We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not worth a penny...”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rutli

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rutli
Ranked #36 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not worth a penny...”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

the only good think about the hotel is possibly its location....i checked in , put mu luggage in the room and went for a walk...everything was fine till i went to sleep...the a/c was not working and it was very hot....and if you open the windows there was too much noise...could not sleep till 3 until i finally got a fan from the reception ......

Room Tip: check whether the A/c is repaired before booking....else is fine as for a budget hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank Rohansodhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest

We are doing our utmost to continually improve our service. Your feedback helps us to check standards and to adapt these if need be.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    269
    71
    13
    7
See reviews for
76
170
64
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The hotel is near the stasion!!!all tram are near!!!! The hotel is the central!!!!All are very soort !!!!!only bad is the breakfast .the breakfast is poor!!!!
Many restaurants are near hotel and shops

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Charisios T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest,

we would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive.
Hope to see you soon again.

Best regards

Team Rütli
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Level Contributor
168 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Overall, the hotel is clean, compact and with Swiss efficient service. Our Family room accommodated two beds and family of four. But, after that there was no space. But really, the hotel is meant for in and out, good sleep and ok bathroom. Having said that, it's location is really nice, a bit inside so don't have traffic noise nearby big roads would have brought. Breakfast is really nice, clean, just right number of high quality items. Definitely, a good bed and breakfast, in modern Zurich sense!

Room Tip: Inside room, recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bhramanti-Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback.
We hope to see you in our hotel again.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We arrived to Zurich by plain and continued the following day to Saas-Fee by train. As there is good train connection from Zurich airport to Zurich main railway station, we wanted a hotel nearby the train station. Old town of Zurich is just across the river from train station, and Rutli is excellent choice for budget conscious overnight stay. It is clean, well managed, and at least our rooms were quite good in terms of size. and all the nice restaurants of Old Town are next door. Perfect overnight stay.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Antti A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest

We are very glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to see you again in our hotel.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Walking distance from the train station, and in the heart of the Niederhoff Strasse area, yet on a quite and clean street. So I really liked the location. All hotels in Zurich are expensive, so relatively it was not that pricey. Having internet in the room for me was a must, so it worked well. My room was nice, and modestly but comfortably furnished. The single bed was larger that the usual twin bed. The breakfast buffet that was included was pretty good.
The only minuses worth mentioning are first that the TV is only pay-TV (and pretty pricey too: 27CHF), and there no shampoo/conditioner was provided.
I'll would definitely return there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Max102938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear guest

Many thanks for taking the time to give some feedback
Just to inform you the normal TV channels are for free, only special movies you have to pay for it.
The the TV is Pay TV and normal TV in one.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great hotel in the heart of old-town. Close to many bars, clubs and train station. Everything is walking distance so dont bother buying the Zurich 3 day city pass ... kind of a waste of money in my opinion. Hotel is also on a street with some of the hottest "escorts" if that's your thing. Not sure of how affordable they are, but they're quite friendly. Neighborhood is really safe, saw many people with kids during the day, and a lot of people at night. surprisingly, the hotel is quiet, despite being surrounded by bars and restaurants. There is free internet in the lobby and a really decent breakfast in the morning. Free Nespresso coffee in each room is nice, all rooms seem really well renovated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from elevator (although not that important) If travelling solo, get a bigger be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mboczk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henrik John H, Leiter Front Office at Sorell Hotel Rutli, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear guest

We would like to thank you for the good comments that we were able to receive.

We hope to see you soon in our hotel.

Best regards

The Rütli Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Hotel St. Gotthard
#33 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Old Town
Best Western Plus Hotel Zuercherhof
Hotel Alexander
#40 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#17 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Old Town
Hotel du Theatre by Fassbind
Old Town
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
Townhouse Boutique Hotel
#53 of 139 in Zurich
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rutli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rutli

Property: Sorell Hotel Rutli
Address: Zaehringerstrasse 43, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Location: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Zurich
#40 Business Hotel in Zurich
#41 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rutli 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Zurich, at the entrance to the charming Niederdorf (lower town). Business and leisure guests will be pampered and surprised by our attentive host team. Especially relaxing of course is a stay in one of our Premium rooms. The hotel is surrounded by boutiques, restaurants, bars, museums, cinemas and theatres. Even the lake promenade and Zurich main station are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rutli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sorell Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing