guests will be pampered and surprised by our attentive host team. Especially relaxing of course is a stay in one of our Premium rooms. The hotel is surrounded by boutiques, restaurants, bars, museums, cinemas and theatres. Even the lake promenade and Zurich main station are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rutli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing